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Note: The taxes and fees contained in the attached survey were compiled at the request of the Personal
Communications Industry Association for exclusive use in the preparation of the attached report, and
should not be used or relied upon for any other purpose. The information contained in this report is as
accurate and complete as possible, however, PricewaterhouseCoopers advises readers that rates of
taxes and fees are subject to frequent fluctuation, and the rates set forth in this survey at the time of
preparation may not reflect current rates. Further, as fees imposed by local governments are numerous,
PricewaterhouseCoopers has attempted to identify only those local taxes and fees specifically
applicable to wireless providers, and not to corporations in general.







PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX
% Notel s levied on the sales of langibl i . ;
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Alabama 5% (Ala. Code § 40-18- [4% standard rate (Ala. Code{None (Ala. Code § 40-23- [4% Cellular Radio Telecomm.
31) § 40-23-2, 40-12-222, 40-2312, 40-23-61) Alabama Services Tax; If monthly gross
61, 40-23-62) & 1.5% cell  }does not impose a sales |[sales or gross receipts are in
site equipment (Gulf Tel. tax on the sale of excess of $600,000 then the tax is
Co. v. Sizemore, CV87- telecommunications $4,020 plus 3.7% of excess over
1730-G) services. $600,000; (Ala. Code § 40-21-
120, 121, 123; Ala. Reg. § 810-6-
5-.26)
Alaska 9.4% (Alaska Code § None None None
43.20.011)
Arizona 8% (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann. §!5% (Transaction Privilege |Yes (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann.  |None, See sales & use tax

43-1111)

Tax) (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann. §§
42-1306, 1310.04, 1307,
1407, 1408, 1408.01, 1409;
Ariz. Comp. Admin. R. &
Regs. § R15-5-2002, R15-5-
2306)

§§ 42-1310.04)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
Property Tax -
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Alabama Public utihtics assessed by Dept. of Revenue at 30% of property’s  |Deeds: 50¢ per $500.00 in propeity Domestic corp's pay tax on capital
reasonable value; cellular companies are not gencrally classilied as [valuc (Ala. Code § 40-22-1); Mortgages: |stock; foreign corp's doing business
public utilitics, and are therefore locally assessed (Ala. Code § 40- |15¢ per $100.00 of indebledness (Ala.  [pay on capital stock employed in the
21-1,40-21-17, 40-21-52, 40-8-3) Code § 40-22-2) state

Alaska Locally assessed None None

Arizona Assessed by Dept. of Revenue at 26% of full cash value; tax |32 transfer fee (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann. § 42- |None

is 0.65% on assessed value (Ariz. Rev. St. Ann. §§ 40-8-2,
42-793, 42-793.01, 42-162, 42-227, 42-201, 42-762, 42-763,
42-794; (Ch. 2, Laws 1996, 7th Sp. Sess.; Ch. 41,

Laws 1994)

1611)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Alabama Not reg. by Public Service Comm. Of Alabama (Alabama Locally administered fee (Al.{$5-$100 Annual Corporate Permit
Cellular Service v. Sizemore, 565 So. 2d 1990) Stat. Ann. 11-98-1) (Ala. Code §§ 40-14-21, 22)
Alaska Public Utility Regulatory Fee: not to exceed 0.8% of gross  |Locally administered fee;  [$50 every two years (State
revenue derived from operations in the state; Gross revenue |however, does not apply to |Licensing Department) (Alaska St.
means the total operating revenue from intrastate services, |wireless (Ak. Stat. Ann. §§ 43.70.110, 43.70.030)
as shown in a utility's annual report. (Alaska St. §§ 29.35.131)
42.05.254, 42.05.990, 42.05.711); Alaska Public Utilities
Comm. Registration (Alaska St. §§42.05.221, 42.05.990)
Arizona 0.1214% of gross operating revenues over $250,000; Annual|State administered fee of  |None

assessment imposed on cellular wholesalers (Ariz. Rev. St.
Ann. §§ 42-1306, 1310.0440-401); Register w/ Arizona
Corporation Comm.; cellular providers are divided into three
categories: cellular wholesalers, FCC license holders and
cellular retailers; only cellular wholesalers are categorized as
public service corp. and subject o the registration
requirement (Ariz. Comp. Admin. R. & Regs. § R14-2-1103)

$0.10 per month for each
activated wireless service
(through 6/30/99, $0.20 per
month thereafter) for the
purpose of financing
emergency
telecommunication services
(Az. Stat. Ann. 42-1472);
See also, "Cell-Call
Solutions Sought,” Arizona
Business Gazette, 6/19/97,
where proposed rates are
20¢ per celiular call.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE inc./Reg. Fee TOD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Alabama $175 (Ala. Code § 10-|None 4% gross None
2B-15.03) proceeds from
lease of t.p.p.
{Ala. Code § 40
12-222)
Alaska $35 (Alaska St. § None N/A Authorized to establish reasonable rates (Alaska St.
10.06.728) §42.05.840) No USF fee currently in place
Arizona $150 (Ariz. Rev. St.  |None. Amounts to 3% for rentals  |Should not apply to wireless providers. One half of

Ann. § 10-1503)

provide telecomm
services for the deaf
appropriated from
revenue derived from
telecomm excise tax.
(Az. St. Ann. 36-1947)

or leases
entered into
before 1967
(Ariz. Rev. St.
Ann. §§ 42-
1711)

the AZ USF is collected from providers of basic local
exchange service that interconnect with the public
switched network at a rate of $0.025386 per access
line. The other half is collected from providers of
intrastate toll service. (Regs. 14-2-1204)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX ]
CouT T Note: sales tax s levied on th Ig person 6 Specified. Tokr e
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Arkansas 6.5% (Ark. St. Ann. § 26-14.5% (Ark. St. Ann. §§ 26- |Yes (Ark. St. Ann. §§ 26- |None
51-205) 52-301, 508, 26-53-106, 52-301, Ark. Reg. GR-7)
112, 123)
California 7.6% (Cal. Rev. & Tax |7.25%, which may increase |No (Cal. Rev. & Tax Code |None
Code § 23151) 10 8.5% with an additional  |§ 6051)
imposition of county or city
taxes (Cal. Const. Sec. 35,
Art. XlIf; Cal. Rev. & Tax
Code §§ 6051, 6051.3,
6051.4, 6201, 6201.2,
6201.3, 7200, 7201, 7202,
7202.5, 7203, 6202)
Colorado 5% (Colo. Rev. St. § 39-|3% (Colo. Rev. St. §§ 39-26|Yes (Colo. Rev. St. § 39- |None
22-301) 104, 105, 106, 202, 203) 26-102, 104) '

©1998 PricewalerhouseCoopers L1P




PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
Property Tax - ]
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
Arkansas Assessed by the Tax Division of the Public Service $2.20 per $1,000 (Ark. St. Ann. § 26-60- IFor ordinary corp's with authorized
Commission at 20% of fair market value or actual value(Ark. }105) stock, tax is imposed at a rate of
St. Ann. §§ 26-26-1601, 26-26-1602, 26-26-1607, 26-24-101, 0.27% of the domestic or foreign
26-24-103, 26-26-304) corporation's outstanding capital
stock that is apportioned to
Arkansas (Ark. St. Ann. § 26-54-104)
California All utitities (including wireless telecom. providers) centrally | The county tax rate is 55¢ for cach $500 [For income years commencing after
assessed by the State Board of Equalization at 100% of the [of valuc (Cal. Rev. & Tax. Code § 1996, the minimum tax that must be
full cash value; tax not to exceed 1% of full cash value (State[1i911) prepaid by a qualified “new
Board of Equalization-Valuation Division in Prop Tax Dept.) corporation” when it incorporates or
(Cal. Const. Art. XIIl § 19; Cal. Const. Art. XIHA § 1; qualifies to transact business in
Claircom Communications Group dba Air One, SBE, SAU 94 California is $600. (Cal. Rev. & Tax.
014, September 1, 1994) Code § 23221)
Colorado The total valuation for property tax purposes is based on the |l¢ per $100 (Colo. Rev. § 39-13-102)  [None

actual value of property (adjusted by an equalization factor)
and is limited to a revenue amount that is equal to (1) the
preceding year's amount of revenue, plus (2) 51/5%, plus (3)
the amount of revenue that was abated or refunded by the
taxing entity as of August 1 of a current year, less (4) certain
amounts of revenue, unless otherwise specified, that are
received by the taxing entity by August 1 of a current year as
taxes paid on any taxable property that had previously been
omitted from the assessment roll of any year. (Colo. Rev. §§
29-1-301, 39-4-101, 39-4-102)

1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP




PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Arkansas Fee collected from all utilities (including cellular providers) |[State administered fee of  |Annual report filing fee $5; license
equal to proportion of the utilities costs that the gross $0.50 per month per CMRS |fee per 100 members $10
earning of the utilities bear to the total gross earnings of all {connection that has a billing
utilities, not to exceed 0.04% of gross earnings, as address in the state. (Ar.
determined by the commission (Ark. St. Ann. § 23-3-110);  [St. Ann. 12-10-318)
Register w/ Arkansas Public Service Comm. to obtain a Wireline providers assessed
certificate of public convenience and necessity (Ark. St. Ann.|locally.
§ 23-3-205)
California 0.11% PUC Regulatory Fee (Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 431), State-administered fee of |None
Register w/ California Public Utilities Comm. to obtain a 0.72% of the charges made
certificate of public convenience and necessity (Cal. Pub. for monthly intrastate
Util. Code §§ 701, 216, 234, 1001, 1013, Re Moore telephone service. (Cal.
Universal Telephone Services Act, P.U.C. decision 87-10- |Rev. & Tax Code §§ 41020,
088, 25 CPUC 2d 556 (1987)) 41030)
Colorado None due to deregulation (Colo. Rev. St. § 40-15-401) Locally administered None

surcharge applies to
wireless providers and is
imposed at the max rate of
$0.70 per month per
wireless communications
access. (Co. Stat. Ann. 29-
11-102)
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PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Arkansas $300 (Ark. St. Ann. § 4|Does not apply to See Sales Tax |Charge to be set by Ark. Public Service Comm. (Ark.
27-1503) wireless. A charge of |(Ark. St. Ann. |St. Ann. §23-17-304, 23-17-404; 1997 A.R. S.B. 54
$0.03 per mo/per access|§§ 26-52-301, {§27(b)) All telecommunications providers must
line is imposed on 508, 26-53-106,|contribute at a rate based on their in-state revenues,
wireline carriers (Act 112, 123) as determined by the PSC on a case-by-case basis.
501) Applies to wireless carriers.
California No fee, bul see Imposed on wireless See Sales Tax |Universal Lifeline Surcharge: 3.2% of customer airtime
Franch. Tax/Cap. St. jcarriers and wireline Rate (leases  |charges in '96 (Cal. Pub. Util. Code § 879, Re Moore
Tax column (Cal. Rev. |carriers at a rate not to  |viewed as Universal Telephone Services Act, P.U.C. decision,
& Tax Code § 2105) |exceed 0.05% on the “continuing 87-10-088, 25 CPUC 2d 556 (1987)); Cal. High Cost
charges for intrastate sales”) (Cal.  |Fund Surcharge: 0.27% (Re Alternate Regulatory
telephone service. (Ca. |Rev. & Tax Framework for Local Exchange Carriers, PUC
Pub. Util. Code § 2881) |Code §§ 6006, |Decision 94-09-065, 1994 WL 880774 (Cal. P.U.C.
6006.1, 6010.1,]1994); California High Cost Fund-B Surcharge: 2.87%
1660, 1660) (Cal. Pub. Util. decision re: its Motion into Universal
Service); Cal. Teleconnect Fund: 0.41% (Cal. Pub.
Util. decision re: its Motion into Universal Service);
Applies to wireless providers, and are imposed on
monthly charge of cellutar air time (Cal. Pub. Util. §
739.30)
Colorado $75 (Colo. Rev. St. § 7{Does not apply to See sales &  |4.3% surcharge on phone bills. Does not apply to
115-103) wireless. $0.10 per use tax wireless.

month per access line is
imposed on local
telephone service 1o
fund the Colorado
Disabled Telephone
User's Fund. (40-17-
101)
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PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

| SALES/USE TAX I
WA 0: sales tax Is levi . las of langible 0| y 36 flodi g
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Connecticut 9.5% (Conn. Gen. St. § | 6% (Conn. Gen. St. §§ 12- Yes (Conn. Gen. St. §§ 12|None
12-214) 407, 408, 411) 407, 408)
Delaware 8.7% (Del. Tit. 30 § None N/A None

1902)

District of Columbia

9.975% (D.C. Code §
47-1807)

5.75% (D.C. Code §§ 47-
2001, 2002, 2202, 2206;
D.C. Reg. 476.1)

No (D.C. Law No. 12-100,
Laws 1998, effective April
30, 1998; D.C. Act No. 12-
276, Laws 1998, approved
January 26, 1998,
effective after a 30-day
Congressional review
period)

10% of gross receipts from the
provision of telecom. services-
Mobile Telecommunications
Tax (D.C. Code §§ 47-3902, 43
1457)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

10

| Property Tax - |
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
Connecticut Centrally assessed by Connecticut Department of Revenue |5/10 of 1% of value (Conn. Gen. St. § 12[None
or the State Office of Policy and Management at 70% of 494)
FMV, imposed on tel. co's subject to sale tax pre-1990 or by
election, otherwise local assessment (Conn. Gen. St. §§ 12-
71, 12-80a)
Delaware Locally assessed 2% of value, unless counly imposes For domestic corp's only, where the

1/2%, then | 1/2% (Del. Tit. 30 § 5402)

corporation has over $10,000 shares
authorized, $90 for 1st 10,000 shares,
plus $50 for each additionai 10,000
(Del. Tit. 8 § 503)

District of Columbia

Assessed by the Mayor of the District of Columbia: for the
period October 1, 1997, through September 30, 1998, the
real property tax rates, per $100 of assessed value, are
$0.2400 for Class One Property, $0.3850 for Class Two
Property, $0.4625 for Class Three Property, $0.5375 for
Class Four Property, and $1.25 for Class Five Property. The
special real property tax rates, per $100 of assessed vaiue,
are $0.7200 for Class One Property, $1.155 for Class Two
Property, $1.3875 for Class Three Property, $1.6125 for
Class Four Property, and $3.75 for Class Five Property.
Effective retroactively to October 1, 1994, the personal
property of toll telecommunication companies is exempt from
personal property taxes (except for office equipment and
office furniture), regardless of whether the item is used or
consumed in the production of a taxable telecommunications
service. Effective retroactively to May 1, 1997, a similar
personal property exemption exists for wireless
telecommunication companies. (D.C. Code §§ 47-812, 47-
1508, 47-2501)

1.1% of value (D.C. Code § 47-903)

None
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Code §§ 47-3902); No PSC registration requirement for
cellular providers.

PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Connecticut None State administered fee of  |None
$0.50 per month per CMRS
connection. (Ct. Stat. Ann.
16-256q; 28-30a)
| Delaware: 60¢ per mile/year + 25¢/telephone transmitter furnished to  {None License fee for engaging in
customers (Del. Tit. 30 §§ 4101, 4102); 4.25% of taxable business $75 + $25/location; plus
sales price of wireless services (Del. Tit. 30 § 5502) a retailer license fee of .0075% of
aggregate gross receipts from
sale of goods and services (Del.
Tit. 30 § 2905)
District of Columbia 10% of gross charges -Toll Telecommunications Tax (D.C. |None None

"
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PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

12

STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Connecticut $50 (Conn. Gen. St.  |Does not apply to See sales & None
§§ 33-922, 33-617)  |wireless. Applies only to|use tax '
domestic telephone
providers with over
100,000 customers prior
to 1992. (C.G.S. 16-
256(b))
|Delaware $25 (domestic corp.  [None 2% (Del. Tit. 30|None
certificate .of §4302)
incorporation) (Del
Code §§ 8-101-104)
District of Columbia $150 (D.C. Code § 29-{None See sales & |Does not apply to wireless. Wireline pay application
399.22) use tax fee of $1,000; Carrier's share of subsidy based on

individual total revenue for local service during
previous year (D.C. Code §§ 43-1451, 1452, 1453)

©1998 PricewaterhouscCoopers 1L1P
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
) [ SALES/USE TAX ] B
I i ‘i‘N-Q’te: ' l evled ng&aes D A Ders | BS S 6 58.8peC 'n L,;Eﬂ}»,«,‘f’
STATE Corporate income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Florida 55% (Fla. St. Ann. § |6% (Fla. St. Ann. § 212.05){7% (Fla. St. Ann. §§ 2.5% of gross receipts from the
220.11) 203.012, 212.05, Rule 12A|provision of telecom. services
1.046) (Fla. St. Ann. § 203.01, Rule
12B-6.001)
Georgia 6% (Ga. St. § 48-7-21) 4% (Ga. St. §§ 48-8-30, 6) |Yes (Ga. St. §§ 48-8-30, |None
2; Ga. Reg § 560-12-2-
.24)
Hawaii 6.4% (Haw. Rev. St. § [4% (Haw. Rev. St. §§ 237- [No, as long as receipts are|None
235-71) 13, 238-2, 237-23 (telecom |subject to PSC tax (see
receipts subject to PSC tax |Public Utility Fee)
are exempt))
Idaho 8% (Idaho Code § 63- 5% (ldaho Code § 63-3619)|No None
13025)

©1998 PricewaterhouscCoopers LLP
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
Property Tax -
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
Florida Locally assessed 70¢ per $100 (Fla. St. Aan. § 201.02) None
Georgia Locally assessed $1 per $1,000 plus 10 cents per $100 Graduated from $10 to $5000
over the $1,000 (Ga. St. § 48-6-1) depending on net worth of the

domestic corp's or the apportioned
net worth of the foreign corp. (Ga. St.
§48-13-73)

Hawaii Locally assessed None None

Idaho $1 per $100 of assessed value; however, no state tax has Transfer fee only on polatoes None

been imposed since 1965.(Art. VIl, Sec. 9, ID Const.) “Public
utility" does not include mobile telephone service; See locally
assessed (ldaho Code § 286-63-201, 63-1313)

€1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers LLDP
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Florida Register w/ Dept. of Revenue (Fla. St. Ann. §§ 350.111, Locally administered 911 None
366.02, Rule 12B-6.0021, 12BER90-4(a)); No fee - see fee (FI. Stat. Ann. 365.171)
Gross Receipts Tax
Georgia N/A Locally administered fee None
imposed on wireless
providers. Max rate $1.50
per cellular telephone per
month. (Ga. Stat. Ann. 46-5
134)
Hawaii The greater of $30 or 0.0025% of gross income from the State administered fee does (None
public utility's business during the preceding year (Haw. Rev.|not apply to wireless
St. § 269-30); all gross income, both utility and nonutility, providers. (Hi. Stat. Ann.
should be used in computing the public utilities fee imposed |369-16.95)
by this section. (Op. Att'y Gen. No. 61-100 (1961)); Public
Service Co. ("PCS") tax is paid in lieu of property or excise
taxes, and ranges between 5.885% to 8.2% of a wireless
co's gross income, gross proceeds or value from intrastate
wireless services. The rate is determined by a ration of net
income to gross income and so varies depending on a
company's income. (Haw. Rev. St. § 239-5)
ldaho None Locally administered fee None

does not apply to wireless
providers (Id. St. Ann. 31-
4804)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Florida $35 (Fla. St. Ann. §  |Does not apply to See sales &  |Applies to wireless. Carrier's share of subsidy based
607.1503) wireless (Fla. Stat. Ann. use tax on individual gross operating revenues (not to exceed
427.703) 2.5%) during previous six months. If revenues are less
than $10,000, then no contribution is to be made.
(1997 FI. H.B. 3775)
Georgia $170 (Ga. St. § 14-2- |Does not apply to See sales & Does not apply to wireless providers (Ga. Stat. 46-5-
1503) wireless (Ga. Stat. Ann. |use tax 167)
46-4-30)
Hawaii $100 (Haw. Rev. St. §|Does not apply to See sales &  [Universal fund collections based on gross operating
415-110) wireless (Hi. Slat. Ann. luse tax revenues; All telecommunications carriers must
269-16.7) contribute to the program (Haw. Rev. St. § 269-42)
Idaho $100 (Idaho Code § |Does not apply to See sales & Does not apply to wireless. End user surcharge on
30-1-1501) wireless (Id. Stat. Ann.  |use tax local exchange service and MTS and WATS type

61-1306)

services. Charge is 6¢/month/line (residential
customers) and 14¢/month/line (business customers)
Monthly local exchange surcharge is a cents per line
charge (ldaho Code §§ 62-610, 62-603)

16
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
4 I SALES/USE TAX ]
___ i asadaNOt0: 82108 fax 18 levied on ihe sales of tangible personal pr 938, otfierwise specified I
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
llinois 7.3% (35 ILCS 201) 6.25% (35 ILCS 105/3-10  |Yes - 5%: Telecom Excise |Gross revenue tax (0.1% of
(use tax); 35 ILCS 110/3- |Tax (35 ILCS 630/3-4) gross revenue from the
10(service use tax);35 ILCS : provision of utility services) has
115/3-10; 35 ILCS 120/2-10 been held not to apply to
(sales tax) wireless providers (Chi. SMSA
Ltd. Psp. V. lllinois Commerce
Comm'n, No.3-96-0189,
10/16/96)
Indiana 7.9% (Ind. Code §§ 6-3- |5% (ind. Code §§ 6-2.5-2-1, |Yes None
2-1, 6-3-8-4.1) 6-2.5-1-2, 6-2.5-2-2, 6-2.5-3-
2, 6-2.5-3-3, 6-2.5-3-4)
lowa 12% (lowa Code § 5% (lowa Code §§ 422.43, |Yes (lowa Code § None
422.33.1) 423.2) 422.43(1))
Kansas 7.35% (Kan. St. Ann. § [4.9% (Kan. St. Ann. §§ 79- | (Kan. St. Ann. § 79-3603) [None
79-32.110) 3603, 3703)
Kentucky 8.25% (Ky. Rev. St.Ann. [6% (Ky. Rev. St.Ann. §§ None

§ 141.040)

139.200, 310)

17
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cash value; tax rate at 31.5¢ per $100 for real property and at
45¢ per $100 for all other property (Kentucky Revised
Statutes, Title IX, §§ 132.010, 132.190; Tangible Personal
Property Assessment Manual of Kentucky)

142.050)

PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
[ Property Tax -
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
lllinois Locally assessed 50¢ per $500 (11.Rev. St. ¢h. 35 § 1/10 of 1% on the paid-in capital ($25
200/31-10) minimum & $1,000,000 _
maximum)(il.Rev. St. ch. 805§
5/15.45)
Hrdrara Assessed by the State Board of Tax Commissioners at 1.2% of gross sales receipt (Inf. Bulletin |None
331/3% of true cash value; the state tax rate is limited to 1¢ |#47 (9-1-85), Ind. Codc 6-2.1-8-6)
on each $100 of valuation (P.L. 6, Laws 1997 §§ 6-1.1-18-2,
6-1.1-8-25)
lowa Locally assessed 80¢ per $500 (lowa Code § 428A.1) None
Kansas Locally assessed Mortgage registration fee of 0.26% off $1 for each $1,000 of the
principal debt (Kan. St. Ann. § 79-3102) |corppration’s shareholder's equity
attributable to Kansas ($20 minimum
& $2,500 maximum)(Kan. St. Ann. §§
17-7503, 7505)
Kentucky Assessed bt the Kentucky Revenue Cabinet at 100% of fair  [50¢ per $500 (Ky. Rev. St Ann. § 0.21%, or $2.10 for every $1,000 of

capital employed in the business in
the state ($30 minimum) (Ky. Rev.
St. Ann. § 136.070)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE

Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee

911 Fee (state admin.)

Bus. Occ./License Fee

lHlinois

0.1%: Gross Revenue Tax (li.Rev. St. ch. § 220, para. 5/2-
202)imposed on utilities, of which cellular providers may not
be included; See Chicago SMSA Ltd. Partnership v. Ili.
Commerce Comm., No. 3-96-0189 (10-16-96))

Locally administered
surcharge does not apply to
wireless providers (1. Stat.
Ch. 50 s. 750/15.3;
750/12.12)

None

0.15% (Ind. Code §§ 8-1-6-3, 8-1-6-4)

Locally administered
surcharge applies to
wireless providers (In. Stat.
Ann. 36-8-16-5; 36-8-16-3)

None

lowa

None

Locally administered
surcharge does not apply to
wireless providers (la. Stat.
Ann. 34A.2)

None

Kansas

None

Locally administered tax

does not apply to providers
of wireless services. (Kan.
St. Ann. §§ 12-5301, 5302)

None

Kentucky

For 1998 - 1999 year, $0.0018280 cent per dollar applied to
gross receipts of intrastate business, minimum fee of $50
(Ky.Rev, St.Ann. § 278.130; Letter, Kentucky Public Service
Commission, June 2, 1998))

Locally administered fee
does not apply to wireless
providers. (Ky. Stat. Ann.
65.760)

None
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
lilinois $75(805ILCS § None No 93¢/month (AT&T non-business customers) or 4.9% of
5/13.15) phone bill (AT&T business customers); Does not apply
to wireless carriers (220 ILCS §§ 5/13.301.1, 5/13.204,
5/13.206)
[tdiara— $90 (Ind. Code § 23-1 |Does not apply to See sales & |None
: 49-3) wireless (In. Stat. Ann. 8 |use tax
1-2.3-11)
lowa $100 (lowa Code § |None See sales & None
490.1503) use tax
Kansas $75 (Kan. St. Ann. § |None See sales & Rate is be equa! to the contributions of wireline
17-7301(b)) use tax telecommunications service providers reduced by the
% minutes of usage initiated and terminated entirely
over the wireless network (Kan. St. Ann. §§ 66-2002,
55-2008, 1997 KS S.B. 212) Kansas Universal
Service Fund applies to wireless providers, but has
been found fo violate the Telecommunications Act of
1996 by the Kansas Court of Appeals. (Ks. Stat. Ann.
66-2008, Citizens' Utility Ratepayer Board et. al. v. the
State Corporation Commission of Kansas, No. 78,548
(Kan. Ct. App. 1997).
Kentucky $90 (Ky. Rev. St. None See sales & |None
Ann. § 271B.15-030) use tax
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

| SALES/USE TAX i

.40 Noter sales tax | on th iblg arty, unless 0 R
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts

Louisiana 8% 3% on telecommunications {Yes. Cellular phone None.

services. 4% on tangible [services are subject to

personal property. La. Rev. [sales and use tax. La.

Stat. §§47:302(A), 47-331, |Rev. Stat. Ann. §

51-1286, 39-2006. 47:301(14Xii).
Maine 8.93% 6% however, excess Yes. Maine taxes a None.

revenue provision applies of jcellular company's

current year revenues receipts from providing

exceed prior year revenues |telephone or telegraph

by 8% in which case, rate is |service. Service

5.5%. Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. }originating or terminating

Tit. §1811, 1861. outside the state is not

taxable. Me. Rev. Stat.
Ann. Tit. 36, § 1752(18-B).

Maryland 7% 5%. MD. Tax. Code Ann. |Yes. Maryland imposes |The franchise tax on ulilities is

§11-104(a), 11-101(k).

sales and use tax on
cellular telephone or other
mobile
telecommunications
services. MD. Tax Code
Ann. § 11-101(k).

imposed at a rate of 2% of
gross receipts derived from
business in Maryland. MD.
Stat. §8-403.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
Property Tax -
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
Louisiana Locally assessed Louisiana does not impose a transfer |b
tax.
Maine Just value of personal property assessed by The State Tax [Maine imposes a transfer tax at the |No.
Assessor, taxed at 27 mills of just value. rate of $2.20 per $500 paid by each
Telecommunications property subject to this tax continues to |party. ’
be exempt from ordinary local property taxation. (Me. Rev.
Stat. Ann. Tit. 36 § 457, 458)
Maryland Assessed by the Department of Assessments and Taxation |[Maryland imposes a recordation tax [No

at 100% of its value (Tax-Prop. Art. §§ 8-103(3), 8-103(4), 8-
108, 8-109)

at the state level at the rate of .5% of
consideration paid.

©1998 PriccwaterhouseCoopers LLP



Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee

911 Fee (state admin.)

Bus. Occ./License Fee

No. Wireless corporations are not public utilities and
therefore do not pay a public utility fee tax. La. Rev. Stat.

§§47:358,; 45:1177. However, before engaging in business,

cellular communications providers must register with the
Louisiana Public Service Commission and pay a $250
application fee. General Order, Public Service Commission
(March 15, 1996). A supervision and inspection fee is
imposed on public utilities at graduated rates depending on
the gross receipts of the utility company. Wireless providers
are taking the position that this tax does not apply to them.

Fiaw. %

Locally administered 911
fee may be imposed on
wireless providers (La. Stat.
Ann. 33:9106)

None

St-Ang 454177
N BT 20ice Commission does not regulate
cellular companies.

State-wide E-911 system
not installed until 1999 or
2000. To aid in funding a
32¢ will be imposed on ali
telephone bills beginning in
August 1998. (“Maine Still
Awaiting Enhanced 911."
Bangor Daily News, 4/27/98)

None

PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Maryland does not regulate cellular companies.

State administered 911 fee
is imposed on wireless
providers at the rate of
$0.10 per wireless
subscriber per month. (Md.
Code 18-105)

None
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PCIA .
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Louisiana LARS §12:304, $50 |Not imposed on wireless 2% of monthly }None
{La. Stat. 1061) lease or rental
price paid by
lessee (R.S.
47:302)
Maine MARS § 1202, $180 |None See Sales None
Tax(M.R.S.A.
§§ 1752, 1811)
Maryland Ma St § 7-203, $6; None See Sales Tax |[Does not apply to wireless providers. Universal

(A.C.M. §§ 11-
101, 11-102)

service trust fund surcharge imposed at a maximum of
45 cents per month on bills rendered for switched local
exchange access in the state. (Md. State Finance and
Procurement Code, 3-807)
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
[ SALES/USE TAX
s Notei saleg tax s levied on the gales, argonal OCIN0G.7
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Massachusetts 9.50% 5%. Mass. Gen. L. Ch. Yes. Mass. Gen. L. ch, None
64H, §§2,4,5; Mass. Gen. L.[64H, § 1.
Ch. 641, §2.
Michigan 2.3% (single business  |6%. Mich. Stat. Ann. Yes. Mich. Stat. Ann. None.
tax) §§205.52, 205.93, §205.93a(a).
205.93(a).
Minnesota 9.80% 6.5%. Minn. Stat. Ann. Yes. Minn. Stat. Ann. § [None.

§297A.02, 297A.14.

297A.01(3X({).
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
( Property Tax - ]
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax
Massachusetts - Assessed by the Massachuselts Department of Revenue at |Massachusetts imposes a transfer  [No
: 100% of its fair cash value; The tax rate is equal to the tax on the entire consideration paid at
average of the annual rates for three years preceding that in |the rate of $4.56 per $1000.
which the assessment is made upon property as returned by |
the assessors of the several towns, plus an additional 14%
surtax. (Ch. 59, Sec. 2A, 5, 39;Ch. 684, Sec. 89; Ch. 63, Sec.
55; Ch. 63, Sec. 58)
Michigan Locally assessed Michigan imposes a transfer tax on  |No
fair market value of property
transferred at the rate of $3.75 per
$500.
Minnesota Locally assessed When transfers are made pursuant to |No.

mergers, consolidations, sales or
transfers of substantially

all of the assets of corporations
pursuant to plans of reorganization or
there is no consideration or when the
consideration, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining
thereon at the time of sale, is $500 or
less, the tax is $1.65. When the
consideration, exclusive of the value
of any lien or encumbrance remaining
thereon at the time of sale, exceeds
$500, the tax is $1.65 plus $1.65 for
each additional $500 or fraction of
that amount. Minn. Stat. § 287.21.
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PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE

Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee

911 Fee (state admin.)

Bus. Occ./License Fee

Massachusetts Massachusetts deregulated cellular telecommunications None - service is funded by |None
services in August, 1994, Department of Public Utilities 94- |fees charged to consumers
73. who use local telephone
company's 411 telephone
directory service. ("Enhance
911 On Way After Years of
Bickering," The Patriot
Ledger, 2/13/97)
Michigan The Michigan PSC does not have authority over providers of |Locally administered 911; |None
cellular services. Mich. Stat. Ann, §484.2401. currently, fee does not apply
to wireless providers (Mi.
Stat. Ann. 484.1102)
Minnesota Celiular providers are not regulated under the Minnesota State administered 911 fee {None

PSC and are not required to register with the PSC upon
commencing operations.

applies to wireless providers
and is imposed at a rate of
up to $0.30 per month per
access line or wireless
phone. Additional E-911 fee
of X per month is also
imposed on wireless
carriers. (Mn. Stat. Ann.
403.11, 403.13)
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STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

28

STATE Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Massachusells MAGL §4, $300 None See Sales Tax |None
(64 G.LM. §§
1,2)
ichigan MCL § 450.2015, $10 |None See Sales None
Tax(M.C.L. §§
205.51, 205.93)
Minnesota MI St § 303.06, $150 |[Does not apply to See Sales Tax |None
wireless. Local (M.S. §§
telephone companies 297A.01,
must collect from each |297A.02)

subscriber a monthiy
surcharge of no more
than 10 cents per
customer access line,
including trunk
equivalents, to fund
telecommunication
access for
communication-impaired
persons. Minn. Stat.
§237.52.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
o ) | SALES/USE TAX } )
_ e Note: sales 1ax is Jevied on the sales of tangible pe /, unlesgGiharwise specified:® %
STATE Corporate Income State Rate Wireless Service Gross Receipts
Mississippi 5% 7%. Miss. Code Ann. §§27-|Yes. Miss. Code Ann. § 27)None.
65-17; 27-65-19. 65-19.
Missouri 6.25% 4.225%. Mo. Rev. Stat. Yes. Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ None.

§§144.020.1, 144.610.1;
Art. IV Mo. Const. §§43, 47.

144.010.1(8)c;
144.020.1(4)
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PCIA-
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
[ Property Tax -
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Mississippi Locally assessed Tax is levied upon the filing and Yes. $2.50 per $1,000 of domestic
recording of every lease and other  |and foreign book value of capital
writing which creates a consisting of capital stock, surplus,
leasehold interest in and to any and undivided profits, employed in
nonproducing oil, gas or other state.
minerals that may be produced from
lands situated within the state.

Missouri Locally assessed Missouri does not impose a transfer |Yes. 1/20 of 1% (50% per $100 or

tax at the state, county or city level.

.05%) of domestic and foreign-
proportion of par value of outstanding
shares and surplus in excess of
$200,000 representing property and
assets in Missouri.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Mississippi Mississippi does not regulate cellular providers. However, lLocally administered 911 None
Mississippi requires certification and tariffs to be filed with  {fee applies to wireless
the PSC for informational purposes only. in addition, carriers (Ms. Stat. Ann. 19-5
Mississippi imposes a tax on all public utilities whose rates  |303)
are subject to regulation by the PSC or whose utility services
are electrical in nature in order to pay for the administration
and enforcement activities of the PSC. The rate is .00164%
of annual gross receipts from intrastate operations. It is
unclear whether cellular providers are subject to the
assessment
Missouri Missouri PSC does not regulate cellular communications Locally administered 911 None

providers.

fee does not apply to
wireless (Mo. Stat. Ann.
190.305)
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PCIA

STATE TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE

32

Inc./Reg. Fee TDD/TDS Fee Lease Tax Universal Service Fund
Mississippi Miss St § 70-4-15.03, {Does not apply to 7% gross None
$500 wireless. Applies only tofincome of
tocal exchange carriers. {renting or
(Ms. Stat. Ann. 77-3- leasing
507) personal
property used
within state
(M.C. § 27-65-
23)
Missouri Mo Code § 351.576, |Does not apply to See Sales Tax |Missouri USF Surcharge applies o wireless providers.
$150 wireless providers (Mo. [(M.R.S. § M.R.S. § 392.48; 4 CSR 240.31.010 Rates not
Stat. Ann. 209.255) 144.020(8)) eslablished.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
| SALES/USE TAX
STATE Corporate Income T State Rate ereless Servnce Gross Recelpts )
Montana 6.75% There is no state sales/use |No. There is a utilities tax on
tax in Montana. telephone companies (including
cellular) imposed at the rate of
1.8% on sums over $250
quarterly. M.C.A. 15-51-101.
Nebraska 7.81% 5%. Neb. Rev. Stat. §77-  |Although "cellular None.

2701.02.

services” are not
specifically included in the
statutes, regulations, or
rulings, informal
conversations with
Department of Revenue
officials suggest that they
are taxable.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
Property Tax - ]
STATE Centrally Assessed? Rec./Transfer Franch. Tax/Cap. Stk. Tax

Montana Assessed by Montana Department of Revenue at 100% of its { There is no real estate transfer tax in {No

market value (Mont. Code Ann. § 15-1-101, 15-8-111, 15-23- }Montana.

303)
Nebraska Assessed by Nebraska Properly Tax Administrator at 100% |A transfer tax is imposed on the full |Yes. Graduated from $13 for $10,000

of fair market value (Neb. Rev. St. §§ 77-103, 105, 119, 801)

actual consideration paid and is
imposed upon the grantor executing
the deed upon the privilege of
transferring beneficial interest in or
legal title to real estate. Neb. §76-
901. The rate is $1.75 per $1,000 of
value. (0.00175) Neb. §76-901.

or less based on domestic paid up
capital stock, and foreign capital
employed in Nebraska, to $11,995 for
over $100 million. Foreign
corporations pay double; maximum,
$15,000.
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PCIA
STATE TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE Public Utility Fee/Regulatory Fee 911 Fee (state admin.) Bus. Occ./License Fee
Montana Cellular providers are not regulated under the Montana PSC {$0.50 per month per access [ The telephone company license
and are not required to register with the PSC upon line or wireless telephone. |tax is imposed on a cellular
commencing operations. Mont. Code Ann. § 69-3-803(3).  |(For basic 9-1-1 services, a |telecommunications company's

fee of 25¢ per month per gross income derived from
access line is imposed on  |intrastate business. Mont. Code
the amount charged each  |Ann. § 15-53-101; Mont. Admin.
service subscriber in the R. §42.31.501(4).See "Gross
state for telephone Receipts" Column
exchange access services,
wireless telephone service,
or other 9-1-1 accessible
services. For enhanced 9-1-
1 services, a fee of 25¢ per
month per access line is
imposed on the same
services that are subject to
the basic 9-1-1 services fee)
(MCA 10-4-201).

Nebraska Cellular providers are not regulated under the Nebraska PSClLocally administered. Does |None

and are not required to register with the PSC upon
commencing operations. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 86-808.

not apply to wireless. Max
rate $1 per access line per
month. (Ne. Stat. Ann. 86-
1003)
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