

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE National Telecommunications and Information Administration Washington, D.C. 20230

June 26, 2020

<u>VIA ECFS</u> Ms. Marlene H. Dortch Secretary Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

> Re: In the Matter of Ligado Amendment to License Modification Applications, IB Docket Nos. 11-109, 12-340; IBFS File Nos. SES-MOD-20151231-00981, SAT-MOD-20151231-00090, and SATMOD-20151231-00091, SAT-AMD-20180531-00045, SAT-AMD-20180531- 00044, SES-AMD-20180531-00856

Dear Ms. Dortch:

Notwithstanding Section 1.1204(a)(5) of the Commission's Rules,<sup>1</sup> this letter provides notice on behalf of the Department of Transportation (DOT) and Department of Commerce (DOC) that DOT and DOC officials met with Chairman Ajit Pai and Commissioners Jessica Rosenworcel, Michael O'Rielly, and Geoffrey Starks, as well as the Commission staff and other individuals as set forth in Enclosure 1. The DOT officials presented and discussed the material with regard to the above-referenced proceedings as set forth in Enclosure 2. The meetings took place concurrently with classified meetings held with officials from the Department of Defense on related subjects in the above-referenced proceedings, which are addressed in a separate notice. A meeting with Commissioner Brendan Carr is being scheduled.

Respectfully submitted,

Hothy D. Shirt

Kathy Smith Chief Counsel

Enclosures (2)

cc: The Honorable Ajit Pai The Honorable Jessica Rosenworcel The Honorable Michael O'Rielly The Honorable Geoffrey Starks

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See 47 CFR § 1.1204(a)(5), which generally exempts from disclosure presentations made by an agency or branch of the Federal Government or its staff and involves a matter over which that agency or branch and the Commission share jurisdiction.

## **ENCLOSURE 1 - MEETINGS**

## June 19, 2020

**Federal Communications Commission:** Chairman Ajit Pai; Nicholas Degani, Senior Counsel to the Chairman; Michael Carlson, Deputy General Counsel; William Richardson, Deputy Associate General Counsel; Ronald Repasi, Acting Chief Engineer, Office of Engineering & Technology; Michael Ha, Chief, Policy & Rules Division, Office of Engineering & Technology; Charles Mathias, Associate Chief, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau; Donald Stockdale, Chief, Wireless Telecommunications Bureau

**Department of Defense:** The Honorable David Norquist, Deputy Secretary of Defense; The Honorable Dana Deasy, Chief Information Officer; Lt. General Bradford Shwedo, Director for Command, Control, Communications, and Computers/Cyber, and Chief Information Officer, Joint Staff; General John Raymond, U.S. Space Force; Misty Finical, Lead GPS Integration Planning Engineer, U.S. Space Force

**Department of Commerce:** Rob Blair, Director, Office of Policy and Strategic Planning; Doug Kinkoph, Performing the Delegated Duties of the Assistant Secretary of Commerce for Communications and Information

**Department of Transportation:** The Honorable Joel Szabat, Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs and performing the functions and duties of the Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy; Karen Van Dyke, Director for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing and Spectrum Management

**Federal Communications Commission:** Commissioner Jessica Rosenworcel; William Richardson, Deputy Associate General Counsel; Ronald Repasi, Acting Chief Engineer, Office of Engineering & Technology

**Department of Defense:** The Honorable Dana Deasy, Chief Information Officer; Lt. General Bradford Shwedo, Director for Command, Control, Communications, and Computers (C4)/Cyber, and Chief Information Officer, Joint Staff; Lt. General David Thompson, Vice Commander, U.S. Space Force; Misty Finical, Lead GPS Integration Planning Engineer, U.S. Space Force; Dr. Thomas Powell, Principal Dir for GPS User Systems, U.S. Space Force **Department of Commerce:** Charles Cooper, Associate Administrator, Office of Spectrum Management (OSM), National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA); Derek Khlopin, Senior Adviser, Office of the Assistant Secretary, NTIA **Department of Transportation:** The Honorable Joel Szabat, Assistant Secretary for Aviation

and International Affairs and performing the functions and duties of the Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy; Karen Van Dyke, Director for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing and Spectrum Management

## June 22, 2020

**Federal Communications Commission:** Commissioner Michael O'Rielly **Department of Defense:** The Honorable Dana Deasy, Chief Information Officer; Lt. General Bradford Shwedo, Director for Command, Control, Communications, and Computers/Cyber, and Chief Information Officer, Joint Staff; Lt. General David Thompson, Vice Commander, U.S. Space Force; Misty Finical, Lead GPS Integration Planning Engineer, U.S. Space Force; Dr. Thomas Powell, Principal Dir for GPS User Systems, U.S. Space Force **Department of Commerce:** Charles Cooper, Associate Administrator, NTIA/OSM; Peter Tenhula, Deputy Associate Administrator, NTIA/OSM

**Department of Transportation:** The Honorable Joel Szabat, Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs and performing the functions and duties of the Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy; Diana Furchtgott-Roth, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Transportation

for Research and Technology; Karen Van Dyke, Director for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing and Spectrum Management; Kenneth Alexander, Chief Scientific and Technical Advisor for Satellite Navigation Systems, Aviation Safety, Federal Aviation Administration

**Federal Communications Commission:** Commissioner Geoffrey Starks (*via telephone*) **Department of Defense:** The Honorable Dana Deasy, Chief Information Officer; Lt. General Bradford Shwedo, Director for Command, Control, Communications, and Computers/Cyber, and Chief Information Officer, Joint Staff; Lt. General David Thompson, Vice Commander, U.S. Space Force; Misty Finical, Lead GPS Integration Planning Engineer, U.S. Space Force; Dr. Thomas Powell, Principal Dir for GPS User Systems, U.S. Space Force **Department of Commerce:** Charles Cooper, Associate Administrator, NTIA/OSM; Peter Tenhula, Deputy Associate Administrator, NTIA/OSM

**Department of Transportation:** The Honorable Joel Szabat, Assistant Secretary for Aviation and International Affairs and performing the functions and duties of the Under Secretary of Transportation for Policy; Diana Furchtgott-Roth, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Transportation for Research and Technology; Karen Van Dyke, Director for Positioning, Navigation, and Timing and Spectrum Management; Kenneth Alexander, Chief Scientific and Technical Advisor for Satellite Navigation Systems, Aviation Safety, Federal Aviation Administration

## **ENCLOSURE 2**