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STATE AND LOCAL TAXES AND FEES IMPOSED ON THE
WIRELESS TELECOMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY

Prepared by: PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

September, 1998

Note: The taxes and fees contained in the attached survey were compiled at the request of the Personal
Communications Industry Association for exclusive use in the preparation of the attached report, and
should not be used or relied upon for any other purpose. The information contained in this report is as
accurate and complete as possible, however, PricewaterhouseCoopers advises readers that rates of
taxes and fees are subject to frequent fluctuation, and the rates set forth in this survey at the time of
preparation may not reflect current rates. Further, as fees imposed by local governments are numerous,
PricewaterhouseCoopers has attempted to identify only those local taxes and fees specifically
applicable to wireless providers, and not to corporations in general.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

I SALES/USE TAX ..

0le11 vied on theglea,ofJanglbl I a
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Alabama 5% (Ala. Code § 40-18- 4% standard rate (Ala. Code None (Ala. Code § 40-23- 4% Cellular Radio Tclecollun.
31 ) § 40-23-2,40-12-222,40-23 2, 40-23-61) Alabama Serviees Tax; Ifmonlhly gross

61,40-23-62) & 1.5% cell does not impose a sales sales or gross receipts are in
site equipment (GulfTel. tax on the sale of excess of $600,000 lhen the lax is
Co. v. Sizemore, CV87- telecommunications $4,020 plus 3.7% ofexcess over

1730-G) services. $600,000; (Ala. Code § 40-21-
120, 12 t. 123; Ala. Reg. § 810-6-
5-.26)

Alaska 9.4% (Alaska Code § None None None
43.20.011)

Arizona 8% (Ariz. Rev. St, Ann. § 5% (Transaction Privilege Yes (Ariz. Rev. SI. Ann. None, See sales & use tax
43-1111 ) Tax) (Ariz. Rev. SI. Ann. §§ §§ 42-1310.04)

42-1306,1310.04,1307,
1407,1408,1408.01,1409;
Ariz. Compo Admin. R. &
Regs. § R15-5-2002, R15-5-
2306)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax •

2

STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Alabama Publie utilities assessed by Depl. of Revenue at 30% of prupel1y's Deeds: SO¢ per $SOO.OO in propel1y Domestic corp's pay tax on capital
reasonable value; cellular companies arc not generally classi lied as value (Ala. Code § 40-22-1); ¥orlgages: stock; foreign corp's doing business
publie utilities, and arc therclore loeally assessed (Ala. Code § 40- IS¢ per $100.00 of indebtedness (Ala. pay on capital stock employed in the
21-1,40-21-17, 40-21-S2, 40-8-3) Code § 40-22-2) state

Alaska Locally assessed None None

Arizona Assessed by Dept. of Revenue at 26% of full cash value; tax $2 transfer fee (Ariz. Rev. 51. Ann. § 42- None

is 0.65% on assessed value (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann. §§ 40-8-2, 1611 )

42-793,42-793.01,42-162,42-227,42-201,42-762,42-763,
42-794; (Ch. 2, Laws 1996, 7th Sp. Sess.; Ch. 41,
Laws 1994)

«()1998 I'riccwalerhouscl'oOpl:1 S 1.1.1'



PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee

Alabama Not reg. by Public Service Comm. Of Alabama (Alabama Locally administered fee (AI. $5-$100 Annual Corporate Permit
Cellular Service v. Sizemore, 565 So. 2d 1990) Stal. Ann. 11-98-1) (Ala. Code §§ 40-14-21.22)

Alaska Public Utility Regulatory Fee: not to exceed 0.8% of gross Locally administered fee; $50 every two years (State
revenue derived from operations in the state; Gross revenue however, does not apply to Licensing Department) (Alaska St.
means the total operating revenue from intrastate services, wireless (Ak. Stal. Ann. §§ 43.70.110,43.70.030)

as shown in a utility's annual report. (Alaska 51. §§ 29.35.131)
42.05.254,42.05.990,42.05.711); Alaska Public Utilities
Comm. Registration (Alaska 51. §§42.05.221, 42.05.990)

Arizona 0.1214% of gross operating revenues over $250,000; Annual State administered fee of None
assessment imposed on cellular wholesalers (Ariz. Rev. 51. $0.10 per month for each
Ann. §§ 42-1306, 1310.0440-401); Register wI Arizona activated wireless service
Corporation Comm.; cellular providers are divided into three (through 6/30/99, $0.20 per
categories: cellular wholesalers, FCC license holders and month thereafter) for the
cellular retailers; only cellular wholesalers are categorized as purpose of financing
public service corp. and subject to the registration emergency
requirement (Ariz. Compo Admin. R. & Regs. § R14-2-1103) telecommunication services

(Az. Stal. Ann. 42-1472);
See also, ·Cell-Call
Solutions Sought," Arizona
Business Gazelle, 6/19/97,
where proposed rates are
20¢ per cellular call.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Alabama $175 (Ala. Code § 10- None 4% gross None

28-15.03) proceeds from
lease of I.p.p.
(Ala. Code § 40
12-222)

Alaska $35 (Alaska 51. § None N/A Authorized to establish reasonable rates (Alaska 51.
10.06.728) §42.05.840) No U5F fee currently in place

Arizona $150 (Ariz. Rev. 51. None. Amounts to 3% for rentals 5hould not apply to wireless providers. One half of
Ann. § 10-1503) provide telecomm or leases the AZ U5F is collected from providers of basic local

services for the deaf entered into exchange service that interconnect with the public
appropriated from before 1967 switched network at a rate of $0.025386 per access
revenue derived from (Ariz. Rev. 51. line. The other half is collected from providers of
lelecomm excise lax. Ann. §§ 42- intrastate loll service. (Regs. 14-2-1204)
(Az. 51. Ann. 36-1947) 1711)

4
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

SALES/USE TAX

5
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STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Arkansas 6.5% (Ark. St. Ann. § 26- 4.5% (Ark. St. Ann. §§ 26- Yes (Ark, St. Ann, §§ 26- None
51-205) 52-301,508,26-53-106, 52-301, Ark. Reg. GR-7)

112, 123)

California 7.6% (Cal, Rev. & Tax 7.25%, which may increase No (Cal, Rev. & Tax Code None
Code § 23151) to 8.5% with an additional § 6051)

imposition of county or city
taxes (Cal, Const. Sec. 35,
Art. XIII; Cal, Rev, & Tax
Code §§ 6051,6051.3,
6051.4,6201,6201.2,
6201.3, 7200, 7201, 7202,
7202.5, 7203, 6202)

Colorado 5% (Colo. Rev. St. § 39- 3% (Colo, Rev, St. §§ 39-26 Yes (Colo. Rev. St. § 39- None
22-301 ) 104,105,106,202,203) 26-102,104)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax·

6

STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec.lTransfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Arkansas Assessed by the Tax Division of the Public Service $2.20 per $1,000 (Ark. Sl. Ann. *26-60- For ordinary corp's with authorized
Commission at 20% of fair market value or actual value(Ark. 105) stock, tax is imposed at a rate of
St. Ann. §§ 26·26-1601, 26-26-1602, 26-26-1607, 26-24-101, 0.27% of the domestic or foreign
26-24-103, 26-26-304) corporation's outstanding capital

stock that is apportioned to
Arkansas (Ark. St. Ann. § 26-54-104)

California All utilities (including wireless telecom. providers) centrally The counly lax rale is 55¢ for each $500 For income years commencing after

assessed by the State Board of Equalization at 100% of the llfvaluc (Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code § 1996, the minimum tax that must be
full cash value; tax not to exceed 1% of full cash value (State 11911) prepaid by a qualified "new
Board of Equalization-Valuation Division in Prop Tax Dept.) corporation· when it incorporates or
(Cal. Const. Art. XIII § 19; Cal. Const. Art. XIIlA § 1; qualifies to transact business in
Claircom Communications Group dba Air One, SBE, SAU 94 California is $600. (Cal. Rev. & Tax.
014, September 1,1994) Code § 23221)

Colorado The total valuation for property tax purposes is based on the I ¢ per $100 (Colo. Rev. § 39-13-102) None

actual value of property (adjusted by an equalization factor)
and is limited to a revenue amount that is equal to (1) the
preceding year's amount of revenue, plus (2) 51/5%, plus (3)
the amount of revenue that was abated or refunded by the
taxing entity as of August 1 of a current year, less (4) certain
amounts of revenue, unless otherwise specified, that are
received by the taxing entity by August 1 of a current year as
taxes paid on any taxable property that had previously been
omitted from the assessment roll of any year. (Colo. Rev. §§
29-1-301,39-4-101,39-4-102)

(ij 1998 I'ricewalerhlluscCoopcrs 1.1.1'



PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Public Utility FeelRegulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee

Arkansas Fee collected from all utilities (including cellular providers) State administered fee of Annual report filing fee $5; license
equal to proportion of the utilities costs that the gross $0.50 per month per CMRS fee per 100 members $10
earning of the utilities bear to the total gross earnings of all connection that has a billing
utilities, not to exceed 0.04% of gross earnings, as address in the state. (Ar.
determined by the commission (Ark. SI. Ann. § 23-3-110); SI. Ann. 12-10-318)
Register wI Arkansas Public Service Comm. to obtain a Wireline providers assessed
certificate of public convenience and necessity (Ark. SI. Ann. locally.
§ 23-3-205)

California 0.11% PUC-Regulatory Fee (Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 431); State-administered fee of None
Register wI California Public Utilities Comm. to obtain a 0.72% of the charges made
certificate of public convenience and necessity (Cal. Pub. for monthly intrastate
Util. Code §§ 701,216,234, 1001, 1013, Re Moore telephone service. (Cal.
Universal Telephone Services Act, P.U.C. decision 87-10- Rev. &Tax Code §§ 41020,
088,25 CPUC 2d 556 (1987» 41030)

Colorado None due to deregulation (Colo. Rev. St. § 40-15-401) Locally administered None
surcharge applies to
wireless providers and is
imposed at the max rate of
$0.70 per month per
wireless communications
access. (Co. Sial. Ann. 29-
11-102)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Arkansas $300 (Ark. SI. Ann. § 4 Does not apply to See Sales Tax Charge to be set by Ark. Public Service Comm. (Ark.
27-1503) wireless. A charge of (Ark. SI. Ann. SI. Ann. §23-17-304, 23-17-404; 1997 A.R. S.B. 54

$0.03 per mo/per access §§ 26-52-301. §27(b)) All telecommunications providers must
line is imposed on 508.26-53-106, contribute at a rate based on their in-state revenues,
wireline carriers (Act 112, 123) as determined by the PSC on a case-by-case basis.
501) Applies to wireless carriers.

California No fee, but see Imposed on wireless See Sales Tax Universal Lifeline Surcharge: 3.2% of customer airtime
Franch. Tax/Cap. SI. carriers and wireline Rate (leases charges in '96 (Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 879, Re Moore
Tax column (Cal. Rev. carriers at a rate not to viewed as Universal Telephone Services Act, P.U.C. decision,
& Tax Code § 2105) exceed 0.05% on the "continuing 87-10-088,25 CPUC 2d 556 (1987); Cal. High Cost

charges for intrastate sales") (Cal. Fund SurCharge: 0.27% (Re Alternate Regulatory
telephone service. (Ca. Rev. & Tax Framework for Local Exchange Carriers, PUC
Pub. Util. Code § 2881) Code §§ 6006. Decision 94-09-065,1994 WL 880774 (Cal. P.U.C.

6006.1,6010.1, 1994); California High Cost Fund-B Surcharge: 2.87%
1660.1660) (Cal. Pub. Util. decision ra: its Motion into Universal

Service); Cal. Teleconnect Fund: 0.41 % (Cal. Pub.
Uti!. decision re: its Motion into Universal Service);
Applies to wireless providers, and are imposed on
monthly charge of cellular air time (Cal. Pub. Util. §

173930\
Colorado $75 (Colo. Rev. SI. § 7 Does not apply to See sales & 4.3% surcharge on phone bills. Does not apply to

115-103) Wireless. $0.10 per use tax wireless.
month per access line is
imposed on local
telephone service to
fund the Colorado
Disabled Telephone
User's Fund. (40-17-
101 )
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

9

SALES/USE TAX
. S8!'" ...

STATE

Connecticut

Corporate Income State Rate

9.5% (Conn. Gen. 51. § 6% (Conn. Gen. 51. §§ 12-
12-214) 407,408,411)

Wireless Service

Yes (Conn. Gen. 51. §§ 12 None
407,408)

Gross Receipts

Delaware 8.7% (Del. Til. 30 §
1902)

None N/A None

District of Columbia 9.975% (D.C. Code §
47-1807)

5.75% (D.C. Code §§ 47­
2001,2002,2202,2206;
D.C. Reg. 476.1)

No (D.C. Law No. 12-100, 10% of gross receipts from the
Laws 1998, effective April provision of telecom. services­
30,1998; D.C. Act No. 12- Mobile Telecommunications
276, Laws 1998, approved Tax (D.C. Code §§ 47-3902,43
January 26, 1998, 1457)
effective after a 30-day
Congressional review
period)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax·

10

STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Connecticut Centrally assessed by Connecticut Department of Revenue 5/10 or I% or value (Conn. Uen. Sl. § 12 None
or the State Office of Policy and Management at 70% of 494)

FMV, imposed on tel. co's subject to sale tax pre-1990 or by
election, otherwise local assessment (Conn. Gen. 51. §§ 12-
71,12-80a)

Locally assessed 2% or value, unless counly imposes For domestic corp's only, where the
1/2%,lhen I 1/2% (Del. Til. 30 § 5402) corporation has over $10,000 shares

authorized, $90 for 1st 10,000 shares,
plus $50 for each additional 10,000
(Del. Til. 8 § 503)

District of Columbia Assessed by the Mayor of the District of Columbia: for the 1.1 % of value (D.C. Code § 47·903) None
period October 1, 1997, through September 30, 1998, the
real property tax rates, per $100 of assessed value, are
$0.2400 for Class One Property, $0.3850 for Class Two
Property, $0.4625 for Class Three Property, $0.5375 for
Class Four Property, and $1.25 for Class Five Property. The
special real property tax rates, per $100 of assessed value,
are $0.7200 for Class One Property, $1.155 for Class Two
Properly, $1.3875 for Class Three Property, $1.6125 for
Class Four Property, and $3.75 for Class Five Property.
Effective retroactively to October 1, 1994, the personal
property of toll telecommunication companies is exempt from
personal property taxes (except for office equipment and
office furniture), regardless of whether the item is used or
consumed in the production of a taxable telecommunications
service. Effective retroactively to May 1, 1997, a similar
personal property exemption exists for wireless
telecommunication companies. (D.C. Code §§ 47-812,47-
1508,47-2501 )

(<)199X I'riccwatcrhouscCoopcrs 1.1.1'



PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ.lLicense Fee

Connecticut None State administered fee of None
$0.50 per month per CMRS
connection. (Ct. Stat. Ann.
16-256q; 28-30a)

60¢ per mile/year + 25¢/telephone transmitter furnished to None License fee for engaging in
customers (Del. Tit. 30 §§ 4101, 4102); 4.25% of taxable business $75 + $25/location; plus
sales price of wireless services (Del. Tit. 30 § 5502) a retailer license fee of .0075% of

aggregate gross receipts from
sale of goods and services (Del.
Tit. 30 § 2905)

District of Columbia 10% of gross charges -Toll Telecommunications Tax (D.C. None None
Code §§ 47-3902): No PSC registration requirement for
cellular providers.

11
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Connecticut $50 (Conn. Gen. SI. Does not apply to See sales & None
§§ 33-922,33-617) wireless. Applies only to use tax

domestic telephone
providers with over
100,000 customers prior
to 1992. (C.G.S.16-
256(b))

$25 (domestic corp. None 2% (Del. Til. 30 None
certificate .of § 4302)
incorporation) (Del
Code §§ 8-101-104)

District of Columbia $150 (D.C. Code § 29- None See sales & Does not apply to wireless. Wireline pay application
399.22) use tax fee of $1,000; Carrier's share of subsidy based on

individual total revenue for local service during
previous year (D.C. Code §§ 43-1451,1452,1453)

12
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

• . nit .' .~ ' .... ,,- ---.·illfAf,X'c:-;,e:"<U;ill
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Florida 5.5% (Fla. SI. Ann. § 6% (Fla. SI. Ann. § 212.05) 7% (Fla. S1. Ann. §§ 2.5% of gross receipts from the
220.11 ) 203.012,212.05, Rule 12A provision of telecom. services

1.046) (Fla. 51. Ann. § 203.01, Rule
126-6.001 )

Georgia 6% (Ga. SI. §48-7-21) 4% (Ga. S1. §§ 48-8-30, 6) Yes (Ga. St. §§ 48-8-30, None
2; Ga. Reg § 560-12-2-
.24)

Hawaii 6.4% (Haw. Rev. SI. § 4% (Haw. Rev. SI. §§ 237- No, as long as receipts are None
235-71 ) 13,238-2,237-23 (telecom subject to PSC tax (see

receipts subject to PSC tax Public Utility Fee)
are exempt))

Idaho 8% (Idaho Code § 63- 5% (Idaho Code § 63-3619) No None
3025)

13
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax·
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STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Florida Locally assessed 70¢ per $100 (Fla. 51. Ann. § 201.02) None

Georgia Locally assessed $1 per $1,000 plus 10 eents per $100 Graduated from $10 to $5000
over the $1,000 (Ga. 51. § 48-6-1) depending on net worth of the

domestic corp's or the apportioned
net worth of the foreign corp. (Ga. SI.
§ 48-13-73)

Hawaii Locally assessed None None

Idaho $1 per $100 of assessed value; however, no state tax has Trunsfer fee only on polaloes None
been imposed since 1965.(Arl. VII, Sec. 9, ID Consl.) "Public
utility" does not include mobile telephone service; See locally
assessed (Idaho Code § 286-63-201.63-1313)

(l) I 998 I'ricewalcrhouscCoopcrs 1.11'



PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee

Florida Register wI Dept. of Revenue (Fla. St. Ann. §§ 350.111, Locally administered 911 None
366.02, Rule 12B-6.0021. 12BER90-4(a)); No fee - see fee (FI. Stat. Ann. 365.171)
Gross Receipts Tax

Georgia N/A Locally administered fee None
imposed on wireless
providers. Max rate $1.50
per cellular telephone per
month. (Ga. Stat. Ann. 46-5
134)

Hawaii The greater of $30 or 0.0025% of gross income from the State administered fee does None
public utility's business during the preceding year (Haw. Rev. not apply to wireless
St. § 269-30); all gross income, both utility and nonutility. providers. (Hi. Stat. Ann.
should be used in computing the public utilities fee imposed 369-16.95)
by this section. (Gp. All'y Gen. No. 61-100 (1961)); Public
Service Co. ("PCS") tax is paid in lieu of property or excise
taxes, and ranges between 5.885% to 8.2% of a wireless
co's gross income, gross proceeds or value from intrastate
wireless services. The rate is determined by a ration of net
income to gross income and so varies depending on a
company's income. (Haw. Rev. SI. § 239-5)

Idaho None Locally administered fee None
does not apply to wireless
providers (Id. St. Ann. 31-
4804)

15
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Florida $35 (Fla. St. Ann. § Does not apply to See sales & Applies to wireless. Carrier's share of subsidy based
607.1503) wireless (Fla. Stat. Ann. use tax on individual gross operating revenues (not to exceed

427.703) 2.5%) during previous six months. If revenues are less
than $10.000. then no contribution is to be made.
(1997 FI. H.B. 3775)

Georgia $170 (Ga. St. § 14-2- Does not apply to See sales & Does not apply to wireless providers (Ga. Stat. 46-5-
1503) wireless (Ga. Stat. Ann. use tax 167)

46-4-30)

Hawaii $100 (Haw. Rev. St. § Does not apply to See sales & Universal fund collections based on gross operating
415-110) wireless (Hi. Stat. Ann. use tax revenues; All telecommunications carriers must

269-16.7) contribute to the program (Haw. Rev. St. § 269-42)

Idaho $100 (Idaho Code § Does not apply to See sales & Does not apply to wireless. End user surcharge on
30-1-1501) wireless (Id. Stat. Ann. use tax local exchange service and MTS and WATS type

61-1306) services. Charge is 6¢/monthlline (residential
customers) and 14¢/month/line (business customers)
Monthly local exchange surcharge is a cents per line
charge (Idaho Code §§ 62-610. 62-603)

16
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

SALES/USE TAX
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STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Illinois 7.3% (35ILCS 201) 6.25% (35ILCS 105/3-10 Yes - 5%: Telecom Excise Gross revenue tax (0.1 % of
(use tax); 35 ILCS 110/3- Tax (35 ILCS 630/3"4) gross revenue from the
10(service use tax);35ILCS provision of utility services) has
115/3-10; 351LCS 120/2-10 been held not to apply to
(sales tax) wireless providers (Chi. SMSA

Ltd. Psp. V. Illinois Commerce
Comm'n, No.3-96-0189,
10/16/96)

Indiana 7.9% (Ind. Code §§ 6-3- 5% (Ind. Code §§ 6-2.5-2-1, Yes None
2-1,6-3-8-4.1) 6-2.5-1-2,6-2.5-2-2,6-2.5-3-

2, 6-2.5-3-3, 6-2.5-3-4)

Iowa 12% (Iowa Code § 5% (Iowa Code §§ 422.43, Yes (Iowa Code § None
422.33.1) 423.2) 422.43(1 ))

Kansas 7.35% (Kan. St. Ann. § 4.9% (Kan. SI. Ann. §§ 79- (Kan. St. Ann. § 79-3603) None
79-32.110) 3603,3703)

Kentucky 8.25% (Ky. Rev. Sl.Ann. 6% (Ky. Rev. Sl.Ann. §§ None
§ 141.040) 139.200,310)
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax·
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STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Illinois Locally assessed 50¢ per $500 (1II.Rev. 51. eh. 35 § 1/10 of 1% on the paid-in capital ($25
200/31-10) minimum &$1,000,000

maximum)(III.Rev. SI. ch. 805 §
5/15.45)

1'"U'ClICl Assessed by the State Board of Tax Commissioners at 1.2% of gross sales receipt (inf. Ilulletin None

331/3% of true cash value: the state tax rate is limited to 1¢ 1147 (9-1-85), Ind. Code 6-2.1-8-6)

on each $100 of valuation (P.L. 6, Laws 1997 §§ 6-1.1-18-2,

6-1.1-8-25)

Iowa Locally assessed 80¢ per $500 (Iowa Code § 42l!A.1) None

Kansas Locally assessed Mortgage registration fcc of 0.26% of $1 for each $1,000 of the
principal dcbt (Kan. 51. Ann. § 79-3102) corppration's shareholder's equity

attributable to Kansas ($20 minimum
& $2,500 maximum)(Kan. SI. Ann. §§
17-7503, 7505)

Kentucky Assessed bt the Kentucky Revenue Cabinet at 100% of fair 50¢ per $500 (Ky. Rev. 51. Ann. § 0.21.0;•. or $2.10 for every $1,000 of
cash value: tax rate at 31.5¢ per $100 for real property and at 142.050) capital employed in the business in
45¢ per $100 for all other property (Kentucky Revised the state ($30 minimum) (Ky. Rev.
Statutes, Title IX, §§ 132.010, 132.190: Tangible Personal 51. Ann. § 136.070)
Property Assessment Manual of Kentucky)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee

Illinois 0.1%: Gross Revenue Tax (1II.Rev. SI. ch. § 220, para. 5/2- Locally administered None
202)(imposed on utilities, of which cellular providers may not surcharge does not apply to
be included; See Chicago SMSA Ltd. Partnership v. III. wireless providers (II. Stal.
Commerce Comm., No. 3-96-0189 (10-16-96)) Ch. 50 s. 750/15.3;

750/2.12)

IIUldlld 0.15% (Ind. Code §§ 8-1-6-3, 8-1-6-4) Locally administered None
surcharge applies to
wireless providers (In. Stal.
Ann. 36-8-16-5; 36-8-16-3)

Iowa None Locally administered None
surcharge does not apply to
wireless providers (Ia. Stal.
Ann. 34A.2)

Kansas None Locally administered tax None
does not apply to providers
of wireless services. (Kan.
SI. Ann. §§ 12-5301, 5302)

Kentucky For 1998 - 1999 year. $0.0018280 cent per dollar applied to Locally administered fee None
gross receipts of intrastate business. minimum fee of $50 does not apply to wireless
(Ky.Rev. SI.Ann. § 278.130; Letter, Kentucky Public Service providers. (Ky. Stat. Ann.
Commission, June 2. 1998)) 65.760)
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STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Illinois $75 (805 ILCS § None No 93¢/month (AT&T non-business customers) or 4.9% of
5/13.15) phone bill (AT&T business customers); Does not apply

to wireless carriers (220 ILCS §§ 5/13.301.1. 5/13.204,
5/13.206)

"u,a"a $90 (Ind. Code § 23-1 Does not apply to See sales & None
49-3) wireless (In. Stat. Ann. 8 use tax

1-2.3-11)

Iowa $100 (Iowa Code § None See sales & None
490.1503) use tax

Kansas $75 (Kan. St. Ann. § None See sales & Rate is be equal to the contributions of wireline
17-7301(b)) use tax telecommunications service providers reduced by the

% minutes of usage initiated and terminated entirely
over the wireless network (Kan. St. Ann. §§ 66-2002,
55-2008,1997 KS S.8. 212) Kansas Universal
Service Fund applies to wireless providers, but has
been found to violate the Telecommunications Act of
1996 by the Kansas Court o.f Appeals. (Ks. Stat. Ann.
66-2008, Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board et. al. v. the
State Corporation Commission of Kansas, No. 78,548
(Kan. Ct. App. 1997).

Kentucky $90 (Ky. Rev. St. None See sales & None
Ann. § 2718.15-030) use tax
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STATE
Louisiana 3% on telecommunications

services. 4% on tangible
personal property. La. Rev.
Stat. §§47:302(A), 47-331,
51-1286, 39-2006.

Yes. Cellular phone None.
services are subject to
sales and use tax. La.
Rev. Stat. Ann. §
47:301(14)(ii).

Gross Receipts

Maine 8.93% 6%; however, excess Yes. Maine taxes a None.
revenue provision applies of cellular company's
current year revenues receipts from providing
exceed prior year revenues telephone or telegraph
by 8% in which case, rate is service. Service
5.5%. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. originating or terminating
Tit.§1811,1861. outside the state is not

taxable. Me. Rev. Stat.
Ann. Tit. 36, § 1752(18-8).

Maryland 7% 5%. MD. Tax. Code Ann.
§11-104(a),11-101(k).

Yes. Maryland imposes
sales and use tax on
cellular telephone or other
mobile
telecommunications
services. MD. Tax Code
Ann. § 11-101(k).

The franchise tax on utilities is
imposed at a rate of 2% of
gross receipts derived from
business in Maryland. MD.
Stat. §8-403.
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STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Louisiana Locally assessed Louisiana does not impose a transfer b
tax.

Maine Just value of personal property assessed by The State Tax Maine imposes a transfer tax at the No.
Assessor; taxed at 27 mills of just value. rate of $2.20 per $500 paid by each
Telecommunications property subject to this tax continues to party.
be exempt from ordinary local property taxation. (Me. Rev.
Stat. Ann. Tit. 36 § 457,458)

Maryland Assessed by the Department of Assessments and Taxation Maryland imposes a recordation tax No
at 100% of its value (Tax-Prop. Art. §§ 8-103(3).8-103(4), 8- at the state level at the rate of .5% of
108,8-109) consideration paid.
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STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ.lLicense Fee

Louisiana No. Wireless corporations are not public utilities and Locally administered 911 None
therefore do not pay a public utility fee tax. La. Rev. Stat. fee may be imposed on
.§§47:358; 45:1177. However. before engaging in business. wireless providers (La. Stat.
cellular communications providers must register with the Ann. 33:9106)
Louisiana Public Service Commission and pay a $250
application fee. General Order. Public Service Commission
(March 15. 1996). A supervision and inspection fee is
imposed on public utilities at graduated rates depending on
the gross receipts of the utility company. Wireless providers
are taking the position that this tax does not apply to them.

<" .r. ,~~,

Maine l!'ro. me 'r,;raine 'PiJtirrt 'Service Commission does not regulate State-wide E-911 system None
cellular companies. not installed until 1999 or

2000. To aid in funding a
32¢ will be imposed on all
telephone bills beginning in
August 1998. ("Maine Still
Awaiting Enhanced 911'-
Bangor Daily News. 4/27/98)

Maryland Maryland does not regulate cellular companies. State administered 911 fee None
is imposed on wireless
providers at the rate of
$0.10 per wireless
subscriber per month. (Md.
Code 18-105)

23
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STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TOO/lOS Fee Lease lax Universal Service Fund

Louisiana LARS §12:304, $50 Not imposed on wireless 2% of monthly None
(La. Stal. 1061) lease or rental

price paid by
lessee (R.S.
47:302)

Maine MARS § 1202, $180 None See Sales None
Tax(M.R.S.A.
§§ 1752.1811)

Maryland Ma St § 7-203. $6; None See Sales Tax Does not apply to wireless providers. Universal
(A.C.M. §§ 11- service trust fund surcharge imposed at a maximum of
101, 11-102) 45 cents per month on bills rendered for switched local

exchange access in the state. (Md. State Finance and
Procurement Code, 3-807)

24
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STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Massachusetts 9.50% 5%. Mass. Gen. L. Ch. Yes. Mass. Gen. L. ch. None.
64H, §§2,4,5; Mass. Gen. L. 64H, § 1.
Ch. 641, §2.

Michigan 2.3% (single business 6%. Mich. Stat. Ann. Yes. Mich. Stat. Ann. None.
tax) §§205.52, 205.93, §205.93a(a).

205.93(a).

Minnesota 9.80% 6.5%. Minn. Stat. Ann. Yes. Minn. Stat. Ann. § None.
§297A.02,297A.14. 297A.01 (3)(f).
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STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Massachusetts Assessed by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue at Massachusetts imposes a transfer No
100% of its fair cash value; The tax rate is equal to the tax on the entire consideration paid at
average of the annual rates for three years preceding that in the rate of $4.56 per $1000.
which the assessment is made upon property as returned by
the assessors of the several towns, plus an additional 14%
surtax. (Ch. 59, Sec. 2A, 5, 39;Ch. 684, Sec. 89; Ch. 63, Sec.
55; Ch. 63, Sec. 58)

IMichigan Locally assessed Michigan imposes a transfer tax on No
fair market value of property
transferred at the rate of $3.75 per
$500.

Minnesota Locally assessed When transfers are made pursuant to No.
mergers, consolidations, sales or
transfers of substantially
all of the assets of corporations
pursuant to plans of reorganization or
there is no consideration or when the
consideration, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining
thereon at the time of sale, is $500 or
less, the tax is $1.65. When the
consideration, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining
thereon at the time of sale, exceeds
$500, the tax is $1.65 plus $1.65 for
each additional $500 or fraction of
that amount. Minn. Stat. § 287.21.
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STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee

Massachusetts Massachusetts deregulated cellular telecommunications None - service is funded by None
services in August, 1994. Department of Public Utilities 94- fees charged to consumers
73. who use local telephone

company's 411 telephone
directory service. ("Enhance
911 On Way After Years of
Bickering," The Patriot
Ledger, 2/13/97)

Michigan The Michigan PSC does not have authority over providers of Locally administered 911; None
cellular services. Mich. Stat. Ann. §484.2401. currently, fee does not apply

to wireless providers (Mi.
Stat. Ann. 484.1102)

Minnesota Cellular providers are not regulated under the Minnesota State administered' 911 fee None
PSC and are not required to register with the PSC upon applies to wireless providers
commencing operations. and is imposed at a rate of

up to $0.30 per month per
access line or wireless
phone. Additional E-911 fee
of X per month is also
imposed on wireless
carriers. (Mn. Stat. Ann.
403.11, 403.13)
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STATE Inc.lReg. Fee TOO/TOS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Massachusetts MAGL §4, $300 None See Sales Tax None
(64 G.L.M. §§
1,2)

IMIchigan MCL § 450.2015, $10 None See Sales None
Tax(M.C.L. §§
205.51, 205.93)

Minnesota MI St § 303.06, $150 Does not apply to See Sales Tax None
wireless. Local (M.S. §§
telephone companies 297A.01,
must collect from each 297A.02)
subscriber a monthly
surcharge of no more
than 10 cents per
customer access line,
including trunk
equivalents, to fund
telecommunication
access for
communication-impaired
persons. Minn. Stat.
§237.52.
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STATE

Mississippi

29

Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
5% 7%. Miss. Code Ann. §§27- Yes. Miss. Code Ann. § 27 None.

65-17; 27-65-19. 65-19.

Missouri 6.25% 4.225%. Mo. Rev. Stat. Yes. Mo. Rev. Stat. §§
§§144.020.1, 144.610.1; 144.010.1(8)c;
Art. IV Mo. Const. §§43, 47. 144.020.1(4)

None.

(,19<)X I'riccwalnhuu'cCuupL'I' ILl'



PCIA·
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

Property Tax·

30

STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Trans.fer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Mississippi Locally assessed Tax is levied upon the filing and Yes. $2.50 per $1,000 of domestic
recording of every lease and other and foreign book value of capital
writing which creates a consisting of capital stock, surplus,
leasehold interest in and to any and undivided profits, employed in
nonproducing oil, gas or other state.
minerals that may be produced from
lands situated within the state.

Missouri Locally assessed Missouri does not impose a transfer Yes. 1/20 of 1% (50$ per $100 or
tax at the state, county or city level. .05%) of domestic and foreign-

proportion of par value of outstanding
shares and surplus in excess of
$200,000 representing property and
assets in Missouri.
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STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ.lLicense Fee
Mississippi Mississippi does not regulate cellular providers. However, Locally administered 911 None

Mississippi requires certification and tariffs to be filed with fee applies to wireless
the PSG for informational purposes only. In addition, carriers (Ms. Stat. Ann. 19-5
Mississippi imposes a tax on all public utilities whose rates 303)
are subject to regulation by the PSG or whose utility services
are electrical in nature in order to pay for the administration
and enforcement activities of the PSG. The rate is .00164%
of annual gross receipts from intrastate operations. It is
unclear whether cellular providers are subject to the

Missouri Missouri PSG does not regulate cellular communications Locally administered 911 None
providers. fee does not apply to

wireless (Mo. Stat. Ann.
190.305)
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STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDDITDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund

Mississippi Miss St § 70-4-15.03, Does not apply to 7% gross None
$500 wireless. Applies only to income of

local exchange carriers. renting or
(Ms. Stat. Ann. 77-3- leasing
507) personal

property used
within state
(M.C. § 27-65-
23)

Missouri Mo Code § 351.576, Does not apply to See Sales Tax Missouri USF Surcharge applies to wireless providers.
$150 wireless providers (Mo. (MRS. § MRS. § 392.48; 4 CSR 240.31.010 Rates not

Stat. Ann. 209.255) 144.020(8)) established.
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STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Montana 6,75% There is no state sales/use No, There is a utilities tax on
tax in Montana. telephone companies (including

cellular) imposed at the rate of
1.8% on sums over $250
quarterly. M.e.A.15-51-101.

Nebraska 7.81% 5%. Neb. Rev. Stat. §77- Although "cellular None.
2701.02. services" are not

specifically included in the
statutes. regulations. or
rulings. informal
conversations with
Department of Revenue
officials suggest that they
are taxable.
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STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Montana Assessed by Montana Department of Revenue at 100% of its There is no real estate transfer tax in No
market value (Mont. Code Ann. § 15-1-101, 15-8-111, 15-23- Montana.
303)

Nebraska Assessed by Nebraska Property Tax Administrator at 100% A transfer tax is imposed on the full Yes. Graduated from $13 for $10,000
of fair market value (Neb. Rev. St. §§ 77-103, 105, 119,801) actual consideration paid and is or less based on domestic paid up

imposed upon the grantor executing capital stock, and foreign capital
the deed upon the privilege of employed in Nebraska, to $11,995 for
transferring beneficial interest in or over $100 million. Foreign
legal title to real estate. Neb. §76- corporations pay double; maximum,
901. The rate is $1.75 per $1,000 of $15,000.
value. (0.00175) Neb. §76-901.
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STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./L1cense Fee

Montana Cellular providers are not regulated under the Montana PSC $0.50 per month per a~cess The telephone company license
and are not required to register with the PSC upon line or wireless telephone. tax is imposed on a cellular
commencing operations. Mont. Code Ann. § 69-3-803(3). (For basic 9-1-1·services. a telecommunications company's

fee of 25¢ per month per gross income derived from
access line is imposed on intrastate business. Mont. Code
the amount charged each Ann. § 15-53-101; Mont. Admin.
service subscriber in the R. §42.31.501(4).See "Gross
state for telephone Receipts" Column
exchange access services.
wireless telephone service,
or other 9-1-1 accessible
services. For enhanced 9-1-
1 services, a fee of 25¢ per
month per access hne is
imposed on the same
services that are subject to
the basic 9-1-1 services fee)
(MCA 10-4-201).

Nebraska Cellular providers are not regulated under the Nebraska PSC Locally administered. Does None
and are not required to register with the PSC upon not apply to wireless. Max
commencing operations. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-808. rate $1 per access line per

month. (Ne. Stat. Ann. 86-
1003)
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