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ST/IJ(DARD

Credit for
service
outages

credit for
reception
problems

Installation
scheduling,and
pl'ioriti••

Sacramento,
CaliforniA

customer is entitled
to 1 day's credit for
each increment of
4 hour out.age in exce••
of the firat 4 hour.
of outage.

Installation must be
performed within
7 business days after
order i. placed.

Dist.rict of
Columbia (Proposed)

Outages la.ting
more than 4 hour. in
any 24 hour period
entitle the customer
to 1 day'. credit.

Sub.criber. with
reception problems
remaining unrepaired
48 hours aftsr problem
i. reported are
entitlsd to ons day's
credit.

In.tallation must be
completed within
7 bus in••• day. after
request is received.

Manhattan,
Hew York

company must give
credit for every outage
laating more than
4 hours in any 24 hour
period or calendar day.

Sub.cribers with
reception problems
remaining unrepaired
48 hours after the
problem is reported are
entitled to one day's
credit for each 24 hour
period in which the
problem persists for
at least 4 hours,

In.tallation must be
scheduled in 5 hour
blocks within 8 business
days of cuslomer
request.
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New York State

Companies must give credit
for any outage in excees
of 4 continuous hours.
Such credit consists of
1 day'S credit for each
24 hour period in which
the outage continued for
at least 4 hour ••

HCTA S1)(i{;ESTED_STANOAROS

Installation must be
performed within 7 business
days after order is placed.



FRAlfCHISTItO
/WTHORIrr
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Sacramento,
~ifornia

Di.trict of ~Hanhattan,

Columbia {Proposed) New Yo~k I New York State II NCTA SUGGESTED STANDARDS

Billing and
billing
dioputes

Late Charges

Resolution of
service-related
disputes

Bills must be itemized.

comp~ny may impose late
charges for payments
received after the due
date of the bill.

Bills must be itemized
and sent monthly. The
company must review
billing disputes within
20 day.. The customer
may appeal the
company'. resolution
of the dispute to the
D.C. Cable Office.

Late fees not exceeding
the maximum percent
allowed by law may be
applied to a delinquent
bill.

All complaints should
be re.olved as soon as
possible, but no later
than 7 business day.
after complaint i.
received.
Acknowledgement of
receipt of written
complaint must be made
within 2 business days.

Bill. must be monthly
and itemized. The
company must review
billing dispute. within
20 days. The customer
has 10 businsos day.
thereafter to file an
appeal to the City
Cable Office.

Late fees not exceeding
the maximum percsnt
allowed by law may be
applied to a delinquent
bill.

All complaint. should be
resolved as Boon as
po•• ible, but no later
than 10 business days
aft.r the complaint is
received.
Acknowledgement of
receipt of written
complaint must be made
within 2 businep. day••
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Bills must be itemized and
must include the state
cable commission's
toll-free telephone
number. Company mu.t
establish procedure.
for investigatinq billing
disputes. Sub.cribers
must be given 30 day.
from date of receipt to
regi.ter their dispute••

Late charge. may not be
imposed until 45 days
after the bill is mailed.

companies must provide the
State Cable Commission
with copies of any
complaints received.
Compani•• muet annually
provide written notice to
cable .ubacriber. of the
complaint proc••••
COmpanie. must anwwer
complaints wiLhin
20 working day. of
rec~ipt.

Bill. must be clear, concise
and understandable.
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Sacr...mento, I District of I Manhatt ...n, I l
I California Columbi ... (Propose<!L- New York New York State I HCTA SUGGE;STEp STANPARPS

Involuntary
disconnection

Voluntary
dieconnection

Notice of
rate change. or
programmi ll9
change. or
deletion.

Company must firet
provide notice, ... t
least 7 business d ...ys
before disconnection
if by mail, or
5 businsss days prior
if in pereon.

Customer may request at
... ny tima. Company must
pick up equipment
within 7 business day.
of customer request.

company may not
disconnect until 5 days
after customer ia
personally given
notice, or 8 days after
mail notice, of
delinquency. Customer
is considered
delinquent 45 days
after bill ie mail.d.

Notice to city and
sUbBcribers must be
given at l ....st 30 days
before any change in
rat.s or programming.

Company may not
disconnect until 5 days
after customer is
personally given
separate notice, or
a daye after mail
notice, of delinquency.
Cu.tomer is coneidered
delinquent 45 days after
bill ill mailed.

No fee may be ch... rged.

Notice must be given to
city and to BubseriberB
at least 30 days before
any programming or r ... te
change.
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Subscribers may only be
disconnected if payment
is delinquent 45 days
after the bill is mail.d,
and only then after
a days following mailed
notice, or 5 daye after
personal notice, of
impending diecontinuance.

No fee may be ch...rgsd
for disconnection or
downgrades if cu.tomer
discontinuee or
downgrad.s service after
receiving notice of
programming change••

Subscribers muet be given
notice of rate chang.s at
leaot 10 daye prior to the
change. Sub.cribBr. ~u.t

receive notice of
programming chang.. at
leaet 30 day. prior to
the change

Refund checks must be
issued no later than the
e"'rlier of 45 days or the
customer'e next billing
cycle, if equipment hae
been returned to the
company.

Cuetomers will be notified
• minimum of 30 day. in
advance of any change in
rates or channele.
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~acramento, Manhattan,
I Cal forn a New York tate II MCTA SU~ESTED STANDARDS

Provision of
cable service
information
to customers

Distribution of
promotional
materials
to customers

Services to
disabled people

Comrany must provide
each customer with a
gaoaral rata and
programming dilclolure
at leaRt once a year,
and 30 days befors any
rate incrsale.

Company must retain
copies for at least
1 year, and furnish
copies to the City
Commission upon request.

company must provide
programming and rate
information annually
to customers, and must
also provide a
subRcriber handbQQk at
the time of
installation.

company must maks
remote control devices
availabla to disabled
people for a price not
exceeding the company's
cost.

company must provide
programming and rate
information annually to
customers, and muet also
provide a subscriber
handbook at the time
of installation.

Company must make remote
control devicea
available to disabled
people for a price not
axceeding the company's
coat.

Cable companies must
provide each customer
with rate and programming
information. This notice
must be given to new
customers and at least
semi-annually thereafter.
Notice of billing
procedures must also be
provided to new customers,
and at least semi-annually
thereafter.

Company must prOVide written
information concerning rates
and service policies to all
subscribers at inst~llation

or upon request.

I I I I II
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FRNfCHISI"(J I Sacramento, I District of 1 Manhattan, ~ ~
AUnl0RITr ~lifQKnia Columbia (Proposed) New York New york State NCTA SUGGESTED STANDARDS

STA.VDARD

MISCELLANEOUS ST~NDARDS

Cable Cuide Company must provide Company must provide a
a guide ot PEG guide ot programming
programming. on acceSB channels.

Ch.mnel Company must provide and
location card annually update a

channel lineup card.

-

CuetO'll .. r credit company may not provide It company refers a The company must not,
reporting any negative report to report ot a delinquent and instruct all

a credit agency without account to a credit collection agencies not,
providing notice to agency lea a than to refer any delinquent
subscri~r 7 bueinese 10 days atter account account to a credit
days ahead of time if becomes delinquent. agency. If the company
by mail or 5 bueiness The company must notify reters a delinquent
daye prior if in person. the agency that the account less than

referral wae in error, 10 days after account
and pay the subscriber becomee delinquent, it
$500. muet notify the credit

agency at the error and
pay the subecriber $500.

Cuetomer Any request to epeak Requeste to epeak to
service with a Bupcrvisor supervieors muet be
supervisor must be fillod within tilled as soon ae
responsll 4 businnse hours. possible, but no later

than 4 businesB houre
after the request.

- B -



T1UI1ICBISIlfG

AUTBOlUfT

STIUIDAllD

Sacramento, I District of Manhattan,
I California columbia (ProPoeed) ew York tat

Foreign
language
requirements
for customer
service
representatives

Damaged
equipment

Several employees at
the company'B offices
must speak the
languages used by a
subBtanttal percentage
of Bubscribers,
particularly spanish.

SubBcriber iB not
liable for loss or
damage caused by acts
or events outside the
subscriber's control.

Company muet have office
employees who speak any
language ueed by a
substantial number of
Bubecribers.

Subscriber is not liable
for loss or damage
caused by acts or events
outside the subecriber's
control.

- ') -

Companies may charge
CUBto~rB for lost, stolen
or damaged equipment, but
only after providing the
customer with notice and
opportunity to appeal to
the State Cable Commission.



ATTACHMENT B

CUSTOMER SERVICE STAHDARDS
RBCOMIIBHDBD BY IDCAL GOVERJOIBNTS

ISSUI STAlfDARD

customer S.rvic.
Representatives
(workinq hours)

customer S.rvic.
Representatives
(after hours)

T.l.phon. s.rvic.
tim. requir•••nts

Walk-in offic.
hours

CUsto••r co.plaint
and s.rvic. handling
report.

eu.ta.er ••rvic.
r.pr•••ntativ./
employ••
id.ntification

Offic•• mu.t b. staffed a minimum
of 50 hours per week, with at
least 9 hours per weekday and 5
hours per saturday.

Local numb.r or toll-free lines
to be answered 24 hours per day
either by staff or by answerinq
.ervice. Emerqency referral
information operational 24 hours
per day.

Company must maintain a
.tat.-of-th.-art tel.phone
.yst... Call. answ.red in 4
rinqs. Lost calls not to exceed
4-1/2'. Maxiaua 30 s.cond hold.
OVerflow d.vice for customers to
l.av. • •••aq.. triqqer.d by a
maximua of 20' of call.rs.

Offic. must b. op.n at least 50
hours p.r w••k, with at least 9
hours p.r w••kday and 5 hours per
Saturday.

Coapany mu.t coapil. a quarterly
report of t.lephon••fficiency
(includinq stati.tic. on busy
signals and r ••pon.e tim.), and
r.ports d.tailing custom.r
••rvic. r.qu••ts, outaq•• and
repairs.

Employ••• who coa. to customers'
residenc•• au.t w.ar current
pictur. id.ntification.. Other
coapany ••ploy... mu.t wear
nUl. badqe••



ISSllI

Handling ot
service calls

service call
scheduling

Credit tor missed
service calls

Service interruption
tor syst.. repair

Service ot outages

Credit tor service
outage.

Credit tor reception
probl_
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STANDARD

Must be acknOWledged within 24
hours; ott pre.ise. repairs must
be completed within 24 hours~ all
others within 48 hours. No
charge allowed in absence of
subscriber negligence or abuse.

Appointment. mu.t be made either
at a specific time or within a
4-hour time block, with adequate
appointment time available during
evenings and weekends. The
company may not cancel any
appoint.ent le•• than 24 hours
betore the appointment time.

For a failure to .eet an
appointment within the specified
parameter., the company must, at
the customer'. di.cretion, give
credit tor one month's free
.ervice.

Company mu.t give at least 48
hours notice, and .hould not
interrupt .ervice except between
1 a.m. and 6 a.m.

outage. must be re.ponded to and
corrected promptly, and in no
event later than 12 hour. atter
the company is notitied.

Co.pany mu.t give 24-hour
credit for every outage lasting
more than 4 hours in any 24 hour
period or calendar day.

Subscriber. with reception
probl... reaaining unrepaired 48
hours atter the problem is
reported are entitled to one
day'. credit tor each 24 hour
period in which the problem
persists tor at least 4 hours.



:rsSQI

Installation
schedulinq and
priorities

Billinq and billinq
disputes

Late charqe.

Resolution ot
service-related
dispute.

Volun~ary

di.connec~ion
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STANDARD

Installation mu.t be pertormed
within 7 bu.ine.s days after
order is placed. Appointments
must be made either at a specific
time or within a 4-hour time
block.

Bill. mu.t be monthly and
itemized. Bills must include the
tranchisinq authority's telephone
number. The company must
review billinq dispute. within 20
days. The custo.er has 10
busine.s days thereatter to tile
an appeal to the tranchisinq
authority.

Late tee. not exceedinq the
maximua percent allowed by law
may be applied to a delinquent
bill. Late charqe. may not be
imposed until 45 day. atter the
bill is mailed.

Company mu.t ...iannually
provide notitication to all
cu.to.er. that they may reter
unre.olved di.pute. to local
tranchi.inq authority. All
co.plaint. should be re.olved as
soon po••ible, but no later than
10 bu.ine.. day. atter the
co.plaint i. received.
Acknowledqaen~ ot receipt ot
written coaplaint .u.t be made
within 2 bu.ine•• day••

CU.tomer may reque.t
di.connection at any ti.e without
charqe. Di.connection .u.t occur
a. .oon a. po••ible, bu~ no later
than tive day. tollovinq the
reque.t. Depo.it au.t be
returned within 30 day. atter all
equip.ent returned.



ISSQI

Involuntary
disconnection

Notice ot rate
changes or
progra.aing changes
or deletions

Provision ot cable
service intormation
to subscribers

Distribution ot
pro.otiona1 aateria1s
to subscribers

- 4 -

STAlfDARD

company may not disconnect until
tive days atter customer is
personally given separate notice,
or 8 days atter notice by mail,
ot delinquency. Subscriber is
considered delinquent 45 days
atter bill is mailed, provided no
bill shall be mailed more than 15
days prior to the date services
covered by such bill commence. A
subscriber .ay only be
disconnected it subscriber
tampers with equipment or paYment
is delinquent 45 days atter the
bill is mailed, and only then
atter 8 days tollowing mailed
notice, or 5 days atter personal
notice, ot impending
discontinuance.

Notice must be given to
tranchising authority and to
subscribers at least 30 days
betore any progra.aing or rate
change.

Cable companies must provide
each subscriber with written
intormation concerning rates and
progra.aing. This intormation
must be given to new subscribers
upon installation, at least
annually to all subscriber. and
upon request. written notice ot
all service teras and policie.,
inclUding billing and complaint
procedures, .ust also be provided
to new subscribers upon
installation, at least annually
to all subscribers, and upon
request.

All promotional aaterials must
clearly 4isclose rates, terms and
conditions ot the promotion.
Company must retain copies tor at
least one year, and turnish
copies to the local tranchising
authority upon request.



ISSllI

service. to
disabled people

Customer surveys
and research

Service technician
a.vailability

Channel location
card

Cu.to.er credit
reporting

Cu.to.er .ervice
supervi.or re.pon.e

Foreign lanquage
requ1r..ent. for
cu.toaer .erv1ce
repreaant.ative.

Damaged equ1p.ent.
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STANDARD

Company must provide remote
control devic.. t.o disabled
persons, and must utilize TTD
equipment.

Company must research customer
needs on an onqoing basis. As
part of such research, Company
must conduct customer
satisfaction surveys.

service and repairs must be
completed in 24 to 72 hours.
Company must maintain a
maintenance service capable of
locatinq and repairing
malfunctions 24 hours per day.

Company must provide and annually
update a channel lineup card.

The company must not, and must
in.truct all collect.ion agencies
not to, reter any delinquent
account to a credit agency. If
the company refers a delinquent
account le.. than 10 days after
account become. delinquent, it
must notify the credit agency of
the error and pay the .ubscriber
$500.

Reque.ts to .peak t.o supervisors
mu.t b. filled a. .oon as
po.sible, but no lat.er than 4
bu.ine.s hours att.er the request.

Company must have oftice
e.ployee. who .peak any lanquage
u.ed by a subst.ant.ial number of
subscribers.

Subscriber i. not liable tor los.
or damage caused by act.s or
event. out.side the subscriber'S
control.



ATTACHMENT C

In the Matter of

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON CABLE TELEVISION

92·217

The Itemization of Franchise Fees
on Subscriber Bills

)
)

DOCKET NO. 90389

STATEMENT OF POllCY

(Released: April 20, 1992)

During the past mon~ various cable companies in the state have commenced
the practice of including all or a portion of a franchise fee as a separate line item on a
subscriber's bill. The practice is manifest in one of two ways. In some instances, the
franchise fee is one of many items,.u, basic service, premium service, additional outlets,
etc. listed in a single column, the amount for which is included with and added to all other
amounts to arrive at a total amount due. In other instances, the bill recites the various
services subscribed to and the amounts thereof, sets forth a subtotal of all such amounts and
then includes an amount denominated "franchise fee" whic~ when added to the subtotal.
creates a total amount due at the bottom of the bill. In the latter case, the franchise fee is
treated in the same manner as a sales tax. In either case, the fee is stated as if it were a
direct charge upon the subscriber.

Some companies have instituted this practice coincidental with a franchise
renewal or current increase in the amount of the fee or both. For other companies, the
practice is unrelated to the franchise term or any change in franchise fee requirements.

Because the practice raises fundamental issues concerning the effect of federal
law and the relation of federal statute to state statute, Commir.sion regulations and franchise
fee provisions in cable television franchise agreements, the CommiS$ion has determined that
it is appropriate at this time to issue a general statement of policy on franchise fee
itemization and "pass-througbs."

Itemization of fee

Section 622(f) of the Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984 ("Cable Act")
(47 USC Section 542(1) provides that 'a] cable operator may designate that portion of a
subscriber's bill attributable to the franchise fee as a separate item on the bill: Consistent
with this section, a cable operator may include on a subscriber's bill a separate statement
indicating the portion of the bill-as a percentage or fixed amount-that will be payable as
a franchise fee by the cable company to the franchising authority. This section is not
authority for including a franchise fee as a separate billable line item on a subscriber's bill.
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.Apart from the fact that this is a rate increase subject to notice requirements (and government
approval in the absence of effective competition), it is readily apparent that the company, by
its own unilateral act, has purported to change the manner of calculating the fee by reducing
the base from the total amount billed to an amount which is artificially described as the "rate."
In fact, $0.60 is but 2.91% of $20.60 - the total amount billed. If the fee is calculated as
before - 3% of the full amount billed - the fee attributable to the bill would be sixty-two
cents. We find nothing in the Cable Act to suggest that Congress intended to transform the
nature of a franchise fee or to amend existing franchises by permitting cable television
companies to reduce franchise fee obligations by manipulating the subscriber's bill in such
manner. On the contrary, the effect of Section 622(a) was to increase from 3% to 5% of gross
receipts the amount of franchise fees which could be required in a franchise.

It could be argued that a cable company is free to bill in this manner without
also intending to modify its franchise fee obligation. If so, such a bill would be inaccurate
and, therefore, misleading. Nothing in the Cable Act authorizes cable companies to engage
in inaccurate and misleading billing practices.

We also note the likelihood that some cable companies would argue that the
franchise fee is a tax and, as such, is a separately billable item. We need not finally determine
whether the franchise fee is a tax for the simple reason that even if the franchise fee is in the
nature of the tax, under New York State law it would be in the nature of a special franchise
or real property tax; but clearly .DOl in the nature of a sales tax.2 The special franchise tax
is imposed on the owner of the special franchise property,.i&u the cable company, and not on
the subscriber directly. As such, it is simply a component of doing business similar to other
non-sales taxes and business costs.

2 Section 626 of the Real Property Tax Law (ttRYI1:> provides as follows:

"1. (a> When a tax levied on a special franchise is due in any assessing unit, if the
special franchise OWDer bas paid such assessing unit for its exclusive use during
the past year under any aareement or statute requiring the same, a sum based
upon a percentqe of gross eaminp or other income, a license fee or other sum
of mODeJ on account of such special franchise possessed by such special franchise
owner, which payment was in the nature of a tax, all amounts so paid for the
exclusive use of such assessing unit, except money paid or expended for paving
or repairing the pavement of a street, highway or public place, and except in a
city having a population of one hundred seventy-five thousand or more according
to the latest federal census, car license fees or tolls paid for the privilege of
crossing a bridge owned by the city, shall be deducted from the tax based on the
assessment made by the state board for purposes of the assessing unit, but not
otherwise, and the remainder shall be the tax on such special franchise payable
for such propose."
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to price "premium" services without the need for governmental review and approval-a right
which transcends the more limited language in Section 622(c) which merely permits a rate
increase in the event of an increase in franchise fees.

We note, as well, that historically, "pass-through" is used in utility ratemaking to
permit a cost or change in cost to be included in the regulated rate borne by ratepayers.

It fully appears, therefore, that the pass-through provisions in Section 622(c) of
the Cable Act are intended to enable cable television companies to increase relUlated rates
by an amount equal to any current increase in the franchise fee attributable to the regulated
rate.· Similarly, the obligation imposed by Section 622(e) to decrease rates by any reduction
in the franchise fee is only sensible in an environment where rates are regulated. Otherwise,
there is no real benefit to subscribers. In sum, the pass-through provisions are redundant in
rate deregulated communities. Granting to a cable company the unilateral ability to charge
to subscribers whatever rate it wants-as the Cable Act does-transcends and makes
meaningless cost pass-throughs which are reflective of a rate regulated environment.

SO ORDERED.

Commissioners Participating: William B. Finneran, Chairman; Theodore E. Mulford,
John A. Passidomo, Barbara T. Rochmao, Commissioners.

• It is important to note here (1) that Congress sanctioned basic rate regulation for a
minimum of two years following the effective date of the Cable Act for all cable systems
irrespective of the existence of effective competition, and (2) that FCC regulations rather than
statutory mandates caused most cable systems to be rate deregulated.


