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Intrastate Rate Caps for Local Calls 
 

Pay Tel has active customers in 13 states:  California, Florida, Georgia, Kansas, Maryland, Missouri, New Mexico, North 
Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington.   Of these, the regulatory agencies in six states 
have established a rate cap for inmate calling services.  In the other states, Pay Tel and other ICS vendors operate under 
a rate cap imposed by the facilities themselves.  Often this rate is tied to the Local Exchange Carrier rate or to a rate cap 
that was historically imposed by the regulatory commission.1   
 

 
State 

Rate Cap 
for Local Calls 

 
Source 

Florida $2.25 per call Exhibit A:  
Collier County, FL RFP 

Excerpt 
Georgia $2.70 per call Exhibit B:  

Georgia PSC Rule 
Excerpt, Georgia PSC 

Orders in Dockets 
18870-U and 14530-U  

New Mexico Prepaid Collect & Debit: 
$0.15 per minute 

Collect: 
$1.00 + $0.15 per minute 

Exhibit C:   
New Mexico Public 

Regulatory Commission 
Excerpt from Order in 

Case 10-00198-UT 
North Carolina $1.71 per call Exhibit D:  North 

Carolina Rule R13-9(d) 
South Carolina $2.60 per call Exhibit E:   

South Carolina PSC, 
Docket 90-305-C, Order 

91-122 Excerpt  
Tennessee $1.50 per call Exhibit F:   

Tennessee Regulatory 
Authority Order in 

Docket 04-00166,  TRA 
Rule 1220-4-2-.45 & 

Lincoln County, TN RFP 
Excerpt 

Virginia $1.50 per call Exhibit G:  
Henrico County, VA RFP 

Excerpt 
 
  

                                                             
1 For example, in Florida the PSC enforced a rate cap of $2.25 for local calls for many years.  In 2009, the Florida 
Legislature deregulated inmate phone service along with most other telecommunications services, thus eliminating the 
cap.  Confinement Facilities in Florida have nonetheless required ICS vendors to maintain local call rates at or below the 
prior rate cap. 
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Exhibit A:  Florida 
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Exhibit A:  Florida 
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Exhibit B:  Georgia
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Exhibit B:  Georgia 
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Exhibit B:  Georgia 
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Exhibit C:  New Mexico 
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Exhibit D:  North Carolina 
 

 
 

The current rate for local collect station-to-station calls from Windstream Concord 
Telephone is $1.71 per call. 
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Exhibit E:  South Carolina 
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Exhibit E:  South Carolina 
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Exhibit F:  Tennessee 
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Exhibit F:  Tennessee 
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Exhibit F:  Tennessee 
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Exhibit F:  Tennessee 
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Exhibit G:  Virginia 
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Exhibit G:  Virginia 

 


