PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Jackson

Missouri

St. Louis

St. Louis

Montana

Yellowstone

Billings) ::

Nebraska

Lancaster

N addltioﬁal fees

for plan review and building permits are $26.50, plus
$2.50 for each additional $1000 in value, up to
$50,000, and $2 for each additionat $1000 in value

over $50000.
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
L SALES/USE TAX ]
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None, but see Business e 1.5% on gross receipts from the retail  {None
Occupation License Tax sale of intrastate telecom services,
including wireless services that are billed
to a billing address in the city (Ne. St. §
Lincoln 77-2702)
Nevada B e A
'|5% on receipts from the sale of
angibie personal property within the
‘jcounty, including: 2.5% school support
Jtax, 2.5% county/city relief tax, and
10.5% development/tourism tax.
|However, because local taxes are
administered by the state, the rate
paid on sales within the county is
|really 7% (2% state sales tax) (Nev.
Rev. St. §§ 374.110, 374.190,
377.040, 377.020, 377A.020,
Clark
None =iNone None
Las Vegas
New Hampshire
Rockingham None ;
None
Portsmouth
New Jersey i
Bergen None s
None None None
Newark|
New Mexico

©1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP



46

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) |
STATE (LOCAUTY) k ' Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
None Yes None None
Lincoln|
Nevada S : ; R e s et
A number of special district and
school support taxes are
imposed and incorporated into
the 7% state/county rate.
Clark B S B
None No None, but see Business Occupation License Tax |None
Las Vegas,
New Hampshire
Rockingham i
None None
Portsmouth|
New Jersey i
Bergen ; ;
None No None None
Newark
NewMexico  mmmmmmemoescososiiinino o
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX ]
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
N/A N/A 3.8% of the net income from all |The Emergency Telephone
business conducted within the |[Communications Surcharge does not apply
city. Specifically applies to to cellular companies. (Ne. Stat. Ann. 86-
telecom and mobile carriers 1003)
Lincoln|
Nevada S T e R P
Since cellular companies are not intercounty in The Nevada Constitution exempts from Telecom utilities pay 1% of None
nature, Nevada locally assesses the property of |property tax shares of stock, bonds, gross revenue from services
cellular companies. The State Public Service mortgages, notes, bank shares, bank provided to customers in
Commission issues two licenses to operate a deposits, book accounts, credits, and unincorporated areas of the
cellular company in each county. Their property is{securities. Nevada Constitution, Article 10, |county
locally assessed in the county where the company|Section 1. However, included in the taxable
has a license to operate. property of a cellular company is the value
of any franchise of the company. Nevada
Revised Statutes, Section 361.320.
Ciark
N/A N/A Telecom utilities pay to the city, |None
* semi-annually, 5% of gross
revenue from business
Las Vegas| conducted within the city
New Hampshire
Rockingham N/A N/A N/A None
in general, real property is locally assessed by the|There is no statute that specifically exempts |N/A None
town assessor in the jurisdiction where the intangible personal property from property
property is located. New Hampshire RSA, Section{tax. However, the New Hampshire property
73:10. tax system applies only to real property.
Portsmouth New Hampshire RSA, Section Chapter 72 et
New Jersey i : o K
Bergen N/A N/A N/A None
Real property is assessed at its true full and fair  |Intangible personal property is not subject to]N/A None
value. Full and fair value of property is defined as |property tax in New Jersey. N.J. Stat. Ann.
the price that the property would sell at a bona § 54:4-1 (West 1997).
fide sale. Real property is assessed by the local
taxing district where the property is situated. The
Business Retention Act excludes from taxation
machinery, apparatus, and equipment which are
not fixtures. N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 54:4-23, 54:4-1.13
Newarkl” 1.15 (1997).
New Mexico i
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Nevada

Lincoln] -0

Clark

- areas.

~|Public utiliies

utilizing the public
right of way in
unincorporated

i lareas of the county
- {pay 2% of gross

. [revenue derived
~“{from services

- lprovided to
*{customers within

these
unincorporated

Las Vegas

New Hampshire

Rockingham

Porismouth

New Jersey

Bergen

Newark|

leased to Bell Atlantic for $20000 per year for 20
years.

New Mexico
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
[ SALES/USE TAX 1]
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None : 0.375% on gross receipts from sales
of tangible personal property and
telecom services that originate or
terminate in the state and are charged
to a service address in the county (for
all county areas that do not include a
city sales tax) (N.M. St. Ann. § 7-19D-

Bernadillo 9) R T .

None : 1.063% on gross receipts from sales of {None
tangible personal property and telecom
;| services that originate or terminate in the|
| state and are charged to a service
“'|address in the city (N.M. St. Ann. § 7-
190-9)
Albuquerque
New York R
Nane (Although a number of counties |
are authorized to levy sales taxes of
“|up to 4% on the sales of tangible
personal property and telecom
services)

New York VERETE
Generally, 8.85% of entire 14% on sales of tangible personal None (Although a number
net income allocated to property and telecom services that of school districts are
NYC, plus a tax on :|originate and terminate in the state and |authorized 1o impose a
subsidiary capital allocated are charged to a service address in the |sales/use tax of up to
to New York City, Public city (NYC Admin. Code §§ 11-2002) 3.25%, resulting in a total
Utilities subject to the Cities may only enact a sales/use tax state, county, city, MCTD &
public utility gross receipts when the county in which it is located school district rate of up to
tax are exempt from the nel has not imposed such a tax. 11.5% on sales of tangible
income tax; however, personal property and
vendors of utility services telecom services (The total
are not. NY State takes rate of tax in GlenCove is
the position that wireless 11.5%, in Albany is 11%
telecom providers are and in Long Beach is
"public utilities.” 11.5%.)

New York City!
North Carolina E
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) 1
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
“1Yes : Y .|None
Bernadilio -
Yes None None
Albuguerque|
New York e e P R s o T
| None
New York

The Metropolitan Commuter Yes
Transportation District ("MCTD"™)
is a state level tax levied in only
a few localities, including New
York City.

2.35% of the monthly gross income of utilities, or
monthly gross operating income of vendors of
utility services, from intracity sales made or
services rendered within New York City (NYC
Admin. Code § 11-1102; NY General City Law §
20-b) (NY State takes the position that wireless
telecom companies are “public utilities.”) Local
utility taxes are limited to gross income or gross
operating income from utility services provided
entirely within the locality (i.e., telephone calls
must originale and terminate in the city for the tax
to apply.) Currently, all other cities in NY impose a
ulility tax of 1% on the gross income or gross
operating income from sales of utility services
within the respective city, except the city of
Sherril, which does not levy a utility tax, and
Buffalo, Rochester and Yonkers, which impose a
3% tax. (NY General City Law § 20-b)

None

North Carolina

New York City
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX ]|
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The Taxation and Revenue Department is Intangibie property is not subject to N/A None
responsible for valuing property subject to valuation or taxation under the Property Tax
property tax and used in the conduct of railroads, {Code because it is not within the definition
communications systems, pipelines, public of "property” found in Section 7-35-2. Tax is
utilities, and airlines (Sec. 7-36-2, NMSA 1978. ).Ajimposed only on
local county assessor has the responsibility for “property”. 3 NMAC 6.5.21.7.
assessing all other property within a county.
Bernadillo
N/A N/A N/A None
Albugquerque|

New York GaRee B s = UL e R B 33 Rpoatcesss
The counties, although technically the principal The New York State N/A None
local taxing units, operate under the town system {the state from subjecting intangible personal
with cities, towns, villages, and school and special |property to an ad valorem tax. However, a
districts having independent powers of taxation for[tax may be assessed on a special franchise
their own purposes. Local assessors are which is an intangible right to operate in a
responsible for valuing utility property on privately |public way. N.Y. Const. art. XV, §3. N.Y.
owned rights of way, as well as real property Real Prop. Tax Law § 300. N.Y. Real Prop.
within their jurisdiction. 4 Op. Counsel SBEA No. |Tax Law § 102(17).

New York 89.; N.Y. Real Prop. Tax Law § 624,

N/A N/A N/A None

New York City

North Carolina
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Bernadilio

Albuquerque|

New York

New York

New York City

Tower sites in NYC lease for $24000 per year. In
Niagra, towers in industrial zones lease for $25000 per,
tower, plus $100 for each additional foot in excess of
150 feet. In Depew, a tower application review is
$1500, antenna placement is $500, and an antenna
application review is $500.

North Carolina
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
| SALES/USE TAX )
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None : :12% on sales of tangible personal - :
“|property and certain service (does not |-
‘tinclude telecom services) (NC Gen St.[:
|88 105-463, 464, 480, 481, 482, 483,
495, 496, 497, 498)
Davidson S
None None None
Greensboro
North Dakota e
None
Burleigh s : s
None 1% on intracity sales of communication [None
“ Iservices that originate or terminate in the
city and are billed to a billing address
therein (ND Cent. Code § 40-05.1-06
Bismark
Ohio B
None 2% (1% Original County Tax + 1%
Additiona! Tax) on sales of tangible
personal property and telecom
services that originate or terminate in
the county and are charged to a billing |
|address therein (Ohio Rev. Code Ann.
Cuyahoga County :1§§ 305.31, 5739.021, 5739.026)
Rates in Ohio range from : e )
1/4% to 2 1/2%. The city of
Cleveland imposes tax rate
of 2% of a corp's net profits
derived from activities
Clevelang|Within the city.
Oklahoma ' i
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) 1
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
- n v
Davidson
None No None
Greensborgl

North Dakota

Burleigh ; : __
None Yes None None
Bismark|
Ohio L T
None
Cuyahoga County
None No None None
Cleveland
Oklahoma
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX 1
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The assessed value of public service company Effective for tax years beginning 7/1/37, all |N/A Cellular surcharge of 58¢/month; Proposed
system property is determined by applying a intangible personal property other than 80¢ monthly surcharge to be added to ali
percentage established by the Department of leasehold wireless customers' bills, starting no sooner
Revenue to the allocation of such value to each  |interests in exempted real property is than Oct. 1 (Proposal Calls For Surcharge
county. Included in the definition of public service |exempt from property tax. For prior tax to Cover Wireless 911 Service,” The News
company are telephone companies and any other |years, only accounts receivables, bonds, & Observer Raleigh, NC, 8/19/98); Fee in
company providing a public service that is stock, and equitable interests in trust funds Pender County is 99¢/line/month (*Phone
regulated by the FCC. G.S. §§ 105-284, 105- are exempt. G.S. § 105-275(31) Fee Foots Bill to Upgrade Pender's 811"
333(14), 105-335. Morning Star - Wilmington, N.C., 3/28/98)
Davidson (NC Stat. Ann. 62A-5)
N/A N/A N/A None
Greensboro|
North Dakota B s SR SR
See State Assessment The intangible personal property of a N/A Does not apply to wireless services
cellular company is valued and taxed along
with the tangible personal property. NO ST
Burleigh 57-02-05.1.
N/A N/A N/A None
Bismark
Ohio T B e o S
Tangible personal propenrty listed in taxpayers’ The taxes on intangible property have been [N/A Does not apply to wireless services
annual returns is assessed by county auditors, but|repealed, with the exception of the tax on
the Tax Commissioner assesses the tangible dealers in intangibles, beginning with the
personal property of taxpayers who own taxable {1986 return year. Rule 5703-3-23, Ohio
property in more than one county and the property|Admin. Code.
of public utilities. Providers of cellular radio service,
Cuyahoga County are not "public utilities.” Sec. 5727.01,
N/A N/A N/A Does not apply to wireless services
Cleveland
Oklahoma o R T R R T S e S P T L e s e
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Davidson : ;
In Garner, a town property lease for placement of
Greensboro

Sprint towers requires $400 per month for 30 years.

North Dakota

Burleigh

Bismark|

Ohio

Cuyahoga County

Oklahoma

56
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
[ SALES/USE TAX |
STATE (LOCALITY) - Corporate Income Tax County City School District
None 1% on gross receipts from sales of L
tangible personal property and
telecom services that originate or
terminate in the county (Okla. St. tit.
68 § 2701)
McClain L B R ER s
None 3.875% on gross receipts from sales of |None
:|tangible personal property and telecom
.| services that originate or terminate in the
- [city (Okla. St. tit. 68 § 2701)
Oklahoma
Oregon L
None
Washington
None
Portiand
Pennsylvania : i '.
None |None, although Allegheny county may
limpose a sales tax at a rate of 1%.
Philadelphia
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
: : 1Yes : ::{None
McClain -
None Yes None None
Oklahomal
Oregon ;
= [None
Washington

None

Pennsylvania

Portland

Philadelphia

i.[None
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PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

PROPERTY TAX

Business Occupation and

59

STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee {locally administered)
N/A N/A N/A Does not apply to wireless services
McClain
Pursuant to the statutory definition, Oklahoma no |Generally, the state exempts intangibles N/A None (See “Cities Can't Charge 911
longer considers cellular communications from taxation. Okla. Const. art. 10, § 6A. Celiular Fees,” Tulsa World, 7/4/97)
companies as public service corporations and
consequently, the State Board of Equalization can
no longer assesses their property. U.S. Cellular v.
State Board of Equalization, Case No. CJ-95-
05386; Southwestern Bell Mobile Systems, Inc. v.
State Board of Equalization, Case No. CJ-95-788-
Oklahomal®7-

Oregon e T ) B T o i R
All property not assessed by the Department of  |With limited exceptions, intangible personal jN/A Does not apply to wireless services
Revenue, such as non-operating property, is property of a public utility company is
assessed by the assessor of the county in which  [subject to property taxation. Or. Rev. Stat.
such property is situated. Or. Rev. Stat. § § 308.510(1).

Washington 308.517(S).

Portland

N/A

N/A

Telecom public utilities must
pay a license tax of 3% of gross
revenue from the provision of
intracity telecom services. (Or.
Rev. St. § 7.14.010; 40)

Telephone excise tax applies on a per
instrument basis at the rate of 75 cents per
month for telecom services with access to
E-911. Or. Rev. Stat. 32, ch. 401 §10(1).

Pennsylvania

Philadelphia

Real property located in Pennsylvania is locally
assessed where the property is located. Counties,
cities, boroughs, townships, and school districts
may impose a real property tax. Intangible
personal property is also subject to local taxation
and is taxable at the residence of the owner. The
domicile for corporations is at the state of
incorporation. The state classifies the different
counties into eight different classes depending on
the size of the county. Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 72, §§
5020-402, 5020-507(1995).

intangible personal property owned by
domestic corporations. However,
corporations that conduct business in
Pennsylvania, but who are not residents,
are not subject to personal property tax. Pa.
Stat. Ann. tit. 72, § 5020-507(1913).

N/A

Does not apply to wireless providers. (
P.S. §7012.) County imposes a
74¢/month/iocal exchange access line
surcharge ("Ringing 911 Could Mean
Ringing Down,” Pittsburgh Post-Gazette,
7/15/98)
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
McClain o :
in Edmond, Western Wireless leases city property for
its antenna and tower sites for a total of $70000.
Oklahoma|
Oregon
Washington

Portiand|

Pennsylvania

Philadelphia

Washington County will rents county property to AT&T
for placement of its celtular equipment for either $5000
per year or for $500 per month. The exact rate
remains to be decided.
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
L SALES/USE TAX ]
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None, but see Business : 1% on sales of tangible personal None
Occupation License Tax property and telecom services that are
charges to a service address in the city
(Phil. Code § 19-2701) (Currently, no
other city imposes a sales tax)
Philadelphia
Rhode Island
Providence
Providence

South Caroliné

% on sales of tangible personal
: property and communication services
|made to customers within the county
(S.C. Code § 4-10-30)

Pickens
Greenville|None
South Dakota
None
Minnehaha SR R :
None 2% on sales of tangible personal None
" |property and communication services
i | made to customers within the city (S.D.
=+ |Codified Laws Ann. § 10-52-2, 10-52-
12.4, 10-52-3)

Sioux Falls

Tennessee
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) 1
- STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
None Yes None None
Philadelphia|
Rhode Island
Providence : .
None No None None
Providence i

South Carolina

Pickens

Yes

Greenville|

None

No

South Dakota

Minnehaha

None

Yes

None

None

Tennessee

Sioux Falls|
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PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

PROPERTY TAX

- STATE (LOCALITY)

Wireless Locally Assessed?

Intangibles

Business Occupation and
License Tax

63

911 Fee (locally administered)

P

See above

See above

Telecom companies doing
business in Philadelphia must
pay a business privilege tax of 3
mills per dollar of annual
receipts and 6.25% of net
income (Phil. Code § 19-
2604(5))

None

Rhode Island

hiladeiphia

Providence

See State Assesément

valorem taxation.

None

Providence

N/A

N/A

None

South Carolina

The ultimate responsibility for valuation rests with

Intangible vpersonal property owhed by

Does not apply to wireless services

N/A
the Department of Revenue. The Department cellular telecommunications companies is
also has the sole responsibility for determining the [exempt from property taxation in South
value of real and personal property of cellular Carolina. Intangible personal property is not
telephone service providers. S.C. Code Ann. § 12(defined in South Carolina, but is generalty
37-520 any property that has no intrinsic marketable|
value, but is representative of value instead.
S.C. Constitution Art. X § 3(j)
Pickens
Greenville|N/A N/A N/A Does not apply to wireless services
South Dakota S A e s
N/A N/A N/A Not to exceed 75¢ month/customer
account (S.D. Stat. Ann. 34-45-4) Effective
through June 30, 1999, any county not
collecting the charge must remit to the
South Dakota co-ordination fund an
amount equa!l to 1¢ per month per cellular
customer (S.D. Stat. Ann. 34-45-4.1)
Minnehaha
South Dakota centrally assesses only the real and]There is no statutory provision exempting  {N/A None

Sioux Falis

personal property used in the operation and
maintenance of telephone lines. Because cellular
telephone companies do not own such property as
a wireless provider, they are only subject to local
assessment on their real property. Western
Wireless Corporation v. South Dakota Dep't of
Revenue, Civ. No. 96-384 (July 22, 1897, 6th

intangible property from tax. However,
property taxes only apply to real and
tangible personal property. S.D. Codified
Laws § 10-4-2; S.D. Codified Laws § 10-4-
2.2

Tennessee

Dist).
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

Providence

STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Philadelphial:
Rhode Istand

Providence o
Providence is leasing a water tower to Omnipoint for
placement of a cellular antenna. The lease terms
require $18000 in the first year, with a 2.5% in each of
the next four years.

South Carolina

Pickens

Greenville

South Dakota

Minnehaha

Sioux Fallg|

Tennessee

64
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
L SALES/USE TAX
STATE (LOCALITY) ~ Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None +12.75% on sales of tangible personal : : =3
[property and telecom services
. |originating and terminating in the state
‘{and charged to a service address in
-{the county (Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-
702)
Lake R i
None None, although some cities do levy a
sales/use tax. The combined city/county
rate may not exceed 2.75%
Nashville|
Texas
Dallas : e i
T e e L s 1% on sales of tangible personal None
1property and telecom services that
originate within the city or are charged to
2 _|a billing address in the city (Tex. Tax
Code Ann. §§ 323.101, 322.102,
Dallas) 1322406+ RG-S A 18155 8r-+HB)
Utah . SREEhAE ARt AL LA

65

Q1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP



66

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) |
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
Yes ~{None
Lake :
None Yes None
Nashvillel
Texas :
) - INone
Dallas . P
1% on sales of tangible Generally yes None None
personal property and telecom
services that originate within the
district or are charged to a
Dallas billing address in the district
Utah
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX 1
N Business QOccupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The term "public utility" does not include domestic jIntangible personal property is defined N/A Claiborne county surcharge ('96 state
public cellular radio telephone service. broadly as all personal property not defined maximum} of 65¢ for residential customers
Nonetheless, the Comptrolier of the Treasury as tangible personal property. It includes and $2 for businesses ("Funding Running
assesses cellular communications providers as personal property, such as money, any Out for E-911 in Ciaiborne,” The Knoxviite
public utilities. However, the assessment ratio evidence of debt owed to a taxpayer, any News-Sentinel, 4/2/97) (Tn. Stat. Ann. 7-86
used for cellular property is not the same as that |evidence of ownership in a corporation or 103); Currently, no fee is imposed on
of public utilities. Operating property which is other business organization having multiple cellular users, although the Knoxville-Knox
used predominantly to provide cellular telephone |owners, and all other forms of property, the county boards voted in 1996 to impose the
service is assessed at the rate applicable to value of which is expressed in terms of what state maximum rates on cellular customers
commercial and industrial property of the same the property represents rather than its own ("911 Cell Phone Fee Suit Moot,” The
type. Tenn. Code Ann. § 65-4-101(6). Tenn. intrinsic worth. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-5- Knoxville News-Sentinel, 5/6/98)
Code Ann. § 67-5-1302(a)(1). Non-operating 501(5).
property is appraised annually and valued as
L other locally assessed property. Tenn. Code Ann.
ake PO
Fif o136 NA NA None
Nashville) i
All taxable property of a celiular telephone Although the Texas Constitution authorizes {N/A None
company is appraised by appraisal districts the taxation of intangible personal property,
responsible for all the taxing units which typically [most intangible personal property is exempt
fall along county boundaries. Taxing units are from taxation. Intangible property cannot be
counties, cities or towns, school districts, and felt, measured, perceived by the senses and
special districts. Texas Tax Code, Section includes, but is not limited to stocks, bonds,
1.04(12), Section 25.01(a). licenses or permits, certificates of deposit,
insurance policies, and goodwill. Texas
Const. Art. VIll Section 1(c); Texas Tax
Code, Section 1.04(6); Texas Tax Code,
Section 11.02(a).
Dallas
See above See above None, imposilion of business  |None
license taxes on telecom
companies is expressly
prohibited
Dallas|
Ten T N T T T
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
‘STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Lake
Nashville
Texas e e e
Dallas B :
in Arlington, placement of antennas on city property is
$15000 annually for a 10 year period. In Roanoke,
placement of an antenna on a city water tower is $800
per month.
Dallas
Utah

68
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX |
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None 1.35% (6.225% combined rate - ; S
14.875% state) on sales of tangible
personal property and intrastate
telecom services charged to a billing
address in the county (Utah Code Ann.
Salt Lake
None
Salt Lake|
Vermont g
Chittenden
Burlington|
Virginia

©1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers 1 1P



70

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) 1
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
None
Salt Lake
None Yes None None
Salt Lake
Vermont
Chittenden
Burlington
Virginia '
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

PROPERTY TAX

STATE (LOCALITY)

Wireless Locally Assessed?

Intangibles

Business Occupation and
License Tax

71

911 Fee (locally administered)

Sall Lake

The Utah State Tax Commission centrally
assesses the property of public utility companies.
Utah Code Ann., § 69-2-201. A cellular company
is a public utility. Utah Code Ann., § 59-2-
102(21).

All real and tangible personal property of a cellular
telephone is assessed at 100% of its fair market
value.

County assessors appraise and assess on a
separate basis all non-operating public utility
property that is not necessary to the conduct of
the business and does not contribute to the
income of the business.

Litah Code Ann., § 59-2:201(3).

Intangible personal property is exempt from
property tax,

N/A

Wireless is state administered; however,
local surcharge of 50¢/month/line for loca!
exchange service ("Police Feel Ambivalent
About 911 Alternative,” Desert News,
3/9/97)

Salt Lake

N/A

N/A

$70 per place of business in the
city + $6 per each full-time and
$3 per each part-time employee
exceeding one (S.C. Muni
Code) Persons engaged in
business in the city who do not
maintain a place of business
there pay a fee based on the
percentage of gross sales in the
city relative to its sales

None

Vermont

Chittenden

In general, Vermont imposes a property tax on
real and tangible personal property located in the
state. Generally, the property tax is assessed
locally. Property used in the operation of a
telephone business, except land and buildings, is
exempt from local property taxation. Instead,
Vermont imposes a centrally assessed tax on the
net book value of all personal property tax owned
by telephone companies. In lieu of paying the
centrally assessed personal property tax, a
telephone company that is earning less than $50
million annually may choose to pay a tax on its
entire gross operating revenues.

tax.

Intangible property is not subject ot property

Burlington|

N/A

Virginia

N/A

N/A

None
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PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Salt Lake

Léase of a tower site on Sandal City property is
$11000 per year.

Vermont

Salt Lake|

Chittenden

Virginia

Burlington|

72
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

L SALES/USE TAX ]

STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District

None - T 1% on sales of tangible personal 3 S v L
-| property within the county (no tax on
telecom services) (Va. Code Ann. §
:|58.1-605)

Prince William

Norfolk

Washington

2.1% on sales of tangible personal
“|property and telecom services charged
to a service address in the county
(0.5% county sales tax + 0.5%
-|additional county sales tax + 0.2%
county transit tax + 0.425% city sales
tax + 0.5% additional cily sales tax)
-{(Note: the additional county/city sales
{tax is to compensate local government
for losses from the phase-out of the

‘| property tax on business inventories)
(Wash. Rev. Code § 82.14.030,
82.14.010, 82.04.050)

King
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Gross Receipts
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Utility User Fee

{consumer's monthly charges, if the consumer’s address is located in the
[county, city or town. The tax is limited to (i) the first $15 charged to each
1residential consumer each month, and (ii) 10% of the first $30 of a mobile
“|customer's monthly phone charge. Any county surcharge imposed shall

‘| not apply within the limits of any incorporated town focated within such
“{county which town imposes a town surcharge, provided that such town (i)
“Iprovides police or fire protection, and water or sewer services, or (ii)
“1constitutes a special school district and is operated as a special school

{Commonwealth; however, the amount of credit or refund shall not exceed

Any county, city or town may impose a surcharge equal to 20% of a

district under a towh school board of three members appointed by the
town council. Further, any consumer shall be entitled to a refund from the
county, city or town imposing the surcharge equal to the amount of any
surcharge the consumer paid to a jurisdiction outside of the

the surcharge paid to the county, city or town on such purchase. (Va.
Co 58.1:1812)

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service
No
Prince Wiliam :
No
Norfolk|

Code Ann. §§ 58.1-3812)

10% on the first $30 of a mobile customer's monthly phone charge.
(Norfolk Commissioner's Office) The law reads as follows: any county,
city or town may impose a surcharge equal to 20% of a consumer's
monthly charges, if the consumer's address is located in the county, city
or town. The tax is limited to (i) the first $15 charged to each residential
consumer each month, and (ii) 10% of the first $30 of a mobile
customer's monthly phone charge. Any county surcharge imposed shall
not apply within the limits of any incorporated town located within such
county which town imposes a town surcharge, subject to certain
provisions. Further, any consumer shall be entitled to a refund from the
county, city or town imposing the surcharge equal to the amount of any
surcharge the consumer paid to a jurisdiction outside of the
Commonwealth; however, the amount of credit or refund shall not exceed
the surcharge paid to the county, city or town on such purchase. {Va.

Washington

King
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The State Corporation Commission Division of Intangible personal property is currently N/A E-911 local exchange service monthly fees
Taxation assesses the real and personal property {exempt from property tax. Virginia may range from $1.46 in Roanoke County
of all cellular telephone companies. The state Constitution, Article X, Section 1; Virginia to $2.00 in Bedford County. (C.S. Murphy,
makes no distinction in the assessment of Constitution, Article X, Section 6(a)(5); "County to Raise Fee for E-911," Roanoke
operating and non-operating property thus, it is ail [Virginia Code, Section 58.1-1101c. Times & World News, Page B1 (Apr. 29,
assessed in the same manner. Virginia Code, 1998). Cellular fees imposed at state level.
Section 58.1-2633. (Va. Stat. Ann. 56-484.8, 56-484.10)
Prince William
N/A N/A N/A None
Norfolk
Washington "

King

The county assessors value all non-operating
property of cellular companies. Non-operating
property is property that is not reasonably
necessary, not used, or not available for use in
the ordinary conduct of the company's business.
Wash. Rev. Code, § 84.12.380; Wash. Rev.
Code, § 84.12.200(14).

In general, intangible property is exempt
from taxation. However, beginning with
assessments levied in 1998, intangibles will
be assessed only to the extent that licenses,
permits and franchises granted by a
government agency affect the use of the
property, the valuation of which will be
treated through the application of generally
accepted appraisal practices, e.g., FCC
licenses. Wash. Rev. Code, § 84.36.070.

NIA

Locally administered 911 fee does apply to
wireless. Maximum rate is 25¢ per month
per radio access line. (Wash. Rev. Code
Ann. §82.14B.030.)
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Prince William o : 3
Erection of two towers on private property is $30000
per tower. Leases average between $600 per month
in rural areas of Virginia and $1200 per month in urban
areas.
Norfolk|
Washington :

King

76
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

[ SALES/USE TAX ]

STATE (LOCALITY) : Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None, but see Business : g : S : L 2.1% on sales of tangible personal None

Occupation License Tax : property and telecom services charged
0 a service address in the city. If a
“|county has imposed a tax, a city in the
[county may impose a tax of only
:10.425%. (0.5% county sales tax + 0.5%
“|additional county sales tax + 0.2%
county transit tax + 0.425% city sales
tax + 0.5% additional city sales tax)
-|(Note: the additional county/city sales
‘|tax is to compensate local government
“for losses from the phase-out of the
“{property tax on business inventories)

(Wash. Rev. Code § 82.14.030,
182 14,010,-82,04.0503~

H
i
¢
i

Seattle,

West Virginia

Kanawha

Charleston|

Wisconsin

0.6% on sales of tangible personal
property and telecom services that
originate in the county (Wis. Const.
AR. 8 § 1; Wis. St. §§ 77.70, 77.705)

Milwaukee

Milwaukee|None None

Wyoming
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) ]
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
None Yes None None
Seattle
West Virginia
None
Kanawha
None No None 2% on gross amount charged to customers for utility service (W. Va.
Code § 8-13-5a)
Charleston|
Wisconsin :

1% Stadium Tax on sales of
tangible personal property and
telecom services that originate
in the district (Wis. Const. Art. 8

1§ 1; Wis. St. §§ 77.70, 77.705)

Milwaukee
Milwaukee| 2 INone None None
Wyoming TR

1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers L1LP



79

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX {
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
N/A N/A N/A None
Seattle

West Virginia i o ) R B I oI

N/A N/A N/A Local E-911 fees are nol imposed on
cellular service. Kanawha County imposes
a monthly fee of $1.25 on residential phone
customers and $2 on businesses. (Dawn
Miller, “911 Fees Going Up in the Fall,” The
Charleston Gazette, 6/27/97). Putnam
County imposes a monthly fee of $1.50.
(Tim Baker, "Commission Approves 911
Fee Increase,” The Milwaukee Journal

W Sentinal, 7/2/97)

The non-operating real property of a utility is not [W.Va. Const., Art. 10, § 1. Intangible N/A None

assessed by the Board Of Public Works. !t is the |personal property will be taxed at 50% for

responsibility of local assessors to appraise the 1998, 40% for 1999, 30% for 2000, 20% for

non-operating rea! property of a utility at fair 2001, 10% for 2002 and eliminated

market value. Real property is revalued based on |completely for tax year 2004 and thereafter.

a three year cycle. W Va. Code § 11-6-24; W. Va.|W.Va. Code § 11-5-3.

Code §11-1c-9(b).

Charleston,

Wisconsin : ; : R e R R B R R T s e .
Non-operating property of telephone companies |Intangible property is exempt from taxation (N/A Does not apply to wireless services.
providing basic local exchange services and under Wisconsin law. Wis. Stat. § 70.112. Generally, county surcharges range from
cellular communications companies is subject to $0.07 to $0.87 per month/line. Milwaukee
local assessment until 1999, at which point the County monthly surcharge is fixed by state
companies will pay a gross receipts tax in lieu of law at 25¢ per month/line. (Steven Walters,
local property tax. Wis. Stat. § 70.05(1); Wis. Stat. "Phone Surcharges Pay Little of 911
§ 76.38(8). Costs,” The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel,

Milwaukee Page 5 (July 2, 1997)).
MilwaukeejN/A N/A N/A None
Wyoming : i :
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Miscellaneous

Seatlle

West Virginia

Kanawha

Charleston

Wisconsin

Milwaukee

Wyoming

Milwaukee| =
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

81

SALES/USE TAX |
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax County City School District
None : 1% on sales of tangible personal i
|property and telecom services charged
“1to a billing address in the county (Wyo.
St. § 39-6-412)
Laramie
Casper|[None  [Emiednsn s e B e None
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SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)

STATE (LOCALITY)

Special District

Wireless Service

Gross Receipts
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Utility User Fee

Laramie

1% Capital Facilities Tax on
sales of tangible personal
property and telecom services
charged to a billing address in
the county

Yes

None

Caspe

None

None

None

None
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX 1
Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
County assessors are responsible for assessing a |Intangible personal property, as enumerated]N/A Does not apply to wireless services
telephone company's property that is valued at or |above, is exempt from taxation. Wyoming
less than two thousand dollars using the cost Statute Section 39-1-201{a)(xxix).
approach methodology. Wyoming Statute Section
Laramie 39-2-201(a)(vi).
Casper|N/A N/A N/A Does not apply o wireless services
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

- STATE (LOCALITY) "

Miscellaneous

Laramie

Casper}:
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