PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

AnlennélPormit Fee

Miscellaneous

Missouri

St. Louis

St. Louis

Montana

Yellowstone

Billings

Nebraska

Lancaster

$2.50 for each additional $1000 in value, up o
$50,000, and $2 for each additional $1000 in value
over $50000.

Development permit fee: S100-$i50. additional fee
for plan review and building permits are $26.50, plus

S

44
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
[ SALES/USE TAX }
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None, but see Business B 1.5% on gross receipls from the retail  |None
Occupation License Tax sale of intrastate lelecom services,
ncluding wireless services that are billed
“|to a billing address in the city (Ne. St. §
Lincoln| | 77-2702)
Nevada 3 : :
None 5% on receipts from the sale of
tangible personal property within the
county, including: 2.5% school support |:
tax, 2.5% county/city relief tax, and
0.5% development/tourism tax.
However, because local taxes are
administered by the state, the rate
paid on sales within the county is
really 7% (2% slate sales tax) (Nev.
Rev. St. §§ 374.110, 374.190,
377.040, 377.020, 377A.020,
376A.040)
Clark
None
Las Vegas
New Hampshire i
Rockingham None
Portsmouth|
New Jersey s
Bergen None
None
Newark|
New Mexico S
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) I |
STATE (LOCALITY)‘%, } Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utllity User Fee
None Yes None None
Lincoln
INevada 0 pemmmmmmeesESedl P e e i e U e R e R B e T R L A e

A number of special district and |No
school support taxes are
imposed and incorporated into
the 7% state/county rate.

Clark : R :
None No None, but see Business Occupation License Tax |None
Las Vegas;
New Hampshira .
Rockingham - : - ST
No None
Portsmouth|
New Jersey : e
. Bergen S i
None No None None
Newark
New Mexico
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX I
i Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
N/A N/A 3.8% of the net income from all [The Emergency Telephone
business conducted within the {Communications Surcharge does not apply
city. Specifically applies to to cellular companies. (Ne. Stat. Ann. 86-
telecom and mobile carriers 1003)
Lincol
Nevada : 2 B R : SR : : P e B A SIS
Since cellular companies are not intercounty in The Nevada Constitution exempts from Telecom utilities pay 1% of None
nature, Nevada locally assesses the property of |property tax shares of stock, bonds, gross revenue from services
cellular companies. The State Public Service morigages, notes, bank shares, bank provided to customers in
Commission issues two licenses to operate a deposits, book accounts, credits, and unincorporated areas of the
cellular company in each county. Their property is|securities. Nevada Conslitution, Article 10, |county
locally assessed in the county where the company|Section 1. However, included in the taxable
has a license o operate. property of a cellular company is the value
of any franchise of the company. Nevada
Revised Statutes, Section 361.320.
Clark
N/A N/A Telecom utilities pay to the city, |None
semi-annually, 5% of gross
revenue from business
Las Vegas conducted within the city
New Hampshire O o S
Rockingham N/A N/A N/A
in general, real property is locally assessed by the | There is no statute that specifically exempts [N/A
fown assessor in the jurisdiction where the intangible personal property from property
property is located. New Hampshire RSA, Section|tax. However, the New Hampshire property
73:10. tax system applies only to real property.
Portsmouth) New Hampshire RSA, Section Chapter 72 el
New Jersey S i : _ i
Bergen N/A NIA NIA None
Real property is assessed at its true full and fair  |intangible personal property is not subject to[N/A None

Newark|

value. Full and fair value of property is defined as
the price that the properly would seli at a bona
fide sale. Real property is assessed by the local
taxing district where the property is situated. The
Business Retention Act exciudes from taxation
machinery, apparatus, and equipment which are
not fixtures. N.J. Stat. Ann, §§ 54:4-23, 54:4-1.13
- 1.15 (1997).

property tax in New Jersey. N.J. Stal. Ann.
§ 54:4-1 (West 1997).

New Mexico
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Lincoln| :

Nevada

Clark

- |Public utilities

utilizing the public
right of way in
unincorporated
areas of the county
pay 2% of gross
revenue derived
from services
provided to

‘fcustomers within
‘[these

unincorporated

“{areas.

Las Vegas :

New Hampshire

Rockingham

Portsmouthy

New Jersey

Bergen

Newark|

In Ringwood, three towers on p.rivale properly were
leased to Bell Attantic for $20000 per year for 20

years.

New Mexico

48

Y98 PrcewaterthouseC oopars TEP



PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
I SALES/USE TAX

' STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate Income Tax County City School District
None 0.375% on gross receipts from sales i : : e
of tangible personal property and
telecom services ihat originate or
terminate in the state and are charged
to a service address in the county (for
all counly areas that do not include a
city sales tax) (N.M. St. Ann. § 7-18D-
Bernadilio 9)

None : 1.063% on gross receipts from sales of {None
tangible personal property and telecom
services that originate or terminate in the|
state and are charged 1o a service
address in the city (N.M. S1. Ann. § 7-
19D-9)

Albuquerque
New York i
None (Although a number of counties
are authorized to levy sales taxes of
up to 4% on the sales of tangible
personal property and telecom
services)
New York

New York City|

Generally, 8.85% of entire
net income allocaled to
NYC, plus a tax on
subsidiary capital allocated
to New York City. Public
Utilities subject to the
public utility gross receipts

income tax; however,
vendors of utility services
are not. NY State takes
the position that wireless
telecom providers are
“public utilities "

tax are exempt from the net| -

' |14% on sales of tangible personal

property and telecom services that
originale and terminate in the state and
are charged to a service address in the
city (NYC Admin. Code §§ 11-2002)
Cities may only enact a sales/use tax
when the county in which it is localed
has not imposed such a tax.

None (Although a number
of school districts are
authorized lo impose a
sales/use tax of up to
3.25%, resulting in a tolal
state, county, city, MCTD &
school district rate of up to
11.5% on sales of tangible
personal property and
telecom servicas (The total
rate of tax in GlenCove is
11.5%, in Albany is 11%
and in Long Beach is
11.5%.)

North Carolina

49
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)

T

' STATE (LOCALITY) ©

Special District

Wireless Service

Gross Receipts

50

Utility User Fee

Bernadilio

v ]Yes

:|None

Albuquerque|

None

Yes

None

None

New York

New York

None

The Metropolitan Commuter
Transportation District ("MCTD")
is a state fevel tax levied in only
a few localities, Including New
York City.

Yes

2.35% of the monthly gross income of utilities, or
monthly gross operaling income of vendors of
utility services, from intracity sales made or
services rendered within New York City (NYC
Admin. Code § 11-1102; NY General City Law §
20-b) (NY State takes the position that wireless
telecom companies are “public ulilities.”) Local
utility taxes are limited to gross income or gross
operating income from ulility services provided
entirely within the locality (i.e., telephone calls
must originate and terminate in the city for the tax
to apply.) Currently, all other cities in NY impose a
utility tax of 1% on the gross income or gross
operating income from sales of utility services
within the respective city, except the cily of
Sherril, which does not levy a utility tax, and
Buffalo, Rochester and Yonkers, which impose a
3% tax. (NY General City Law § 20-b)

North Carolina

New York City
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX 1
i N Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) T Wireless Locally Assessed? intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The Taxation and Revenue Department is Intangible property is not subject to N/A None
responsible for valuing property subject to valuation or taxation under the Property Tax
property tax and used in the conduct of railroads, |Code because it is not within the definilion
communications systems, pipelines, public of “property” found in Section 7-35-2. Tax is
utilities, and airlines (Sec. 7-36-2, NMSA 1978. ).Alimposed only on
local county assessor has the responsibility for “property”. 3 NMAC 6.5.21.7.
assessing all other property within a county.
Bernadilio
N/A N/A N/A Nonse
Albuquerque|

New York i e R . R R i :
The counties, although technically the principal The New York State N/A None
local taxing units, operate under the town system {the state from subjecting intangible personal
with cities, towns, villages, and school and special |property to an ad valorem tax. However, a
districts having independent powers of taxation for|lax may be assessed on a special franchise
their own purposes. Local assessors are which is an inlangible right lo operate in a
responsible for valuing utility property on privately |public way. N.Y. Const. art. XVi, § 3. N.Y.
owned rights of way, as well as real property Real Prop. Tax Law § 300. N.Y. Real Prop.
within their jurisdiction. 4 Op. Counsel SBEA No. |Tax Law § 102(17).

New York 89.; N.Y. Real Prop. Tax Law § 624.

N/A N/A N/A None

North Carolina

New York City|
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Antenna/Permit Fee

Miscellaneous

Bernadillo

Albuquerquel:

New York

New York

New York City

Tower sites in NYC lease for $. per year. In
Niagra, towers in industrial zones lease for $25000 per,
tower, plus $100 lor each additional foot in excess of
150 feet. In Depew, a tower application review is
$1500, anlenna placement is $500, and an antenna
application review is $500.

North Carolina

§2
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
| SALES/USE TAX ||
STATE (LOCALITY) © - ‘ Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None : L 2% on sales of tangible personal : :
property and certain service (does not
include telecom services) (NC Gen St.
§§ 105-463, 464, 480, 481, 482, 483,
495, 496, 497, 498)
Davidson i : .
None =+ |None None
Greensborol
North Dakota o L L
None None
Burleigh : : . :
None 1% on intracity sales of communication |[None
services that originate or lerminate in the
city and are billed 1o a billing address
therein (ND Cent. Code § 40-05.1-06
Bismark
Ohio L
None
Additional Tax) on sales of {angible
personal property and telecom
services that originate or terminate in
the county and are charged to a billing
address therein (Ohio Rev. Code Ann. |
Cuyahoga County §§ 305.31, 5739.021, 5739.026)
Rates in Ohio range from ERR B None
1/4% 10 2 1/2%. The city of
Cleveland imposes tax rate
of 2% of a corp’s net profits
derived from activities
Clevelang] Within the city.
Oklahoma e

IO PrcewatethoaseC vopers 111




54

PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) |
STATE (LOCAI.IT!i Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utllity User Fee
No
Davidson :
None No
Greensboro}
North Dakota
Burleigh :
None Yes None None
Bismark|
o B s B I O O e e o R
. {Yes one
Cuyahoga County
No None None
Claveland,
QOklahoma
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX ]
. SR e Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) -~ Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The assessed value of public service company Eftective for tax years beginning 7/1/97, all JN/A Cellular surcharge of S8¢/month; Proposed
system property is determined by applying a intangible personal property other than 80¢ monthly surcharge (o be added to ail
percentage established by the Department of leasehold lwireless customers' bills, starting no sooner
Revenue 0 the allocation of such value to each  |interests in exempled real properly is than Oct. 1 (Proposal Calls For Surcharge
county. Included in the definition of public service |exempt from property tax. For prior tax to Cover Wireless 911 Service,” The News
company are telephone companies and any other |years, only accounts receivables, bonds, & Observer Raleigh, NC, 8/19/98); Fee in
company providing a public service that is stock, and equitable interests in trust funds Pender County is 99¢ine/month ("Phone
regulated by the FCC. G.S. §§ 105-284, 105- are exempt. G.S. § 105-275(31) Fee Foots Bil to Upgrade Pender's 911,°
333(14), 105-335. Moming Star - Wilmington, N.C., 3/28/98)
Davidson (NC Stat. Ann. 62A-5)
N/A N/A N/A None
Greensboro)
North Dakola i i IR CHhETaLE T : L s G
See State Assessment The intangible personal property of a N/A Does not apply lo wireless services
cellular company is valued and taxed along
with the tangible personal properly. ND ST
Burteigh 57-02-05.1.
N/A N/A N/A None
Bismark|
Ohio R R e T i G e S SR
The taxes on intangible property have been |N/A Does not apply to wireless services
annual returns is assessed by county auditors, but|repealed, with the exception of the tax on
the Tax Commissioner assesses the tangible dealers in intangibles, beginning with the
personal property of taxpayers who own taxable |1986 return year. Rule 5703-3-23, Ohio
property in more than one county and the property|Admin. Code.
of public utilities. Providers of cellular radio service|
Cuyahoga County are not "public utilities.” Sec. 5727.01.
N/A N/A N/A Does not apply 10 wireless services
Cleveland
Oklahoma . i
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
" STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fes Miscellaneous
Davidson : RN
In Garner, a town property lease for placement of
Greensboro] SPrint towers requires $400 per month for 30 years.
North Dakota
Burleigh
Bismark
Ohio
Cuyahoga County
Cleveland| -
Oklahoma foomoc om0 e

56
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
l SALES/USE TAX N
STATE (LOCALITY) T Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None 1% on gross receipts from sales of
tangible personal property and
telecom services that originate or
terminate in the county (Okla. St. tit.
68 § 2701)
McClain w
None 3.875% on gross receipts from sales ol
tangible personal property and telecom
services that originate or terminate in the,
city (Okla. St. tit. 68 § 2701)
Oklahoma
Oregon_ e
None
Washington
None
Portland|
Pennsylvania G T e :
None None, although Atlegheny county may
impose a sales tax at a rate of 1%.
Phitadelphia —
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
Yes :
McClain : :
None Yes None None
Oklahoma
Oregon 5
None
Washinglon ] i e T L T e P
Nona
Portland
Pennsylvania e 1
i |None

Philadeiphia
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX |
T Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
N/A N/A N/A Does not apply to wiraless services
McClain

Pursuant to the statutory definition, Oklahoma no [Generally, the state exempls intangibles N/A None (See "Cities Can't Charge 911
{longer considers cellular communications from taxation. Okla. Const. art. 10, § 6A, Callular Fees," Tulsa World, 7/4/97)
companies as public service corporations and

consequently, the State Board of Equalization can

no longer assesses their property. U.S. Cellular v.

State Board of Equalization, Case No. CJ-95-

05386, Southwestern Bell Mobile Systems, Inc. v.

State Board of Equalization, Case No. CJ-95-788-

Oklahoma|57-
All property not assessed by the Department of | With limited exceptions, intangible personal |N/A Does not apply to wireless services
Revenue, such as non-operating property, is properly of a pubiic utility company is
d by the or of the county in which  |subject to property taxation. Or. Rev. Stat.
such property is situated. Or. Rev. Stal. § § 308.510(1).
Washington 308.517(5). )

N/A N/A Telecom public utilities must Telephone excise lax applies on a per
pay a license tax of 3% of gross|instrument basis at the rate of 75 cents per
revenue from the provision of  Imonth for telecom services with access to
intracity telecom services. (Or. {E-911. Or. Rev. Stat. 32, ch. 401 §10(1).
Rev. St. § 7.14.010; 40)

Portland
Pennsylvania bR s < A e T U sl e -

Real property localed in Pennsylvania is focally  [Local jurisdictions N/A Does not apply to wireless providers. (

lassessed where the property is located. Counties, |intangible personal property owned by P£.S. §7012.) County imposes a

cities, boroughs, townships, and school districts  |domestic corporations. However, 7T4¢/month/local exchange access line

may impose a real property tax. intangible corporations that conduct business in surcharge ("Ringing 911 Could Mean

personal property is also subject to local taxation {Pennsylvania, but who are not residents, Ringing Down,” Pittsburgh Post-Gazette,

and is taxable at the residence of the owner. The |are not subject to personal property tax. Pa. 7/15/98)

domicile for corporations is at the state of Stat. Ann. tit. 72, § 5020-507(1913).

incorporation. The slate ciassifies the different

countigs into eight different classes depending on

the size of the county. Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 72, §§

. 5020-402, 5020-507(1995).
Philadelphia
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE (LOCALITY) Antennal/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
McClain B B B
In Edmond, Western Wireless leases city property for
its antenna and tower sites for a total of $70000.
Oklahoma|
Oregon
Washington
Portland|
Pennsylvania L S RIS ]
Washingtlon County will rents county propertly to AT&T
for placement of its cellular equipment for either $5000
per year or lor $500 per month. The exact rate
remains lo be decided.
Philadelphia

199 Pricesamerthouset vopers 1P
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

| SALES/USE TAX |

STATE (LOCALITY) * ) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City Schoo! District
) None, bul see Business o ; : o 1% on sales of langible personal None

Occupation License Tax property and telecom services that are

harges 10 a service address in lhe city

1(Phil. Code § 19-2701) (Currently, no

ther city imposes a sales tax)

Phitadelphia

Rhode Island

Providence

Providence;

South Caroliné

property and communication services
made to customers within the county
(S.C. Code § 4-10-30)

Pickens
GreenvillejNone
South Dakota g
None
Minnehaha : o : :
None 2% on sales of tangible personal None
‘| property and communication services
made to customers within the city (S.0.
- |Codified Laws Ann. § 10-52-2, 10-52-
12.4, 10-52-3) :
|
Sloux Falls ‘ ' L )

Tennessee

V1998 PricewaterhouseCoopers [P
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) §
i STATE (LOCALer) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utllity User Fee
None Yes None None
Philadelphial
Rhods Island
Providence
Providence,
South Carolina
Pickens
Greenville|None No None None
South Dakota g 8
Minnehaha
None Yes None None
Sioux Falls|
Tennassee B
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX ]
L Lo Business Occupation and
-~ STATE (LOCALITY) ° Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 811 Fee (locally administered)
See above See above Telecom companies doing None
business in Philadelphia must
pay a business privilege tax of 3
mills per dollar of annual
receipts and 6.25% of net
income (Phil. Code § 19-
' 2604(5))
Philadelphia
Rhode Island LI k
See Slate Assessment intangible property is exempt from ad NI/A None
Providence valorem taxation.
N/A N/A N/A None
Providence|

South Carolina

The ultimate responsibility for valuation vesls with
the Department of Revenue. The Department

value of reat and personal property of cellular

also has the sole responsibility for determining the

telephone service providers. S.C. Code Ann. § 12

Intangible personal properly owned by
cellular telecommunications companies is
exempt from properly {axation in South
Carolina. Intangible personal property is not
defined in South Carolina, but is generaily

NIA

Does f;ol apply to .wiréless sarvices

37-520 any property that has no intrinsic marketable
value, but is representative of value instead.
S.C. Constitution Art. X § 3(j)
Pickens
Greenville] N/A N/A NIA
South Dakota S Sain 5 e B R T
N/A N/A Not to exceed 75¢ month/cuslomer
laccount (S.D. Stat. Ann. 34-45-4) Effective!
through June 30, 1999, any county not
collecting the charge must remit 1o the
South Dakota co-ordination fund an
amount equal to 1¢ per month per celiular
customer (S.D. Stat. Ann. 34-45-4.1)
Minnghaha

personal properly used in the operation and
maintenance of telephone lines. Because cellular

a wireless provider, they are only subject to local
lassessment on their real property. Western
Wireless Corporation v. South Dakota Dep't of

Revenue, Civ. No. 96-384 (July 22, 1997, 6th

South Dakota centrally assesses only the rea!l and

telephone companies do not own such property as|

There is no statutory provision exempting
intangible property from tax. However,
property taxes only apply to real and
tangible personal property. S.D. Codified
Laws § 10-4-2; S.D. Codified Laws § 10-4-
2.2

N/A

None

Tenr

Sioux Falls|ryqs )
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Philadelphial:
Rhode Isiand
Providence :
Providence is leasing a water tower to Omnipoint for
placement of a cellular antenna. The lease terms
require $18000 in the first year, with a 2.5% in each of
Providence the next four years.
South Carolina
Pickens
Greenville
South Dakota
Minnehaha
Sioux Falls|
Tennessee

64
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
L SALES/USE TAX |
STATE (LOCAUTY) Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None . L : :12.75% on sales of langible personal B RER 2 :
‘|property and lelecom services
: originating and terminaling in the state
:|and charged to a service address in
{the county (Yenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-
702)
Lake 3 5 i |
None lone, although some cities do levy a
sales/use tax. The combined city/county
“{rate may not exceed 2.75%
Nashville]
Texas
Dallas : :
None -}1% on sales of tangible personal
property and telecom services that
_|originate within the city or are charged to
_1a billing address in the city (Tex. Tax
Dallas| :|Code Ann. §§ 323.101, 322.102,
Utah - ] 32 2 T +08: REEAAHE 55 85445}
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) |
R
STATE (LOCALITY) - Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
Yes : i
Lake : =
Yes None None
Nashville|
Texas
Dallas L $ : : L :
1% on sales of tangible Generally yes None None
|personal property and lelecom
services that originate within the
dislrict or are charged to a
DallasLb'"mg address in the district
Utah
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX |
. ot e b Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) * """ Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The term “public utility” does nol include domestic jinlangible personal property is defined NIA Claibomne county surcharge (‘96 state
public cellular radio telephone service. broadly as all personai property not defined maximum) of 65¢ for residential customers
Nonetheless, the Comptroller of the Treasury as langible personal property. It includes and $2 for businesses (“Funding Running
assesses cellular communications providers as | personal property, such as money, any Out for E-911 in Claiborne,” The Knoxville
public utilities. However, the assessment ratio evidence of debt owed to a taxpayer, any News-Sentinel, 4/2/97) (Tn. Stat. Ann. 7-86
used for celtular property is not the same as that |evidence of ownership in a corporation or 103); Currently, no fee is imposed on
of public utilities. Operating property which is other business organization having mulliple cellular users, although the Knoxville-Knox
used predominantly to provide cellular lelephone jowners, and all other forms of property, the county boards voted in 1996 to impose the
service is assessed al the rate applicable to value of which is expressed in terms of what state maximum rates on cellular customers
commercial and industrial property of the same  |the property represents rather than its own (911 Cell Phone Fee Suit Mool,” The
type. Tenn. Code Ann. § 65-4-101(6). Tenn. intrinsic worth. Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-5- Knoxville News-Sentinel, 5/6/98)
Code Ann. § 67-5-1302(a){1). Non-operaling 501(5).
property is appraised annually and valued as
other locally assessed properly. Tenn. Code Ann,
Lake e s
51962 N/A N/A None
Nashville,
Texas B e T ol
All taxable property of a cellular telephone N/A None
company is appraised by appraisal districts the taxation of intangible personal property,
responsible for all the taxing units which typically {most intangible personal property is exempt
falt along county boundaries. Taxing units are from taxation. Intangible property cannot be
counties, cities or towns, school districts, and fell, measured, perceived by the senses and
special districts. Texas Tax Code, Section includes, but is not limited to stocks, bonds,
1.04(12), Section 25.01(a). licenses or permits, certificates of deposit,
insurance policies, and goodwill. Texas
Const. Art. Vill Section 1(c); Texas Tax
Code, Section 1.04(6); Texas Tax Code,
Section 11.02(a).
Dallas
See above See above None, imposition of business  |None
license taxes on lelecom
companies is expressly
prohibited
Dallas]
Utah
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
£ "STATE (LOCALITY) Antennal/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Lake
i
Nashville L ; :
Texas : l
Dallas ; R I : :
In Arlington, placement of antennas on city property is
$15000 annually for a 10 year period. In Roanoke,
placement of an antenna on a city waler lower is $800
per month.
Dallas
Utah R R B §
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
l SALES/USE TAX ]
STATE (LOCAL!TY.)FA Corporate Income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None 1.35% (6.225% combined rate -
4.875% state) on sales of tangible
personal property and intrastale
telecom services charged to a billing
address in the county (Utah Code Ann }:
§§ 59-12-204, 205)
SatLake | pesddmeodESaddammaenanad 0 bemEsaamsen iR e s e b
None
Salt Lake
Vermont B
None
Chittenden
- Burlington|
Virginia ]
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX {cont'd) ]
STATE (‘LOCALITY) Speclal District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
Salt Lake : fie
None Yes None None

Salt Lake|

Vermont CEEEERARE R b ] Y s R B R e s | R S T e
Chittenden o e

Burlington|None None None None

Virginia ot L
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PCIA

LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

PROPERTY TAX

_l

STATE (LOCALITY)

Wireless Locally Assessed?

Intangibles

Business Occupation and
License Tax

n

911 Fee (focally administered)

Salt Lake

The Utah State Tax Commission cenirally
assesses the property of public utility companies.
Utah Code Ann., § 59-2-201. A cellular company
is a public utility. Utah Code Ann., § 59-2-
102(21).

All real and tangible personal property of a cellular
telephone is assessed at 100% of its fair market
valua.

County assessors appraise and assess on a
separate basis all non-operating public ulility
property that is not necessary to the conduct of
the business and does not contribute to the
income of the business.

Salt Lake]

Intangible personal property is exempt from
property tax.

N/A

Wireless is state administered; however,
local surcharge of 50¢/month/line for local
exchange service ("Police Fesl Ambivalent
About 911 Alternative,” Desert News,
3/9/97)

Ulah Coda Aon.. § 59-2-201(3).
NIA

N/A

$70 per place of business in the
city + $6 per each full-time and
$3 per each part-time employee
exceeding one (S.C. Muni
Code) Persons engaged in
business in the city who do not
maintain a place of business
there pay a fee based on the
percentage of gross sales in the
cily relative to its sales

o

None

Vermont

Chittenden

In general, Vermont imposes a property tax on
real and tangible personal property located in the
state. Generally, the property lax is assessed
locally. Property used in the operation of a
telephone business, except land and buildings, is
exempt from local property taxation. Instead,
Vermont imposes a centrally assessed tax on the
net book value of all personal property tax owned
by telephone companies. In lieu of paying the
centrally assessed personal property tax, a
telephone company that is earning less than $50
million annually may choose to pay a tax on its
enlirg gross operating revenues.

Intangible property is not subject ot ptopeﬂy
1ax.

Burlington|

N/A

NIA

N/A

Virginia
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

" STATE (LOCALITY)

Miscellaneous

Sait Lake

Salt Lake]

Lease of a tower site on Sandal City property is
$11000 per year.

Vermont

Chittenden

Virginia

Burlington|

72
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY)

Corporate income Tax

Sales/Use

73

SALESI/USE TAX

County

City

School District

Prince William

None

1% on sales of tangible personal
property within the county {(no tax on
telecom services) (Va. Code Ann. §
58.1-605)

None

Washinglon

Norfolk|

None

King

2.1% on sales 6( tangible personal '

to a service address in the county
(0.5% county sales tax + 0.5%
additional county sales tax + 0.2%
county transit tax + 0.425% city sales
tax + 0.5% additional cily sales lax)
(Note: the additional county/city sales
tax is to compensate local government
lor losses from the phase-out of the
property tax on business inventories)

.4+ J(wash. Rev. Code § 82.14.030,
- 182.14.010, 82.04.050)

property and telecom services charged}
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)

STATE (LOCALITY) =~ '+

Special District

Wireless Service

Gross Recelpts

74

Utllity User Fee

Prince William

No

Any counly, city or town may impose a surcharge equal to 20% of a

.|not apply within the limits of any incorporated town located within such
-{provides police or fire protection, and water or sewer services, or (ii)
district under a towh school board of three members appointed by the

-|surcharge the consumer paid to a jurisdiction outside of the
: |Commonwealih; however, the amount of credit or refund shall not exceed

onsumer's monthly charges, if the consumer's address is located in the
county, city or town. The tax is limited to (i) the first $15 charged to each
residential consumer each month, and (ii) 10% of the first $30 of a mobile
customer’s monthly phone charge. Any county surcharge imposed shalt
county which town imposes a town surcharge, provided that such lown (i)

onstilules a special school district and is operated as a special school
town council. Further, any consumer shail be entitled to a refund from the

ounty, city or town imposing the surcharge equal to the amount of any

the surcharge 'paid to the county, city or town on such purchase. {Va.

Norfolk|

None

No

Code Ann, 519 SR 1-3A12)
10% on the lirst $30 of a mobile cusiomer's monthly phone charge.

{Norfolk Commissioner's Office) The law reads as follows: any county,
cily or town may impose a surcharge equal to 20% of a consumer's
monthly charges, if the consumer's address is located in the county, city
or town. The tax is limited 1o (i) the first $15 charged to each residential
consumer each month, and (ii) 10% of the first $30 of a mobile
customer's monthly phone charge. Any county surcharge imposed shall
not apply withia the limits of any incorporated town located within such
county which town imposes a town surcharge, subject to certain
provisions. Further, any consumer shall be enlitled 1o a refund from the
county, cily or town imposing the surcharge equal to the amount of any
surcharge the consumer paid to a jurisdiction outside of the
Commonwealth; however, the amount of credit or refund shall not exceed
the surcharge paid lo the county, city or town on such purchase. (Va.

Washington

Code Ann, §§ 58.1-3812)

King

Yes
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX ]
L Ve Business Occupation and
‘- STATE (LOCALITY) " Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
The State Corporation Commission Division of Intangible personal property is currently N/A E-811 local exchange service monthly fees
Taxation assesses the real and personal property exempt from property tax. Virginia may range from $1.46 in Roanoke County
of all cellular telephone companies. The stale Constitution, Article X, Section 1; Virginia lo $2.00 in Bedford County. (C.S. Murphy,
makes no distinction in the assessment of Constitution, Article X, Section 6(a)(5); "County to Raise Fee for E-811," Roanoke
operating and non-operating property thus, it is all | Virginia Code, Section 58.1-1101c. Times & World News, Page B1 (Apr. 29,
assessed in the same manner. Virginia Code, 1998). Cellular fees imposed at state level.
Section 58.1-2633. (Va. Stat. Ann. 56-484.8, 56-484.10)
Prince William
N/A N/A N/A None
Norfolk

The county assessors value all non-operating In general, intangible property is exempl Locally administered 911 fee does apply to
property of cellular companies. Non-operaling  |from taxation. However, beginning with wireless. Maximum rate is 25¢ per month
property is property that is not reasonably assessments levied in 1998, intangibles will per radio access line. (Wash. Rev. Code
necessary, not used, or not available for use in be assessed only to the extent that licenses, Ann. §82.14B.030.)
the ordinary conduct of the company's business. |permits and franchises granled by a
Wash. Rev. Code, § 84.12.380; Wash. Rev. government agency alffect the use of the
Code, § 84.12.200(14). property, the valuation of which will be

treated through the application of generaity

accepled appraisal practices, e.g., FCC

licenses. Wash. Rev. Code, § 84.36.070.

King
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
" STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous
Prince William
per tower. Leases average between $600 per month
in rural areas of Virginia and $1200 per month in urban|
areas.
Norfolk|
Washington

King

76
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

* STATE (LOCALITY)

Corporats Income Tax

7

SALES/USE TAX

Sales/Use

County

City

School District

Seatlle]

None, but see Business
Occupation License Tax

-482.34.010,-862.04.050}

.1% on sales of tangible personal
property and telecom services charged
0 a service address in the city. Ifa

: lcounty has imposed a tax, a city in the

ounty may impose a tax of only
.425%. (0.5% county sales tax + 0.5%
dditional county sales tax + 0.2%
county transit tax + 0.425% city sales
ax + 0.5% additional city sales tax)
Note: the additional county/city sales

{tax is to compensate local government

for losses from the phase-out of the
property tax on business inventories)
Wash. Rev. Code § 82.14.030,

None

West Virginia

Kanawha

None

Charleston

None

Wisconsin

Milwaukee

None

0.6% on sales of tangible personal
:|property and telecom services that
‘{originate in the county (Wis. Const.
. |Art. 8 § 1; Wis. St. §§ 77.70, 77.705)

Milwaukee

None

None

Wyoming
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PCIA
LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd) |
- ' STATE (LOCALITY) : Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
None Yes None None
Seattle
Waesl Virginia
None
Kanawha
2% on gross amount charged to customers for ulility service (W. Va.
Code § 8-13-53)
Charleston
Wisconsin .: : : : "; L
1% Stadium Tax on sales of Yes
langible personal property and
telecom servicds that originate
in the district (Wis, Const. Art. 8,
§ 1, Wis. St. §§ 77.70, 77.705)
Milwaukee L
Milwaukee; .. None None None
Wyoming
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
PROPERTY TAX B
. Business Occupation and
STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
NIA N/A N/A None
Seattle

Waest Virginia B S : -

N/A N/A N/A Local E-911 lees are nol imposed on
cellular servica. Kanawha County imposes
a monthty fee of $1.25 on residential phone
customers and $2 on businesses. {Dawn
Mitler, "9 11 Fees Going Up in the Fal,” The
Charleston Gazelte, 6/27/97). Putnam
County imposes a monthly fee of $1.50.
(Tim Baker, "Commission Approves 911
Fee Increase,” The Milwaukee Journal
Sentinal, 7/2/97)

Kanawha

The non-operating real property of a utility is nol [W.Va. Const., Art. 10, § 1. Intangible N/A None

lassessed by the Board Of Public Works. It is the {personal property will be taxed at 50% for

responsibility of local assessors 1o appraise the {1998, 40% for 1999, 30% for 2000, 20% for

non-operating real property of a utility at fair 2001, 10% for 2002 and eliminated

market value. Real properly is revalued based on [completely for tax year 2004 and thereafter.

a three year cycle. W Va. Code § 11-6-24; W. Va |W. Va. Code § 11-5-3.

Code §11-1c-9(b).

Charleston)

Wisconsin R O R e : i i ;
Non-operating property of telephone companies |intangible property is exempt from taxation |N/A Does not apply lo wirciess services.
providing basic local exchange services and under Wisconsin law. Wis. Stat. § 70.112. Generally, counly surcharges range from
cellular communications companies is subject to $0.07 to $0.87 per month/iine. Milwaukee
local assessment until 1999, at which point the County monlhly surcharge is fixed by state
companies will pay a griss receipts tax in lieu of law at 25¢ per month/line. {Steven Walters,
focal property tax. Wis. Stat. § 70.05(1); Wis. Stal. "Phone Surcharges Pay Littie of 911
§76.38(8). Costs,” The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel,

Milwaukee Page 5 (July 2, 1997)).
Milwaukee|N/A N/A N/A None
Wyoming
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

STATE (LOCALITY) Antenna/Permit Fee Miscellaneous

Sealtle} :

West Virginia

Kanawha

H
i
i

Charleston| =

Wisconsin

Milwaukee

Milwaukee,

Wyoming
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX 1
STATE (LOCALITY) Corporate income Tax Sales/Use County City School District
None . |1% on sales of tangible personal R
propertly and telecom services charged|-.
{o a billing address in the county (Wyo.
St. §39-6-412)
Laramie

Casper]

None
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET
SALES/USE TAX (cont'd)
STATE (LOCALITY) Special District Wireless Service Gross Receipts Utility User Fee
1% Capital Facilities Tax on Yes TR
sales of tangible personal
properly and telecom services
charged to a billing address in
Laramie the county :
Casper{None None None None

Q1998 PricewaterhouseCoopens HEP
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

PROPERTY TAX

Business Occupation and

83

STATE (LOCALITY) Wireless Locally Assessed? Intangibles License Tax 911 Fee (locally administered)
County assessors are responsible for assessing a {Intangible personal properly, as enumerated|N/A Does not apply to wireless services
telephone company's property that is valued at or |above, is exempt from taxation. Wyoming
less than two thousand dollars using the cost Statute Section 39-1-201{a)(xxix).
approach methodology. Wyoming Statute Section

Laramie 39-2-201(a){vi).
CasperiN/A N/A N/A Does not apply to wireless services
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LOCAL TAX SPREADSHEET

T STATE (LOCALITY)

Miscellaneous

Laramie

Antenna/Permit F.

Casper]

84
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