OFFICE OF

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
Washington, D. C. 20554
APR 26 200t

MANAGING DIRECTOR

Frederick M. Joyce, Esq. g@ - ;2 80._

Alston & Bird, L.L.P.

601 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
North Building, 11" Floor
Washington, D.C. 20004-2601

Re: Metrocall, Inc.
Fee Control No. 0002248130711001

Dear Mr. Joyce:

This is in response to your request for refund of filing fees submitted by Metrocall, Inc.
(Metrocall) in connection with the filing on or about February 22, 2000 of applications for
transfer of control involving wireless telecommunications services. You state that Metrocall
paid the filing fees (and filed applications for transfer of control) at the suggestion of
Commission staff and out of an abundance of caution to effectuate transfers of control involving
transactions consummated earlier this year. You state that Commission staff, subsequent to the
filing of the transfer of control applications, determined the transactions to be pro forma
transfers of control and dismissed the applications You state that a fee is not required by the
Commission for such pro forma transactions and you therefore request a refund.

On February 4, 1998, the Commission adopted a Memorandum Opinion and Order granting
forbearance from the pro forma transfer and assignment procedures of section 10 of the
Communications Act, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §160, for wireless telecommunications services.
Federal Communications Bar Association’s Petition for Forbearance from Section 310(d) of the
Communications Act Regarding Non-Substantial Assignments of Licenses and Transfers of
Control Involving Telecommunications Carriers, 13 FCC Red 6293 (1998) (Forbearance
Order). As a result, the Commission no longer requires wireless telecommunications carriers
to seek Commission prior approval before a pro forma transfer of control or assignment of
license, or to file a separate form and filing fee for each license that would be affected. Instead,
licensees must notify the Commission within 30 days of consummation of the pro forma
transaction and update Commission records at that time.

The four transfer of control applications for which Metrocall seeks filing fee refunds involve
Private Carrier Paging, Business Radio. Paging and Radiotelephone, and Common Carrier
Point-to-Point authorizations, which are wireless telecommunication services that are not
subject to application filing fees under the Forbearance Order. Under the circumstances,
because no application fee is required, refund of the application fees is warranted.
Accordingly, your request is granted and the amount paid in error will be refunded. A check,



Frederick M. Joyce, Esq. 2

made payable to the maker of the original checks, and drawn in the amount of $61,345.00, will
be sent to you at the earliest practicable time. If you have any questions concerning the refund,
please call the Revenue & Receivables Operations Group at (202) 418-1995.

Sincerely,

\/ \,_
~——

b
'/gMark A. Reger
Chief Financial Officer



OFFICE OF

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
Washington, D. C. 20554
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MANAGING DIRECTOR

Frederick M. Joyce, Esq. g & - CQ %

Alston & Bird, L.L.P.

601 Pennsylvania Ave., NW.
North Building, 11* Floor
Washington, D.C. 20004-2601

Re: Metrocall, Inc.
Fee Control No. 0002248130711001

Dear Mr. Joyce:

This is in response to your request for refund of filing fees submitted by Metrocall, Inc.
(Metrocall) in connection with the filing on or about February 22, 2000 of applications for
transfer of control involving wireless telecommunications services. You state that Metrocall
paid the filing fees (and filed applications for transfer of control) at the suggestion of
Commission staff and out of an abundance of caution to effectuate transfers of control involving
transactions consummated earlier this year. You state that Commission staff, subsequent to the
filing of the transfer of control applications, determined the transactions to be pro forma
transfers of control and dismissed the applications You state that a fee is not required by the
Commission for such pro forma transactions and you therefore request a refund.

On February 4, 1998, the Commission adopted a Memorandum Opinion and Order granting
forbearance from the pro forma transfer and assignment procedures of section 10 of the
Communications Act, as amended, 47 U.S.C. §160, for wireless telecommunications services.
Federal Communications Bar Association’s Petition for Forbearance from Section 310(d) of the
Communications Act Regarding Non-Substantial Assignments of Licenses and Transfers of
Control Involving Telecommunications Carriers, 13 FCC Rcd 6293 (1998) (Forbearance
Order). As a result, the Commission no longer requires wireless telecommunications carriers
to seek Commission prior approval before a pro forma transfer of control or assignment of
license, or to file a separate form and filing fee for each license that would be affected. Instead,
licensees must notify the Commission within 30 days of consummation of the pro forma
transaction and update Commission records at that time.

The four transfer of control applications for which Metrocall seeks filing fee refunds involve
Private Carrier Paging, Business Radio, Paging and Radiotelephone, and Common Carrier
Point-to-Point authorizations, which are wireless telecommunication services that are not
subject to application filing fees under the Forbearance Order. Under the circumstances,
because no application fee is required, refund of the application fees is warranted.
Accordingly, your request is granted and the amount paid in error will be refunded. A check,
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Frederick M. Joyce, Esq.

made payable to the maker of the original checks, and drawn in the amount of $61,345.00, will
be sent to you at the earliest practicable time. If you have any questions concerning the refund,
please call the Revenue & Receivables Operations Group at (202) 418-1995.

Sincerely,

' <U\I\ —C.

A
/gMark A. Reger
Chief Financial Officer



ALSTON&BIRD 11p RECEVEL

601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.-W. T 13 2000
North Building, 11th Floor OC
Washington. DC 200042601 FEDERAL COMMUNCATIONS €ustousr
SFFICE 5T SECRETARY
202-756-3300 OF Tre SERs
Fax: 202-756-3333
www.alstoncom
Frederick M. Joyce Direct Diak 202-756-3376 E-mail: rjoyce@alston.com

October 13, 2000
VIA: HAND DELIVERY

Andrew S. Fishel, Managing Director
Office of the Managing Director
Federal Communications Commission
445 12th Street SW, Room 1-C144
Washington, DC 20554

Re: Request for Refund of Filing Fees

Dear Mr. Fishel:

Metrocall, Inc. (“Metrocall”), and Metrocall USA, Inc. (“MUSA”)! by their
attorneys, and pursuant to Section 1.1113(a) of the Commission’s Rules, 47 CF.R. §
1.1113(a),? hereby request a refund of certain filing fees paid to effectuate a transfer of
control consummated earlier this year, which, subsequent to filing, was determined by the
Commission staff to be pro forma in nature.

I. Background.

Earlier this year, Metrocall entered into a Securities Exchange Agreement with
AT&T Wireless Services, Inc. (“ATTWS”), pursuant to which ATTWS exchanged the
shares of Series C Convertible Preferred Stock into shares of Metrocall common stock.
Upon completion of this transaction, ATTWS came to hold approximately 13.25 million
shares (approximately 16.8%) of Metrocall’s issued and outstanding common stock.

! Metrocall, Inc. is a publicly-traded company (NASDAQ symbol: MCLL). Metrocall USA, Inc. is the
wholly-owned licensing subsidiary of Metrocall, Inc. Metrocall USA, Inc. holds all of the FCC licenses
through which Metrocall, Inc. provides paging and messaging services.

; .Section 1.1113(a)(1) provides: “Return or refund of charges. (a) The full amount of any fee submitted
will be returned or refunded. as appropriate, in the following circumstances: (1) When no fee is required
for the application or other filing.”

One Atlantic Center 1211 East Morehead Street 3605 Glenwood Avenue
1201 West Peachtree Street P. O. Drawer 34009 Suite 310
Atlanta, GA 30309-3424 Charlotte, NC 282344009 Raleigh, NC 27612-4957
404-881-7000 704-331-6000 919-420-2200

Fax: 404-881-7777 Fax: 704-334-2014 Fax: 919-420-2260
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In separate transactions, also earlier this year, Metrocall entered into agreements
with PSINet Inc. (“PSINet,” NASDAQ symbol: PSIX), a New York corporation
providing commercial Internet access services; Aether Systems, Inc. (“Aether”), a
Maryland-based provider of wireless data applications; and HMTF Bridge MC I, L L.C.
(“HMTF”), a Delaware limited liability company wholly-owned by the investment firm
Hicks, Muse, Tate & Furst Incorporated (“Hicks, Muse”) and formed solely for the
purpose of purchasing and holding shares of Metrocall common stock. Upon closing of
the transactions contemplated by those agreements, PSINet, Aether, and HMTF came to
hold approximately 7.8 million shares each (which amounted to approximately 9.9% of
Metrocall’s issued and outstanding common stock).

All of the above-referenced agreements were separate and distinct transactions
under which separate, independent companies each purchased minority ownership
interests in Metrocall. The above-listed purchasers of Metrocall’s common stock are not
related to one another, and there are no agreements among those parties, express or
implied, to vote collectively the stock they acquired as a block, or in any particular
manner. The transactions, as proposed and consummated, contemplated that upon the
successful completion of all of the transactions, a maximum of 46.9% of Metrocall’s
common stock would be held by new investors; a minimum of 53.1% of Metrocall’s
common stock would remain with the public and with members of Metrocall’s
management.

II. FCC Applications Filed.

To effect the minority equity investment transactions discussed above, and at the
suggestion of FCC staff at the time, Metrocall filed applications for transfer of control on
or about February 22, 2000. As explained in Metrocall’s Public Interest Statements that
accompanied the transfer applications, the transfers would not result in any change to the
parties controlling Metrocall, nor would the transfers give the transferees a majority state
in Metrocall.

Metrocall filed the applications out of an abundance of caution because due to
incremental, non-substantial changes in the holders of Metrocall’s common stock, the
investments contemplated by the transactions cumulatively resulted in changes of
ownership of 50% or more of Metrocall’s common stock since the last transaction in
which Metrocall’s ownership was placed before the Commission. Metrocall explained
that if the Commisston should determine the transactions described above to be “non-
substantial,” Metrocall would gladly revise or dismiss any of the applications filed in the
matter, or take such other action as the Commission may direct, in order to comport with
the Commission’s determination.

After filing the applications, the Commission concluded that the transactions
described in the applications should be treated as pro forma transfers of control, rather
than substantial changes in ownership. Based upon this determination, Metrocall closed
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the pro forma investment transactions on March 17, 2000, and Metrocall’s transfer
applications were dismissed.

1. FCC Filing Fees Paid.

Metrocall filed six transfer of control applications related to the transactions
discussed herein, and paid a total of $65,625.00 in filing fees3 Copies of the filing fee
checks (and one wire transfer confirmation) that Metrocall submitted with its transfer
applications are attached as Exhibit One. Upon the Commission’s determination that the
transactions were pro forma in nature, Metrocall requested dismissal of those applications
for which prior Commission consent was not necessary.4

Prior Commission consent for the pro forma transfer of certain Metrocall
authorizations was necessary, as the forbearance policy for pro forma transfers has not
been extended to all of the services under which Metrocall is licensed. Specifically, the
applications for transfer of the Domestic Fixed Satellite Earth Station authorizations (See
Exhibit Two), the Private Operational Fixed Microwave authorizations (See Exhibit
Three), and the Special Emergency Radio Service authorizations (See Exhibit Four) did
require prior Commission consent; therefore, the applications that Metrocall filed for
these services before the Commission’s decision to treat the transactions as pro forma
remained on file, and were processed in the ordinary course. As shown on the attached
FCC Forms 159 and check copies, the filing fees for these applications totaled $3,500.00.

Prior Commission approval was not necessary, however, to effect the pro forma
transfer of Metrocall’s Private Carrier Paging and Business Radio authorizations (See

’ Copies of Metrocall’s filing fee checks (and one wire transfer confirmation) for the transactions are
attached as Exhibit One. Attached as Exhibit Two is the first page of the FCC Form 159 and the first page
of the Form 312 for Metrocall’s Domestic Fixed Satellite Earth Station authorizations; Attached as Exhibit
Three is the first page of the FCC Form 159 and the first page of the Form 603 for Metrocall’s Private
Operational Fixed Microwave authorizations; Attached as Exhibit Four is the first page of the FCC Form
703 and the first page of the Form 490 for Metrocall’s Special Emergency Radio Service authorizations;
Attached as Exhibit Five is the first page of the FCC Form 159 and the first page of the Form 490 for
Metrocall’s Private Carrier Paging and Business Radio authorizations; Attached as Exhibit Six is the first
page of the FCC Form 159 and the first page of the Form 603 for Metrocall’s Paging and Radiotelephone
Service and Common Carrier Point-to-Point authorizations; And attached as Exhibit Seven is the first page
of the FCC Form 159 and the first page of the Letter Application for Transfer of Control for Metrocall’s
Section 214 authorizations. Due to the voluminous nature of the filings, entire copies are not attached;
however, Metrocall will gladly provide full copies of the applications and the accompanying FCC Forms
159 upon the Commission’s request.

¢ The Commission has forborne from applying the prior notification and approval requirements of Section
310(d) of the Communications Act to certain services. See Federal Communications Bar Association's
Petition for Forbearance from Section 310(d) of the Communications Act, Memorandum Opinion and
Order, 13 FCC Red 6293 (1998) [hereinafter “Forbearance Order”].
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Exhibit Five),* Paging and Radiotelephone Service and Common Carrier Point-to-Point
authonizations (See Exhibit Six), and Section 214 Certificate for the Resale of
International Switched Services (See Exhibit Seven). As shown on the attached FCC
Forms 159 and check copies, the filing fees for these applications totaled $62,125.00.

In regard to the Private Carrier Paging, Business Radio, Paging and
Radiotelephone, and Common Carrier Point-to-Point authorizations, the Commission
concluded by order dated February 4, 1998 that it would forebear from applying the prior
notification and approval requirements of section 310(d) of the Communications Act to
these wireless station classes for pro forma assignments of licenses and transfers of
control.¢ Pursuant to the Forbearance Order, and Section 1.948(c)(1)(iii) of the
Commission’s Rules, licensees simply need to file a notification of consummation with
the Commission within thirty days of the closing of a pro forma transaction. Filing fees
are not required for such notifications.

As for Metrocall’s Section 214 Certificate, Metrocall has already been refunded
the $780.00 filing fee that was paid for the transfer of this authorization. The Accounts
Processing Group, in response to a request made sua sponte by the International Bureau,
has already approved the refund of this filing fee (See Exhibit Eight).

The International Bureau’s request and the Account Processing Group’s
subsequent action were predicated upon the Commission’s Rule governing the pro forma
transfer of international Section 214 certificates, which provides that an international
carrier that is the subject of a pro forma transfer of control is not required to seek prior
Commission approval for the transaction, but must notify the Commission no later than
30 days after the assignment is consummated. See 47 C.F.R. § 63.24. This Rule is
substantively identical to the Rule governing the pro forma transfer of those wireless
license classes specified in the Forbearance Order. Because the international and
wireless applications concerned the same overall transaction, and because the governing
rules are identical in substance, Metrocall submits that the fees paid for the transfer of the
wireless authorizations should likewise be refunded.

’ Please note that Metrocall initially submitted a filing fee check for $36,225.00 for payment of the filing
fees associated with the transfer of its Private Carrier Paging and Business Radio stations. Metrocall was
subsequently notified by the FCC that the filing fee should have been in the amount of $36,720.00. The
Commission returned Metrocall’s check in the amount of $36,225.00 and Metrocall wired the replacement
filing fee of $36,720.00 to Mellon Bank. Metrocall was advised that it was not necessary to amend the fee
amounts listed on the FCC Form 159 and on the first page of its Form 490, therefore, those pages reflect
the erroneous filing fee amount. As shown on the wire transfer confirmation included in Exhibit One,
however, the filing fee paid by Metrocall for the transfer of its Private Carrier Paging and Business Radio
authorizations was in the amount of $36,720.00.

6
See Forbearance Order, 13 FCC Red 6293, para. 24.
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V. Conclusion.

For the foregoing reasons, Metrocall respectfully requests a refund of $61,345.00,
which amount represents the filing fees paid for transfer of Metrocall’s Private Carrier
Paging, Business Radio, Paging and Radiotelephone, and Common Carrier Point-to-Point
authorizations.

Thank you for your attention. If you have any questions, please contact the
undersigned.

Sincergly,

4!10/1({\4. oyce

Encl.

FMIJ:mrc
WDC01/65651v1



FCC 312 | e |

Main Form . AvgBurin Houss |
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION Por Respones: 11

APPLICATION FOR SATELLITE SPACE AND EARTH STATION AUTHORIZATIONS

F (llr)/"!'li{:i 3
feeme e FEB 227000
APPLICANT INFORMATION MELLGN o
1. Legal Name of Applicant 2. Volce Telepbone Number ' “0 & £ LU0
Metrocall, “Tiig. (703) 660-6677, ext. 5122
}. cha Name Used for Doing Business (if any) 4. Fax Telepbone Number
. - ‘ (703) 924-2504
5. Mailing Street Address or P.O. Box 6. City
Alexandria
6677 Richmond Highway 7. State / Country (if not US.A) 8. Zip Code
ATTENTION: Virginia 22306
9. Name of Contact Represcntative (If other than applicant) 10. Voice Telcphone Number
Frederick M. Joyce, Esq. 202) 756-3300
11. Firm or Company Name 12. Fax Telephone Number
Alston & Bird, L.L.P. (202) 756-3333
13. Mailing Street Address or P.O. Box 14. City
601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., North Building, llth Floor Washington
15, State / Country (if not U.S.A) 16. Zip Code
CLASSIFICATION OF FILING _
17. Place an *X" 1o the box next (o the classification that applies o (his filing for both questoas &. and b, Mark oaly oae box for 17a and oaly one box for 17b.
D bl. Application for License of New Station [3 b6. Transfer of Control of License or Registration
b2. Application for Re, f N ificati i i i
[RarBnsuion | L o AP e eve Outy Station [ 7. Nodficaion of Miaor Modificaion
(] b3. Ameadment to a Pending Application [[] 8. Application for Licease of New Receive-Ouly Station Using Non-U.S. Liceased Satellite
[} a2 space Station [[] b4 Modification of License or Registration (] b9 Letter of Inteat to Use Noo-U.S. Licensed Satellite to Provide Service in the United States
[:] bS. Assigament of License or Registration D b10. Other (Please Specify):
18. If this filing is in reference to an existing station, 19. If this filing is an amendment to a pending application eater:
Call siga of sation: E940049; 2950079 ;3 E920231; E960017; E980479 (n) Date pending application was filed: (b) File sumber of peading application:

Fccsnz.Mmsom-h\gn
February, 1998



FCC 603 FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau Approved by OMB

s e . YT 3060 - 0800
Application for Assignments of Authorization See instructions for

and Transfers of Control public burden estimate

Submitted 03/10/2000
at 03:50PM

File Number:
0000083485

%l) Appllcuxon Purposc Amendment

‘i2a) If this request is for an A.mendmcnt or Withdrawal, enter the Fx]e Number of the pendmg appllcauon cunently on
ifile with the FCC.

i 2b) File numbers of related pendmg apphcauons currcntly on f le Vnth thc FCC

Type of Transactlon

3a) Is thxs apro forma mxgmncnt of luthonzntmn or transfer of oontrol? Yes

: 3b) If the answer to Item 3a is "Yes', is this a notification of a pro forma transaction being filed under the Commission's forbearance procedures for
;telecommunications licenses? No

#4) For assignment of authorization only, _l_s thxs 2 pamtxon and/or dxsaggregauon?

2‘5) Does this filing request a waiver of the Commission's rules? No

6) Are attachments being ﬁled with this application? Yes )

7a) Does the transaction that is the subject of this apphcauon also involve transfer or assignment of other wireless licenses held by the ;
sjassignor/transferor or affiliates of the assignor/transferor(e.g., parents, subsidiaries, or commonly controlled entities) that are not included on this form |
‘jand for which Commission approval is required?Yes
{7b) Does the transaction that is the subject of this applxcauon also involve transfer or assxgnmcnt of non-wireless licenses thn are no! included on this
[form and for which Commission approval is required? Yes .

Transactlon Informatlon

5;’8) How will lssxgnment of authonzahon or transfer of comrol be looomphshed? Sale or other nssignment or transfer of stock

e {10b) SGIN: 000
indiv; ML [Last Name __[Suffix:
B 12) Ermty Name (xfnot an mdeual) METROCALL USA lNC o
{13) Attention To: Ken Goldstein, Senfor VP, Eng.
i14)P.0.Box jAnd/Or =15)Street Aadress 6677 RICHMOND HWY

116) City: ALEXANDRIA -
19) Telephone Number: (703)660-6677 520) FAX:  (703)765-4385
i21) E-Mail Address: ken.goldstein@metrocall.com

22) Race, Ethmcnty, Gcnder of Assngnor/Lxccnsee (Opuonal)

!Asnan | {Black or African-American Isra;\;eﬂlzhwauan or Other Pacific 5§While:
;[N_qt Hispanic or Latmo.
Male:

Transferor Information (for transfers of control only)

lof$ 6/8/2000 11:46 AM



APproved by OMB m

Expires 11/30/%9 UNITED STATES OF AMERICA HeE
See revens for pubkc FEDERAL couuumcmous COMMISSION 5
uen FLC/MELLON |

2000
PARTI - APPUCATION FOR CONSENTTO TRANSFER CONTROL OF CORPORATION HOLDING STATION UCENSE
(This application must be filed before Transter of Control takes place)

1.{0) Name of corporale icensaa
Metrocall,USA, Inc. . N

(©) Number and sitest address
6677 Richmond l!ighway

(c) Cily Stat 2P Cod
Alexandria. Q@A . 2308 "
2 nteme! oddrass: identification Number
george .moratis@metrocall.con 54-1755198

4. Coll sign and radio setvice of each stalion

See Exhibit One,

6.(a) Fee Type Code {b) Fee Mullipie (c) Fea Due
PATM 185,07 §.025.00
R e
4. Nome(s) and Adaess(et) of Translares Metr 11 ¥ nt. ) :-.- .
6677 Richwmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22306
YES | NO

1. Subsequent 1o the Tronster of Control, wil the ICensee corporation be The same corPErate onﬂtr' ™mat is, witt it retain its presen! name.
corporaie charter, $tate of incorporation, eic.? X 'NO*, give detais on Page 3. X

8. Sunsequont to the Transfar of Control, wit e kcenses corporation be a represantative of any tofeign govemment? H *YES®, give detais x
on Page 3.

9. THIS SECTION TO SE ANSWERED ONLY BY LICENSEES OF PUSLIC COAST, ARPORT CONTROL TOWER, AERONAUTICAL ENROUTE, AERONAUTICAL FIXED, OR
COMMON CARRIER ALASKA PURLIC FIXED STATIONS. SUBSEQUENT TO THE TRANSFER OF CONTROL;

YES NO

(o) Wil any ctficer or direCtof of such corporafion be an atien? It “YES", soe instruction 6.

(b) Wit more than 1/ of tha capital stock be either owned of (9cors of may it be vated by aliens of thelr ropresantalives, or by a foreign
govermnmant of faprasentaiive thereal. or by any compolation orgonized under the taws of a foreign country? If *YES®, see Inttruction 6.

(<) Wil the Kcensee bae directly orinditoctty conttolad by any othar comporation? if “YES', answer lterms (d) thvaugh (h) below.

(<) Wnat is ihe nome ond address of the cotporamion in imrmediate control?

(&) Unde! 1he laws of what State or Couniry ks The controling corporation organizad?

(1) 1s more than 1/4 of the copital stock of controlling corporation elther owned of record or may h be voted Dy aflens or Thair
tepresaniatives. of Dy © Toreign govemmant of fepresentative Thereol, or by any copornation oigonized under the laws  Of O foreign

COUNtIy? If "YES', give Gelons on Page 3.

() & any o11Ce! Or more than 174 of the arectons of thu conlroling comoranion an aken? Iif “YES®. on Poge 3 siate name, nationclity, ond
poaition of soch, ong s1ote The 1olal number of directars, ond give o bric! biographical statement for each aken.

(h) s the controlling corperation in furn controlled by other companios? If *YES, on Fage 3, ot ¢ soparale sheet of pape!l. plovide
Intoanation 10¢ oach of these controling camponies covoring infomation requesied in terme (d) through (h).

CERTIHCATION

& Applcant woives any cloim fo the ute of any padicular frecquency regasdiass of pRor use by kicense or otherwise;

4 Applicant will hove unimitad scces to 1he radio equipment and will conlrol access 1o exciude unouthornizod persons;

€ Neither appicant nor ony member thereo! i o foralgn govemment of rapresentative thereof.

8 Applcant ceninas mat ot stotements made in this appiication and attochmaents ata true, completa and mada in good laith;

@ Noither tha applicant nor any ofher party lo the opplication is subject? 1o a deniol of Federal benaflis that includes FCC benefits pursuant 1o
Section S301 of the Anli-Drug Abuse Act of 1988, 21 US.C. Section 862. becausa of @ conviction for possession or disidbution of o controlea

sybstonce,

WILLFUL FALSE m\rmsun MADE ON THIS FORM ARE PUNISHABLE 8Y FINE AND/OR IMPRISONMENT (U.S. CODE, TITLE 18, SECTION 1001), AND/OR
REVOCATION OF ANY STATION LICENSE OR CONSTRUCTION PERMIT (V.S. CODE, TTTLE 47, SECTION 312(A)(1)), AND/OR FORFEMTURE (U.5. CODE, TME 47,
SECTION §03).

/
SIGNATURE - DATE

Ucersec Copomtion

SIGNATURE N Nae DATE
[ ]

of Cnech ey

O indiviiuat (O Partner X Officer O other (specity):
FPHLOM Pe0? 87 ’ FCC 703 - PAGE 1 January 1997
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FCC 490 FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Application for Assignment of Authorization
or Consent to Transfer of Control of Licensee

Commercial Mobile Radio Services
Rural Radiotelephone Service

FILING FEE

(@) Fee Type Code (b) Fee Mulipie {C) Foe Due for Fee Type Code in () (d) Totat Amount Due

FCC Use Only
(File Number)

FCC Use Only

FCC Use Only

PATM 805 $45.00

$36,225.00

ASSIGNOR OR TRANSFEROR

T1. Name of Assignor or Transferor
Metrocall, Inc.

T2. Voice Telsphone Number
(703 ) 660-6677

T3. Assumed Name Used for Doing Business ( any)

T4. Fax Telephone Number
( 703 ) 924-2504

TS5. Maling Street Address or P.O. Box
6677 Richmond Highway

T6. City
Alexandria

T7. State
VA

T8. Zip Code
22306

T9. Name of Contact Representative (I cther than Assignor or Transferor)
Frederick M. Joyce, Esq.

T10. Voice Telephone Number
(202 ) 756-3300

T11. Firm or Company Name
Alston & Bird, L.L.P.

T12. Fax Telephone Number
( 202 ) 756-3333

T13. Maiing Street Address or P.O. Box
601 Pennsylvania Ave., KW, North Building, 11th Floor

Ti4. City T15. State | T16. Zip Code

Washington DC 20004-2601
TYPE OF TRANSACTION -

T17. This application requests ( T ) Assignment of authorization  Consent to Transfer of Control of Licensee

T18. How will assignment or transfer of control be accomplished?  ( s ) Sale or other transfer or assignment of stock  Other

T19. This assignment of authorization or transfer of control of licensee s (y )  Voluntary Involuntary

T20. Will this be & ér_o forma assignment or transfer of contro? (N ) Yes No See Exhibit One

T21. Is local or state authorization required for this assignment or transfer of control? (N ) Yes No

FCC Form 490 - Page 1
October 1997
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and Transfers of Control

FCC 663 FCC Wireless Telecommunications Bureau Apbfoved by OMB
Application for Assignments of Authorization ;{3060 - 0800

:ISee instructions for
:|public burden estimate

{Submitted 03/10/2000
Jat 10:58AM

File Number:
10000083711

1) Application Purpose. Amendment

: i2a) If this request is for an Amendment or Wlthdrawal enter the File Number of the pendmg apphcanon ‘[File Number-
currently on file with the FCC.

140000083711

1{20) File numbers of related pending applications currently on file withthe FCC:

Type of Transaction

3b) If the answer to ltem 3a is "Yes', is this a notification of a pro forma transaction being filed under the Commission's forbearance
procedures for telecommunications licenses? No

§:9) The as_spgnment of authorization or _t:ansfer_ of control of license is: Volqntary

Licensee/Assignor Information

10a) Taxpayer ldentification Number: 541765198

i#11) First Name (if indmdual)

3/10/00 11:02 AN



ALSTON&BIRD up

601 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Sl MELL M !
North Building, 11th Floor ARERLL MAR 10 2000
Washington, DC 20004-2601

202-756-3300
Fax: 202-756-3333
www.alston.com

Frederick M. Joyce
E-malil: rjoyce@alston.com
March 3, 2000

VIA: FACSIMILE and HAND DELIVERY

Federal Communications Commission
Feeable Correspondence

P.O. Box 358115

Pittsburgh, PA 15251-5115

Re:  Metrocall, Inc. (Transferor)
Metrocall, Inc. (Transferee)
Transfer of Control of Metrocall USA, Inc.
Section 214 Certificate for International Resale of
Interexchange Telephone Services (File Nos. ITC-95-
131; ITC-95-436-TC; ITC-96-295-TC, ITC-97-261-AL)
REQUEST FOR TEMPORARY AUTHORITY

EXPEDITED ACTION REQUESTED

Dear Licensing Officer:

Metrocall, Inc. ("Metrocall") and its wholly-owned subsidiary, Metrocall USA,
Inc. ("MUSA"), by their attorneys and pursuant to Section 63.25 of the Commission's
Rules, hereby Special Temporary Authority ("STA") to allow for the immediate closing
of certain investments which will involve new entities obtaining minority ownership
interests in Metrocall. Metrocall and MUSA request an STA for a period of 180 days, or
until the Commission acts upon their pending application for permanent authority for the
transfer of control of MUSA in connection with the subject investments, whichever
occurs first.

One Atlantic Center 1211 East Morchead Street 3605 Gle: i
1201 West Peachtree Street P. O. Drawer 34009 Pngolggl::rn; le'lg‘;mc 310
Atlanta, GA 30309-3424 Chariotte, NC 28234-4009 Raleigh, NC 27622-1107
404-881-7000 704-331-6000 919-420-2200

Fax: 404-881-7777 Fax: 704-334-2014 Fax: 919-420-2260



EXHIBIT EIGHT

Federal Communications Commission
445 - 12™ Street, S.W.
Washington, DC 20554

4-&0- 4000

éb’// amQ

w/y,cz b

Dear Sir:

We are refunding your fee for the following reason(s).

[ Fee paid -Cgo fee requlred See block checked "other" for
further exp <

[ ] Overpayment
[ ] Duplicate Payment
[ 1 Incorrect fee - Fee Should be: $

Your application is being returned. Please resubmit a
complete application package according to the appropriate Fee
Filing Guide.

[ ] Multiple Fee Application - Additional fee required.

Your application is being returned. Please resubmit a
complete application package according to the appropriate Fee
Filing Guide.

[ ] Other:

Payment is being made through the U.S. Treasury Department. Please
allow 8 - 10 weeks for processing. If you have any questions
concerning this 1letter, please contact Diane Douglas at (202)418-

1975.

Chief,
Accounts Processing Group



FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION DATE: l/(/ .
BUREAU/FEE SECTION TWO-WAY CORRESPONDENCE FORM HW(_‘/{Q C>?4 OQO

TO: APPLICANT'S NAME:

Fee Section, FMD - Room 452 [ ] CCB - Room [ other (Specity Bureau

and Room Number): H ﬂ (‘A
ETIKOCALL

MMB - Room OET - Room
D D FEE CONTROL NUMBER:
FROM:

F ion, FMD - 4 - R if
D ee Section, FMD - Room 452 DCCB 0om anz‘R :25.“ y B.trl)':oau BUREAUOFFICE D NUVBER:
DMW - Room DOET - Room T

i indd !'Té\ccpm
This is *°R’:::‘:_{ ‘V::_tm‘r‘ f;‘l'g;“ Application Return or Refund for the following reasonis):
rd
[ no FEE RECEVED - FEE REQURED g‘no FEE REQURED (S1.1111a1)
[J APPLICATION ATTACHED ] WSUFFICENT FEE - APPLICATION DISMISSED WITHIN
30 DAYS (S1.1111a2)

[J prOCESS APPLICATION [J ooEs NOT MEET AGE REQUIREMENT (S1.1111a3)
[ FeEE NOT ELIGBLE FOR REFUND [J New RULE, LAW OR TREATY (S1.1111a4))
[JotHER - PLEASE EXPLAN N REMARKS SECTION O waiver (s1.1111a8)
REMARKS: [ overpavmENT

CJ uNTMELY FLED WINDOW FLING (S1.1111a(6)

v N rimved
A/ 0 Ve f urv CJFRST COME, FRST SERVED CONSTRUCTION PERMIT
($1.1111(e)
@ '\' . 4 " (S1.1112()
. . Nt € ‘C
/R\A“Q/M QJ \C K [J GOVERNVENT ENTITY (S1.1112(2)

I MODFICATION OF EXISTING/PENDING AUTHORZATION
/ [) NONCOMMERCIAL EDUCATIONAL OR INSTRUCTIONAL
: SERVICE (S1.1112(cXdXeX1,2,3)

—— N

R g,-, ol [] WSTRUCTIONAL TV FIXED STATION EXEMPTION
LN ocunCl - , (S1.1112(cX4)
(\h\« (I RESTRICTED RADIOTELEPHONE (S1.1112(eX4,5)

Regulatory Fee:

[CINo fee required or excessie fee
[J overpayment

[J Advance payment subject to S1.1152

[JNew rule - license not valid

E]License surrendered (PR services)

H DSecn‘on 8 Application declined, return regulatory fee

BUREAWOFFICE CONTACT: th N -))ma-”l\ws BUREAWOFFICE APPROVALW& //"—_7_-—-
4

FOR FEE SECTION USE ONLY:
D Copy returned to Bureau

Date Received:

Action Taken: BY: DATE:
¥ For Refund Overpayment, provide justification in remarks section.

COPY DISTRIUBTION: Original and Part 2 to forwarding office; Part 3 retained by originating office Form A-462
Septemper 1094



FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION

Washington, D. C. 20554
T 7 2001

APR

OFFICE OF _
MANAGING DIRECTOR 2} @ . : 2&5

Dan J. Alpert. Esquire
2120 N. 21* Rd.

Suite 400

Arlington, VA 22201

Re: Request for Fee Waiver
Fee No: 00000CDMC-99-015

Dear Mr. Alpert:

This is in response to your request for a waiver of the Fiscal Year 1999 (FY 1999)
regulatory fee. that you filed on behalf of John Neuhoff. Jr. for Station KMGX(FM) now
(KNHT), Rio Del. CA. You maintain that because the station is currently dark. it is
entitled to a refund of their FY 1999 regulatory fees.

The Commission bases its assessment of regulatory fees upon the nature of the authoriza-
tion that the station held as of October 1. 1998. See Public Notice dated August 2, 1999
entitled “FY 1999 Mass Media Regulatory Fees.” The Commission may waive the
payment of the regulatory fee in any specific instance for good cause shown, where such
action would promote the public interest. 47 U.S.C. § 159(d). We have concluded that
demonstrated financial hardship may be a basis for waiver:

Petitioners seeking a waiver, deferral or reduction of a regulatory fee based on
financial hardship may submit any relevant information in support of their
request. We will review the supporting documents and base our ruling upon
information submitted and any additional information available in our records. If
petitioner presents a compelling case of financial hardship, no payment of the
regulatory fee will be due. If the supporting material do not present sufficient
evidence of hardship, we will deny the petition. If the fee has not already been
submitted, the petitioner will have 30 days to file its regulatory fee in order to
avoid the assessment of penalty charges and the invocation of any other available
remedy. The filing of a petition for reconsideration will not toll this 30 day

period.

Report and Order In re Implementation of Section 9 of the Communications Act, 9 FCC
Rcd 5333.5346 at § 35 (Jun 8, 1994). In response to petitions for reconsideration and
clarification, we explained:



to

Dan J. Alpert. Esquire

We will grant waivers of the fees on a sufficient showing of financial hardship.
Mere allegations or documentation of financial loss. standing alone. will not
support a waiver request. Rather we will grant a waiver only when the impact of
the regulatory fee will affect a regulatee’s ability to serve the public. It will be
incumbent upon each regulatee to fully document its financial position and show
it lacks sufficient funds to pay the regulatory fees and to maintain its service to
the public. ***

We will also grant petitions for waivers of the regulatory fees on grounds of
financial hardship from licensees of broadcast stations which are dark (not
operating). When a station is dark, it generally is either without or with greatly
reduced revenues. Moreover, broadcast stations which are dark must request
permission to suspend operation pursuant to Section 73.1740(a)(4) of the Rules.
47 C.F.R. § 73.1740(a)(4). Petitions to go dark are generally based on financial
hardship. Under these circumstances, imposition of the regulatory fees could be
an impediment to the restoration of broadcast service, and it is unnecessary to
require a licensee to make a further showing of financial hardship.

Memorandum Opinion and Order, /n re Implementation of Section 9 of the Communica-
tions Act, 10 FCC Red 12759, at 19 13 and 15 (Jun 22, 1995).

A station, however, may apply for silent status for reasons unrelated to financial
capabilities. Our records show that KMGX(FM) applied to be silent on November 5,
1999 due to technical difficulties. Because financial hardship was not a considered
element for the application to become silent, and you did not assert financial hardship as
the reason to waive the fee and did not furnish supporting information, we cannot find a
basis for waiver.

Also. you should be aware that the Telecommunications Act of 1996 provided for the
expiration of broadcast licenses as a matter of law upon a station’s failure to operate for
12 consecutive months. Mr. Neuhoff should notify the Commission in writing when
broadcast operations are resumed by KNHT. The letter should be addressed to Attention:
Glenn Greisman, Federal Communications Commission, Room 2-B450, Audio Services
Division. MMB, 445 12 Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20554.



Dan J. Alpert. Esquire

W)

Your request for waiver of the fee is denied. Full payment of the regulatory fee for
$1,350.00 is due and must be filed together with a Form FCC 159 (copy enciosed) within
30 days from the date of this letter. If you have any questions, please contact the Credit
& Debt Management Group at (202) 418-1995.

_Sincerely.
e S
N .
Pl GIS NS U P S T
Mark A. Reger
Chief Financial Officer



- /L

‘The Law Office of
Dan J. Alpert
2120 N. 21t Rd.
Suite 400
Arfington, VA 22201
(703) 243-8690 (703) 243-8692 (FAX)
September 10, 1999 RECEIVEL
Mr. Andrew S. Fishel SEP 1 01999
Managing Director _ TN SSIO8
Federal Communications Commission OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

1919 M Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20554

Re: Station KMGX(FM)
Rio Del, CA

Dear Mr. Fishel:

John Neuhoff, Jr., by its attorney, hereby requests a waiver of the 1999 Annual Regulatory
Fee. In support thereof, the following is stated.

In the Memorandum Opinion and Order issued with respect to Implementation of Section
9 of the Communications Act, FCC 95-257 (June 22, 1995), the FCC recognized that waivers of
the annual Regulatory Fee was appropriate in certain instances, and specifically determined that
it would grant waivers to licensees of broadcast stations that are dark (i.e., not operating). The
Commission recognized that an imposition of regulatory fees could be an impediment to the
restoration of broadcast service, and that such it would be unnecessary for such stations to make
any further showing to warrant grant of a waiver. Id. at { 15.

John Neuhoff Jr. is licensee of Station KMGX, Rio Del, California. Station KMGX
currently is dark. Accordingly, a waiver of the 1999 Annual Regulatory Fee is appropriate.

WHEREFORE, it respectfully is requested that this request be granted.

Counsel for John Neuhoff, Jr.



| Tom Putnam - Fee waiver letter Ref: KMGX , | Page 1

From: Tom Putham

To: Donna Viert

Date: 3/16/00 9:01AM

Subject: Fee waiver letter Ref: KMGX
Donna,

We received a fee waiver letter prepared in OGC for KMGX(FM) which is now KNHT.
Holly Berland's name was on the route slip first so | assumed that she was the author.
The issue was a silent station and the FY 1999 Regulatory (section 9) fee.

The station went dark 11/99. The regulatory fee was due 9/99.

The P.N. on 99 Reg fees states " The regulatory fee to be assessed is based upon the nature of the
authorization held as of 10/1/98". Shouldn't they owe the fee?

| can bring you the file whenever you wish to discuss this item.
Thanks

Tom Putnam

Credit & Debt Management Center

Ph (202) 418-2992
Fax (202) 418-2843

CccC: Claudette Pride; Holly Berland; Linwood Jenkins
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FPUBLIC NOTICE

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
445 12th STREET, S.W.
WASHINGTON, D.C. 20554

News media information 202/418-0500  Fax-On-Demand 202/418-2830 Intemnet: hup://www.fcc.gov  fip.fec.gov

August 2, 1999

FY 1999 Mass Media Regulatory Fees

The Federal Communications Commission issues this Public Notice in order to provide
information concerning the payment of regulatory fees in FY 1999. If you are a licensee or
permittee in any of the mass media services, you should carefully review this Public Notice.

WHO MUST PAY REGULATORY FEES IN FY 1999

Most licensees and other entities regulated by the Commission must pay regulatory fees in FY
1999. This Public Notice concemns the following Mass Media licensees: commercial AM & FM
radio stations, commercial television stations, Low Power Television and television translator and
booster licensees, broadcast auxiliary, FM translator and FM booster licensees, and multipoint
distribution service licensees (includes multichannel multipoint distribution service).
Noncommercial educational licensees are exempt from regulatory fees as are licensees of auxiliary
broadcast services such as low power auxiliary stations, television auxiliary service stations,
remote pickup stations and aural broadcast auxiliary stations where such licenses are used in
conjunction with commonly owned non-commercial educational stations. Emergency alert system
(EAS) licenses for auxiliary service facilities are also exempt as are Instructional Television Fixed
Service (ITFS) licensees. Governments and nonprofit entities (exempt under Section 501 of the
Internal Revenue Code) are not required to pay regulatory fees and should not submit payment.
The Commission requires that each exempt entity submit, or have on file with the Commission, a
current IRS Determination Letter documenting its nonprofit status, a certification of
governmental authority, or certification from a governmental authority attesting to its exempt
status. The regulatory fee to be assessed is based upon the nature of the authorization (e.g.
construction permit or license) held as of October 1, 1998. Responsibility for payment of that fee
rests with the current holder of the permit or license at the time payment is due. A regulatee is
responsible for summing all of its services in order to determine if a fee is due. If the sum of all
services owned is less than $10, then the regulatee is exempt from paying the fee.



WHY THE COMMISSION MUST COLLECT REGULATORY FEES

The requirement to collect annual regulatory fees is contained in Public Law 103-66, "The
Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1993." These regulatory fees, which are likely to change
each fiscal year, are used to offset costs associated with the Commission's enforcement, public
information, international and policy and rulemaking activities. These fees are in addition to any
application processing fees associated with obtaining a license or other authorization from the
Commission.

WHEN FEES WILL BE DUE
Fee payments must be received by the Commission during the period beginning September

13, 1999, and ending September 22, 1999. Any payment not received at Mellon Bank by
11:59 p.m., September 22, 1999 will be assessed a 25% late payment fee.

FCC FORM 159

Regulatory fee payments must be accompanied by FCC Form 159 ("FCC Remittance Advice"),
dated July 1997. A copy of this form, with specific instructions, is attached to this Public Notice
and may be used to submit fees. Reproduced forms are acceptable. Please see "Special
Instructions for Completing FCC Forms 159 and 159-C" for detailed information on how to
correctly complete these forms. Unless you are submitting your information on diskette, you
must list each Call Sign separately on Forms 159/159-C. Written attachments are not acceptable.
Failure to properly complete FCC Form 159/159-C will delay the processing of your regulatory
fee payment.

Any regulatee paying for more than 25 entities may do so by submitting the Form 159 information
on diskette. Information on how to file electronically on diskette will be made available in a
subsequent public notice.

WHERE TO SEND REGULATORY FEE PAYMENTS

If sending your regulatory fee payment by mail, please address your envelope as follows:

Federal Communications Commission
Regulatory Fees
P.O. Box 358835
Pittsburgh, PA 15251-5835

If you prefer to send your regulatory fee payment by courier to our lockbox bank, you may do so
24 hours per business day (except Federal or bank holidays). Please address your envelope and
deliver it to the following address:




Federal Communications Commission
c/o Mellon Bank
Three Mellon Bank Center
525 William Penn Way
27th Floor, Room 153-2713
Pittsburgh, PA 15259-0001
(Attention: FCC Module Supervisor)

METHOD OF PAYMENT

Regulatory fee payments may be made by check, money order, or by credit card (Visa or
Mastercard only). When paying by credit card, please make sure you complete and sign block 28
of FCC Form 159. Payments may also be made by wire transfer or ACH Debit. Instructions are
provided below.

NOTE: We encourage arrangements to consolidate regulatory fee payments either by a single
entity or by different entities into a single payment instrument. Consolidated fee payments may
cover any number of service categories. Payers who will be making a single payment for a
significant number of entities and wish to submit their payment information on diskette in lieu of
submitting a large number of FCC Forms 159-C ("Advice Continuation Sheets") may do so.
Specific instructions regarding diskette submission will be issued separately. No more than
twenty-five (25) Form 159-C's should be manually submitted for payment. If more than twenty-
five (25) Form 159-C's are to be submitted, we encourage the public to file the information on
diskette. Only properly filled out Form 159's or diskettes will be accepted. Attached listings of
call signs or other identifiers will not be accepted.

WIRE TRANSFER PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS

A wire transfer is a transaction that you initiate via your bank. It authorizes your bank to wire
funds from your account to our lockbox bank, the Mellon Bank in Pittsburgh, PA. All payments
made by wire transfer must be supported by a completed FCC Remittance Advice (FCC Form
159) and Advice Continuation Sheet (FCC Form 159-C), if required. The FCC Form 159 must
be faxed to Mellon Bank at (412) 236-5702 at least one hour before the wire transfer on the same
business day. Indicate on the top of the FCC Form 159 "Wire Transfer - Regulatory Fee
Payment." In Box (1) - Lockbox#, located at the upper left hand comer, indicate "358835."
Failure to submit the completed FCC FORM 159 will result in a delay in crediting your
account. Due to Federal Reserve regulations, wire transfers received after 6:00 p.m. (EDT)
will be credited to the next business day.

The following information should be provided to your bank in order to complete the wire transfer:



ABA Routing Number 043000261
Receiving Bank: Mellon Pittsburgh
BNF: FCC/ACV--9116106
OBI Field: (Skip one space between each information item)
"REGULATORYPAY"

PAYER TIN (Exactly as on FCC Form 159, Block #25)
PAYER NAME (Exactly as on FCC Form 159, Block #2)
Phone: (Daytime Phone #, exactly as on FCC Form 159, Block #9)
LOCKBOX 358835

ACH DEBIT PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS

If you are interested in using Mellon's Customer Initiated Payment Program (CIP), a brief
application form must be completed and a personal identification number (PIN) issued by the
bank. Arrangements for using this process must be completed 14 days prior to submitting
payment of the regulatory fee. After you have been set up for this program, you have until
September 21, 1999 to submit payment to ensure processing by the deadline of September 22,
1999. Please contact the Credit and Debt Management Center at (202) 418-1995 to request the
Customer Initiated Payment Program Package.

COMPLIANCE

Please make sure your total remittance and the amount indicated on the FCC Form 159 are in
agreement. Failure to do so will delay processing. Licensees are solely responsible for accurately
accounting for all licenses and for paying proper regulatory fees. Any data omission, erroneous or
incomplete data submission, or payment deficiency may result in a 25% monetary penalty,
dismissal of pending actions, and/or revocation of any authorization. You are strongly urged to
submit your payments on time and accurately in order to avoid a penalty. Additionally, the
Commission will invoke any lawful authority it may possess under the Debt Collection Act to
collect any fees due or outstanding against any licensee failing to meet its regulatory fee payment
obligations.

WAIVERS, REDUCTIONS AND DEFERMENTS OF REGULATORY FEES

The Commission will consider requests for waivers, reductions or deferments of regulatory fees,
in extraordinary and compelling circumstances only, upon a showing that such action overrides
the public interest in reimbursing the Commission for its regulatory costs. Your regulatory fee
must be paid by the due date even if a request is made for a waiver or reduction. This will ensure
efficient collection in situations where a waiver or reduction is not warranted and will allow the
requestor to avoid a 25% late-payment penalty if its request is denied. The regulatory fee will
be refunded later if the request is granted. Only in exceptional or compelling instances (where
payment of the regulatory fee along with the waiver or reduction request could result in the
reduction of service to a community or other financial hardship to the licensee), will the
Commission accept a petition to defer payment along with a waiver or reduction request. All
requests for deferments must be received before September 22, 1999, to avoid the 25% late-
payment penalty. Please submit your written waiver or reduction request to the following




address:

Office of the Managing Director
Federal Communicattons Commission
445 12th Street, S W., Room 1-A625
Washington, D.C. 20554
attn: Regulatory Fee Waiver/Reduction Request

However, submit your regulatory fee payment to the address on page 2 of this Public Notice.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

Applicable Public Notices, and FCC Forms 159 and 159-C are available from the Commission's
Office of Public Affairs, Public Service Division and can be downloaded from the Internet
(http://www fcc.gov or fip@fcc.gov). Text of the Report and Order including the entire Schedule
of Regulatory Fees can be downloaded from the Internet. Forms may also be obtained by
contacting the Forms Hotline at (800) 418-3676 outside the Washington, D.C. area, or (202)
418-3676 locally. For additional information, please contact the Public Service Division at (202)
418-0192, or write to: Federal Communications Commission, Office of Public Affairs, ATTN:
Public Service Division, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. 20554.

FEE PAYMENT PROCEDURES FOR COMMERCIAL

AM AND FM RADIO STATIONS

WHO MUST PAY: Licensees of commercial AM radio stations and holders of construction permits for new
stations in the AM service, whose licenses or permits were granted on or before October 1, 1998, will be
assessed a regulatory fee. AM radio station licensees who also hold auxiliary broadcast service licenses
operated in conjunction with the main AM station (e.g., remote pickup stations, aural broadcast STLs,
intercity relay stations and low power auxiliary stations) will also be assessed a regulatory fee for each of
these stations. In addition, licensees of commercial FM radio stations and holders of construction permits
for new stations in the FM service, whose licenses or permits were granted on or before October 1, 1998,
will also be assessed a regulatory fee. FM radio station licensees who also hold auxiliary broadcast service
licenses operated in conjunction with the main FM station (¢.g., remote pickup stations, aural broadcast
STLs, intercity relay stations and low power auxiliary stations) will also be assessed a regulatory fee for
each of these stations. Governments and nonprofit entities (exempt under Section 501 of the Intemal
Revenue Code) are not required to pay regulatory fees and should not submit payment. The Commission
requires that each exempt entity submit, or have on file with the Commission, a current IRS
Determination Letter documenting its nonprofit status, a certification of governmental authority, or
certification from a governmental authority attesting to its exempt status.

AM Conversion Table: For those licensees of AM radio stations who may be unfamiliar with the current
station class designations, we provide the following:

Old Class New Class
Class I Class A
Class II & IIT Class B
ClassIID & 11.S Class D

Class HI.D & II1.S Class D

5



Class IV Class C

Fee Requirement: Fees are assessed for AM and FM radio station licensees based upon class of station and
population served. Determination of class is based upon the station's most recent granted license on or before
October 1, 1998. AM and FM radio stations are divided into 36 fee groups. A complete listing of all AM and
FM stations in call sign order is attached to the notice sent to AM and FM licensees only. To determine the
correct fee to be paid, look for the station's call sign and read across the page to find the city. state, class of
station, population served, and the FY 1999 regulatory fee due. The fee amount may be obtained by contacting
the FCC's National Call Center at 1-888-225-5322 or through a search of the FCC's intemet web site

http://www.fcc.gov. If you have a commercial AM or FM radio station which is not listed. please contact Terry

Johnson at (202) 418-0445 for assistance.

Radio Station Regulatory Fees
Population AM AM AM AM FM FM

Served Class A | ClassB | ClassC | Class D Classes Classes

A,B1&C3 | B,C,C1&
C2
<=20,000 | MAA9 | MBAS | MCA9 ] MDA9 MFA9 MFG9
$430 $325 $225 $275 $325 $430
20,001 - 50,000 MAB9 MBB9 MCB9 MDB9 MFB9 MFH9
$825 $650 $325 $450 $650 $825
50,001 - 125,000 | MAC9 | MBC9 | MCCY MDC9 MFC9 MFI9
$1,350 $875 $450 $675 $875 $1.350
125,001 - 400,000 | MAD9 | MBDS9 | MCD9 | MDD9 MFD9 MFJ9
$2,000 | $1,400 $675 $825 $1,400 $2.,000
400,001 - 1,000,000 MAE9 MBE9 MCES9 MDE9 MFE9 MFK9
$2,750 { $2.250 | $1,250 $1,500 $2.250 $2.750
>1,000,000 | MAF9 MBF9 MCF9 MDF9 MFF9 MFL9
$4 400 $3.,600 $1,750 $2,250 $3,600 $4,400
Regulatory Fee Group or Category Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code

Broadcast Auxiliary Station License $12 MUBY

Construction Permit for New AM Station $260 MTA9

. Construction Permit for New FM Station $780 MNF9

Note that an AM station licensee will be assessed $12 for each auxiliary license it holds. Holders of construction
pemnits (CPs) for new AM stations for which a license to cover the CP had not been granted as of October 1,
1998, will be assessed a $260 fee for each permit held, regardless of station class or population served. A
commercial FM station licensee will be assessed $12 for each auxiliary license it holds. Holders of construction



permits (CPs) for new FM stations for which a license to cover the CP had not been granted as of October 1.

1998, will be assessed a $780 fee for each permit held, regardless of station class or population served.

FEE PAYMENT PROCEDURES FOR COMMERCIAL
VHF/UHF TV STATIONS

WHO MUST PAY: Licensees of commercial VHF and commercial UHF television stations and holders of
construction permits for new stations whose license or permit was granted on or before October 1. 1998.
Commercial television station licensees who also hold auxiliary broadcast service licenses operated in
conjunction with the main TV station (e.g., remote pickup stations, intercity relay stations) will also be
assessed a regulatory fee for each of these stations. Governments and nonprofit entities (exempt under
Section 501 of the Intemal Revenue Code) are not required to pay regulatory fees and should not submit

pavment. The Commission requires that each exempt entity submit, or have on file with the Commission,

a current IRS Determination Letter documenting its nonprofit status, a certification of governmental
authority, or certification from a governmental authority attesting to its exempt status.

FEE REQUIREMENT: Fees are assessed commercial television stations licensees based upon the size of the
Nielsen Designated Market Area (DMA) in which their stations are listed in the 1999 Edition of the TV &
Cable Factbook No. 67 as published by Warren Publishing. Fees will be assessed as follows:

Commercial VHF Stations: Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code
Markets 1-10: $41.225 MAVS
Markets 11-25: $34,325 MBV9
Markets 26-50: $23,475 MEV9
Markets 51-100: $13,150 MGV9
Remaining Markets: $3,400 MIV9
Broadcast Auxiliary Station $12 MUB9
Construction Permits: $2.775 MIV9
i — =
Commercial UHF Stations: Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code
Markets 1-10: $15,550 MCU9
Markets 11-25: $11.775 MDU9
Markets 26-50:; $7.300 MFU9
Lﬁ Markets 51-100: $4,350 MHU9
Remaining Markets: $1.175 MJU9
Broadcast Auxiliary Station $12 MUB9
Construction Permits: $2.,900 MKU9




Satellite TV Stations: Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code

All Markets: $1.300 MSS9

Construction Permits: $460 MCS9

Note that a commercial television station licensee will be assessed $12 for each auxiliary license it holds.
Holders of construction permits (CPs) for new television stations for which a license to cover the CP had
not been granted as of October 1, 1998, will be assessed $2,775 (VHF), $2.900 (UHF), or $460 (Satellite
TV) for each permit held, regardless of market size.

FEE PAYMENT PROCEDURES FOR LPTV, TV TRANSLATORS
& TV BOOSTERS, FM TRANSLATORS & FM BOOSTERS

WHO MUST PAY: Holders of Low Power Television, TV translator and booster licenses, and FM
translator and booster licenses whose license was granted before October 1, 1998 will be assessed a
regulatory fee. Governments and nonprofit entities (exempt under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue
Code) are not required to pay regulatory fees and should not submit payment. The Commission requires
that each exempt entity submit, or have on file with the Commission, a current IRS Determination Letter
documenting its nonprofit status, a certification of governmental authority, or certification from a
governmental authority attesting to its exempt status. Also exempted from this fee are noncommercial
educational FM and full service television broadcast station licensees that hold low power television, TV
translator or TV booster licenses, or FM translator or FM booster licenses issued on or before October 1,
1998, provided those stations operate on a noncommercial educational basis. We will automatically waive
the regulatory fee for the licensee of any translator that: (1) is not licensed to, in whole or in part, and does
not have common ownership with, the licensee of a commercial broadcast station; (2) does not derive
income from advertising; and (3) is dependent on subscriptions or contributions from the members of the
community served for support. Finally, licensees of low power television, TV translator or TV booster, or
FM translator or FM booster stations whose licenses were issued on or before October 1, 1998, and which
have obtained a fee refund because of an NTIA facilities grant for their station or a fee waiver because of
demonstrated compliance with the eligibility and service requirements of § 73.621 of the Commission's
Rules, are similarly exempt from payment of this regulatory fee. Licensees claiming an exemption based on
one of these latter criteria should not submit payment. The Commission requires that each exempt entity
submit, or have on file with the Commission, a current IRS Determination Letter documenting its
nonprofit status, a certification of governmental authority, or certification from a governmental authority
attesting to its exempt status.

FEE REQUIREMENT: Fees are assessed on a per license basis as follows:

j=I
Type of License Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code
Low Power Television Station, TV $290 ‘ MLP9
Translator/TV Booster
FM Translator/FM Booster $290 MSF9




FEE PAYMENT PROCEDURES FOR MULTIPOINT AND MULTICHANNEL
MULTIPOINT DISTRIBUTION SERVICES

WHO MUST PAY: Holders of multipoint distribution service licenses (including multichannel multipoint
distnbution service) whose licenses were granted on or before October 1, 1998. Governments and
nonprofit entities (exempt under Section 501 of the Interal Revenue Code) are not required to pay
regulatory fees and should not submit payment. The Commission requires that each exempt entity submir.
or have on file with the Commission, a current IRS Determination Letter documenting its nonprofit
status, a certification of governmental authority, or certification from a governmental authority attesting
to its exempt status.

FEE REQUIREMENT: Fees are assessed on a per call sign basis as follows:

Type of License Regulatory Fee Payment Type Code
Multipoint Distribution Service $285 MDS9
(including Multichannel Multipoint
Distribution Service)

SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING FCC FORMS 159 AND 159-C

FCC Form 159 ("FCC Remittance Advice") and, as necessary, FCC Form 159-C ("Advice Continuation

Sheet") must accompany all regulatory fee payments. FCC Form 159 allows payers to report information
on one or more payment items (¢.g., multiple FM or TV station licenses). Use FCC Form 159-C to report
additional payments.

FCC Forms 159 and 159-C have been attached to this Public Notice for you to complete and remit with
your payment. You may make additional copies of the forms as required. In addition to the instructions
for FCC Form 159, the following information applies specifically to mass media fee payers.

Block (10) - "Telephone Number"

’ Enter the telephone number of the individual responsible for submitting the payment and
supporting FCC Form 159 and Form 159-C.

Block (19) - "FCC CALL SIGN/OTHER ID"

» All Mass Media payers must enter in this block their unique facility identification number of the
AM, FM, TV, Low Power Television, Translator, and Booster station(s) for which the regulatory
fee is being paid. Facility ID Numbers for these stations can be obtained at the FCC's Internet
Website at www.fcc.gov/mmb/asd/seacall. html or by calling: Radio (202) 418-2730, TV (202)

418-1600. Further, the Facility ID Number is now included on all Radio and TV authorizations
and postcards.

’ Payers of the regulatory fee for broadcast auxiliary station(s) and Multipoint Distribution Service
station(s) must enter their station's call sign.



Block (20) - "PAYMENT TYPE CODE":

Enter the appropriate payment type code as listed below:

MAAS9:

MABY:

MACS9:

MAD?:

MAES9:

MAF?9:

MBAY:

MBB?9:

MBC9:

MBD?9:

MBE9:

MBF9:

MCAS9:

MCB9:

MC(C9:

AM AND FM RADIO STATIONS

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio. with population
served of less than 20,000. ($430)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio. with population
served between 20,001 and 50,000. ($825)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio, with population
served between 50,001 and 125,000. ($1,350)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio, with population
served between 125,001 and 400,000. ($2,000)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio, with population
served between 400,001 and 1.000,000. ($2,750)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, AM Radio, with population
served of greater than 1,000,000. ($4,400)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
of less than 20,000. ($325)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
between 20,001 and 50,000. ($650)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
between 50,001 and 125,000, ($875)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
between 125,001 and 400,000. ($1,400)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
between 400,001 and 1,000,000. ($2,250)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, AM Radio, with population served
of greater than 1,000,000. ($3.600)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio, with population
served of less than 20,000. ($225)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio, with population
served between 20,001 and 50,000. ($325)

Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio, with population
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served between 50,001 and 125,000. ($450)

MCD?9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio, with population
served between 125,001 and 400,000. ($675)

MCES9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio. with population
served between 400,001 and 1,000,000. ($1,250)

MCF?9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class C, AM Radio, with population
served of greater than 1,000,000. ($1,750)

MDAJ9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D, AM Radio, with population
served of less than 20,000. ($275)

MDB9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D. AM Radio. with population
served between 20,001 and 50,000. ($450)

MDC9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D, AM Radio, with population
served between 50,001 and 125.000. ($675)

MDD9Y: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D, AM Radio, with population
served between 125,001 and 400,000. ($825)

MDES9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D, AM Radio, with population
served between 400,001 and 1,000,000. ($1,500)

MDF9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class D, AM Radio, with population
served of greater than 1,000,000. ($2.250)

MFAO9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, Bl & C3, FM Radio, with
population served of less than 20,000, ($325)

MFB9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, Bl & C3, FM Radio, with
population served between 20,001 and 50,000. ($650)

MFC9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, Bl & C3, FM Radio, with
population served between 50,001 and 125,000. ($875)

MFD?9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, BI & C3, FM Radio, with
population served between 125.001 and 400,000. ($1,400)

MFES9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, Bl & C3, FM Radio, with
population served between 400,001 and 1,000,000. ($2,250)

MFF?9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class A, Bl & C3, FM Radio, with population
served of greater than 1,000,000. ($3,600)

MFG9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C, C1 & C2. FM Radio, with
population served of less than 20,000. ($430)
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MFH9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C. C1 & C2, FM Radio. with
population served between 20,001 and 50,000. ($825)

MFI9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C, C1 & C2, FM Radio. with
population served between 50,001 and 125,000. ($1.350)

MFJ9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C. C1 & C2. FM Radio. with
population served between 125,001 and 400.000. ($2,000)

MFKO9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C, Cl1 & C2, FM Radio. with
population served between 400,001 and 1,000,000. ($2.750)

MFL9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for Class B, C, C1 & C2, FM Radio, with
population served of greater than 1,000,000. ($4,400)

MUBS9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a broadcast auxiliary station license held by
an AM or FM radio station licensee. ($12)

MTA9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a construction permit for an AM radio
station ($260).

MNF9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a construction permit for an FM radio
station ($780).
VHF TELEVISION STATIONS
MAV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial VHF television station in

Nielsen markets 1-10 ($41,225).

MBV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial VHF television station in
Nielsen markets 11-25 ($34,325).

MEV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial VHF television station in
Nielsen markets 26-50 ($23.475).

MGV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial VHF television station in
Nielsen markets 51-100 ($13,150).

MIV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial VHF television station in all
other Nielsen markets ($3,400).

MJV9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a construction permit for a commercial VHF
television station ($2,775).

MUBSY: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a broadcast auxiliary station license held by
a VHF television station licensee. ($12)
UHF TELEVISION STATIONS
MCU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial UHF television station in

Nielsen markets 1-10 ($15,550).
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MDU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial UHF television station in
Nielsen markets 11-25 ($11,775).

MFU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial UHF television station in
Nielsen markets 26-50 ($7,300).

MHU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial UHF television station in
Nielsen markets 51-100 ($4,350).

MJU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a commercial UHF television station in all other
Nielsen markets ($1,175).
MKU9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a construction permit for a commercial

UHF television station ($2,900).

MUBS: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a broadcast auxiliary station license held by
a UHF television station licensee. ($12)

SATELLITE TELEVISION STATIONS

MSS9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a satellite TV station ($1.,300).

MCS9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a construction permit for a satellite TV
station ($460).

LOW POWER TELEVISION STATION, TV TRANSLATOR/BOOSTER,
FM TRANSLATOR/BOOSTER

MLP9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a Low Power Television station, or a
television translator or television booster ($290).

MSF9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for an FM translator or FM booster ($290).
BROADCAST AUXILIARY STATION

MUB9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a broadcast auxiliary station ($12).

MULTIPOINT DISTRIBUTION SERVICE STATION

MDS9: Use this code when paying a regulatory fee for a multipoint distribution service station
($285).

Block (21) - "QUANTITY":

g All Mass Media fee payers must enter "1" in this block.

Block (22) - "FEE DUE":

» Enter the dollar amount associated with the corresponding Payment Type Code entered in Block
(20).

Block (23) - "FCC CODE 1":
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4 If you are paying an AM, FM, TV, Low Power Television, Translator, or Booster regulatory fee.
enter the call letters of the station for which the regulatory fee is being paid.

g If you are paying a broadcast auxiliary or a multipoint distribution service station regulatory fee.
leave this block blank.

Block (24) - "FCC CODE 2":

’ If vou are paying an AM, FM, TV or Low Power Television regulatory fee. enter the name of the
state and community (in that order) of license for the station for which the regulatory fee 1s being
paid. Please note that this block is for state and community of license, not mailing address. Please
use the appropriate two letter post office abbreviation for the state.

v If you are paying a TV translator, TV booster, broadcast auxiliary, FM translator, FM booster or
a multipoint distribution service station regulatory fee, leave this block blank.

Block (25) - "PAYER TIN":

, Enter the fee payer's nine digit Taxpayer Identification Number.

Block (26) - "APPLICANT TIN":

> If different from payer, enter the applicant's nine digit Taxpayer Identification Number.

Block (27) - "CERTIFICATION":

’ Provide the printed name and signature of an individual owner/licensee or officer attesting to the
accuracy and completeness of the information supplied.

Please remember to include a daytime telephone number so that the Federal Communications

Commission can contact you if questions arise regarding your payment.

-FCC -
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